No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Leeming House

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Watermillock, Ullswater, CA11 0JJ
Macdonald Leeming House is ideally located for exploring the beautiful Lake District countryside. Set in 22 acres of grand gardens and woodland, this 200-year-old country house hotel boasts direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing license. Offering exclusive use to large parties, a 1AA Rosette award-winning restaurant, plus a helipad and a dedicated events co-ordinator, this Ullswater hotel is the ideal setting for a romantic wedding.
Picture of Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
A grand hotel in beautiful location. Why do hotels hide the tea tray without any indication of where it is? Very comfortable room and excellent food quality.

Reviewed by
M Strand

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hope to stay again soon
Great well trained friendly staff.

Reviewed by
George S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel. It suited us for a break to recharge batteries lovely location. Wonderful views over ullswater. Staff friendly and attentive. Food excellent. All in all a great place to stay

Reviewed by
A Facer

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable relaxing break at a beautiful hotel
From the minute we entered hotel, the staff was very friendly.
Room was lovely.
Grounds super, ideal for a walk around hotel surroundings and to the lake. View amazing.
At breakfast the waiter was very polite and friendly.
Overall a lovely short break, I would certainly recommend and have already done to my sister who is trying to book for mid October, Hopefully Myself and husband will stay again.

Reviewed by
Jean Logan

From Airdrie, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Almost great!
Hotel is set in lovely grounds and has great views particularly from the executive rooms. The hotel is a little off the beaten track so be prepared to travel to each destination - there is no where you can walk to as the road into the hotel has no footpaths and is a little dangerous. Hotel itself is good, but we did have a few issues with our room - (key wouldnt work in lock and needed to be fixed, headboard was loose! and the shower was luke warm). We did mention the issues with the room and all but the shower were fixed. I think the hotel was struggling with the boiler as a few guests mentioned the same issue - but it was very disappointing particularly due to the fact we were in an executive room.

Reviewed by
Kirk L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay very much. Staff very helpful. Room was very comfortable. We really enjoyed the magnificent view from our balcony.

Reviewed by
solomon g

From london, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel. Accommodation clean and modern. Restaurant very expensive but food good quality.

Reviewed by
N Winn

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding stay
Clean polite and fantastic service looking at staying again soon

Reviewed by
S Fletcher

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Break from Independence joke
Everything was a bit overpriced But what a location!

Reviewed by
Derek W

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding Hotel in a Beautiful Countryside Location
This is a gem of a Hotel. Even if we were looking for them, we could find no flaws or points to complain about. From the first impressions on arrival, to attentive and courteous customer service at check-in to the elegant lobby entrance up to our spacious and comfortable well equipped double room - all excellent. Leeming House sits on the banks of the stunning Ullswater; there are paths to the lake side from the Hotel and the back drop of the mountain range opposite provides a very picturesque setting (see guest photo of view from Restaurant window). The quality of the dining is excellent as is the service provided by the staff. The drive to the Hotel from the South is spectacular providing many spots to view some of the best scenery Cumbria has to offer. This Hotel is now bookmarked as we will most definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Murray C

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next