No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Leeming House

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Watermillock, Ullswater, CA11 0JJ
Macdonald Leeming House is ideally located for exploring the beautiful Lake District countryside. Set in 22 acres of grand gardens and woodland, this 200-year-old country house hotel boasts direct access to the shores of Ullswater and a private fishing license. Offering exclusive use to large parties, a 1AA Rosette award-winning restaurant, plus a helipad and a dedicated events co-ordinator, this Ullswater hotel is the ideal setting for a romantic wedding.
Picture of Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel. Accommodation clean and modern. Restaurant very expensive but food good quality.

Reviewed by
N Winn

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding stay
Clean polite and fantastic service looking at staying again soon

Reviewed by
S Fletcher

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Break from Independence joke
Everything was a bit overpriced But what a location!

Reviewed by
Derek W

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding Hotel in a Beautiful Countryside Location
This is a gem of a Hotel. Even if we were looking for them, we could find no flaws or points to complain about. From the first impressions on arrival, to attentive and courteous customer service at check-in to the elegant lobby entrance up to our spacious and comfortable well equipped double room - all excellent. Leeming House sits on the banks of the stunning Ullswater; there are paths to the lake side from the Hotel and the back drop of the mountain range opposite provides a very picturesque setting (see guest photo of view from Restaurant window). The quality of the dining is excellent as is the service provided by the staff. The drive to the Hotel from the South is spectacular providing many spots to view some of the best scenery Cumbria has to offer. This Hotel is now bookmarked as we will most definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Murray C

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Observations
No improvements needed. Executive room was first class, restaurant staff were very friendly. If any adverse comments required , we thought that the dinner menu was a bit on the expensive side but the food quality was perfect

Reviewed by
M LITT

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A brilliant experience
From the moment we entered the reception area until we left we were made to feel special by all the staff in all areas of the hotel

Reviewed by
Colin W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

RELAXING BREAK
Just stayed for one night whilst in Lake District walking and sightseeing. Lovely hotel, room clean and pleasant. Food excellent but drinks expensive.

Reviewed by
Kathleen N

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay with lovely views
Nice break although hotel felt slightly tired. The hotel wasn't full but staff did not remember us the next day at breakfast. Wifi was extra which wouldn't have expected in 4 star hotel

Reviewed by
Carole R

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleased
Everything was superb, we just thought the food and drinks were overpriced

Reviewed by
Peter Smale

From Dorking, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall a good hotel
We enjoyed our stay here, the hotel staff was helpful and the executive room we stayed in was nice. The only negative was that we were disturbed in the evening and during the early hours by a dog barking from one of the pet friendly rooms which appeared to be below our room which was number 28. The staff did try to sort it out in the evening but there is not much you can do in the middle of the night

Reviewed by
Michael P

From Blackburn , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next