No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
103-109 SOUTHWARK STREET, LONDON, SE1 0JQ
Make the Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark hotel your base for a buzzing central London location and excellent transport links. Friendly staff welcomes you on your arrival at our intimate 136 rooms hotel near London's cosmopolitan South Bank . Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark is a short walk from Southwark Underground Station and Blackfriars Network Rail Station with direct train services to Gatwick and Luton Airports . Settle into your air-conditioned Guest room, decorated in contemporary colours, and start each day with a complimentary breakfast in our lively Great Room. Getting around London is easy with London Bridge and Waterloo stations just a short stroll from the hotel. Cross Blackfriars Bridge to get to the London Stock Exchange , Royal Courts of Justice and Bank of England. We're just minutes from the lively cafes, theatres and galleries that dot London's trendy South Bank. Walk along the River Thames to the Tate Modern gallery , housed in a converted power station, or stroll over the futuristic Millennium Bridge to elegant St Paul's Cathedral . Why not stop by Borought Market for food tasting en route to the Shard. Holiday Inn Express London-Southwark's central location puts chic bars and restaurants on your doorstep . Ask staff to recommend their favourites or do your own research via free wireless Internet in our open-plan Lobby.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very convenient for the Globe Theatre and Tate Modern and the Thames.
Although there was enough choice of breakfast items the scrambled eggs were poor tasting and vegetarian cooked breakfast options limited to egg or baked beans.

Reviewed by
gillian b

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location to access both City central and London's east side
A 2 block walk to the Tate Modern and Shakespears Globe Theater, The Borough Market nearby had wonderful food. The room was very quiet even right on Southwark Street. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
Christine C

From North Vancouver, BC, Canada
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
Good size twin room on the third floor with enough hanging space for everything in our hold alls. Only one small lift that was very busy at breakfast time so we chose to use the stairs which was quicker. When we asked for more tea and milk to use in our room this was delivered to our door in minutes. Great location for a weekend spent exploring London.

Reviewed by
Janet H

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room
Room was excellent, well worth the money. Would recommend this hotel

Reviewed by
Martin T

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasingly surprised
Very helpful staff.
Very accommodating for wheelchair use.
Air conditining worked well
Food basic but adequate

ManagementResponse

Dear Peter M, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you found our staff helpful, air conditioning working well and very accommodating wheelchair use. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced poor quality
Hotel very shabby. I know that you pay a high price for Central London hotels but I felt totally ripped off. We paid £189 for one night for a double room & in the room there is a sticker on the mirror advising that FREE breakfast is included in the room price. The breakfast did not feel free & was really poor. I will not book this hotel again.

ManagementResponse

Dear Michelle Steele, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the value of your accommodation. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs. Sincerely, Lera, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Michelle Steele

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything is great, customer service is excellent. however the internet was not working in the room

Reviewed by
A Machen

From Barking, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location. clean room. excellent breakfast

ManagementResponse

Dear Perry C, Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay. We appreciate your compliments on our products and services. We are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the facilities and services that we have to offer. Your satisfaction is of utmost importance to us as we constantly strive to make your experience a great one. We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon for another enjoyable stay. Sincerely, Dhan M IHGCare

Reviewed by
Perry C

From Elmstead Market, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base for a weelkend break
The staff were very pleasant, polite and very helpful. The room was clean, tidy with the necessary features for a one night stay.....I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Richard Cairns

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good accommodation in the centre of London
Excellent customer service staff very friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
Vickie Lawday

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next