No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure White Horse Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
High Street , Dorking, RH4 1BE
Located in the Dorking Town Centre, The Mercure Dorking is ideally situated within easy links to Gatwick & Heathrow Airports, and is only a couple of miles from the business districts of Leatherhead, Reigate & Guildford.

An ancient vicarage in 1278, the Mercure Dorking was first established as an inn in 1750 and is part of Dorking's rich heritage. Charles Dickens was a visitor and did some of his writing here. With its old oak beams, open log fires and inviting lounge, it is ideal for meeting friends or business colleagues.

For the Leisure Traveller there are many local attractions to visit such as Box Hill, Surrey Downs, Wisley RHS, Denbies Vineyard, Shere Village (as featured in Bridget Jones’s Diary) Chessington World of Adventures, Legoland and Epsom Racecourse.Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure White Horse Hotel, Dorking at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Night
Spent the night with my partner in a room in the garden block at the rear of the hotel. Everything was as one would expect, with no nasty surprises. It was quiet and relaxing, and there were no problems with the shower in the morning (low water pressure not found here!)
The breakfast was comprehensive and well worth the £10 charge.

Reviewed by
Giles W

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

home from home
On arrival the receptionist was very polite and helpful as you would expect from a hotel chain of this standard...the room was nice and airy but the shower curtain stank,,,,quick chat with the receptionist and it was changed post haste...now thats what I call service....

Reviewed by
Michael Fraser Stansbie

From Northwood, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
This hotel was in a great location and full of history and quirkiness however the price did not reflect the lack of amenities or the rather poor breakfast.

Reviewed by
Irene Kinnaird

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great 3* hotel, most of the time
This hotel has history and if you appreciate very old buildings you will love this hotel. It has a modern annexe, but I was in the older section. The decoration wasn't perfect, but I liked my room and the large en suite. The staff were generally very helpful. What let them down was the food and insufficient breakfast staff on Sunday morning. I'm vegetarian. There was a lack of choice. The linguine was actually spaghetti and was tasteless. An Alfredo with garlic or an Esterhazy sauce would have taken a 30 seconds longer and provided a tasty meal; slicing the button mushrooms and a sprinkling of chopped parsley would have raised the presentation. Good breakfast choice, but the scrambled eggs were dry to start with and so being under heat lamps made them worse. The fried eggs were floating in oil. On the upside, there is a well-stocked bar, a nice barman and comfortable seating to enjoy the 18thC ambience of this old coaching inn.

Reviewed by
Linda C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay in center of town
Great location. Hotel very friendly staff polite and helpful. Room basic but clean, unfortunately the central did not work, we did report it and was given a small heater. Heating still did not come on later. 1 would reccommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
IAN STILWELL

From Worcester Park, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
Comfortable bed, quiet location, good atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Julie W

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
We enjoyed our stay as all staff were efficient and friendly

Reviewed by
Carol E

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two Night Stay
Not a bad hotel with a great High Street location. The room itself was fine with a very comfortable bed, good, new decor, a nice strong shower and all the usual facilities (kettle, iron, free mineral water, good TV). We were in the rear garden block/coach house so it was nice and quiet. We didn't eat breakfast due to time and also cost (15 pounds...) but we did order a bacon roll from the bar which was great.
Finally, there was some confusion over wifi with one receptionist giving out a free voucher and another saying there was a 10 pound charge when we asked again the next day. Wifi should be a given for a hotel resident in this day and age.
We needed access to a room from 10am to change for a wedding and we called the day before to arrange this (if possible). When we got there the receptionist knew nothing about it and there were no free rooms. However after waiting only an hour or so, we were able to check in to a room from 11am-ish so despite a slight mis-communication, we were very grateful to be be allowed to check in. so thanks very much for that!

Reviewed by
S Kendrew

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality charismatic Hotel
Rally nice friendly staff, fantastic hotel that is full of character. Good food. Central positioning in town.

Reviewed by
S Bowden

From Malpas, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
Apart from a little dust on the table base, the room was basic but clean. Nice to have a fridge in the bedroom. . I don't know what the rooms were like in the olde, original building but the room in the garden was better than the impression given by the quite ugly exterior. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
Deirdre T

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next