No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Queen`s Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Promenade , Cheltenham, GL50 1NN
The Queen's commands a spectacular position at the top of the tree lined promenade of Cheltenham spa. Built in the 1835 the hotel has a splendid regency facade and features 84 en-suite bedrooms including Four Poster and Executive Feature Rooms. The AA rosette awarded Napier Restaurant & Conservatory combines a traditional atmosphere with a contemporary twist included combinations of classic dished cooked with flare and perfectly complimented with fine wines. This elegant Georgian hotel offers excellent cuisine and high levels of personal service. The Queen's is renowned as a venue for traditional afternoon tea in the lounge, or a cocktail in the famous Gold Cup Bar. 'Roaring fires and glittering chandeliers' adorn the ground floor lounge.Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Queen`s Hotel, Cheltenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Failed to meet expectations.
Overcharged from quoted price.
Took 10 mins to get hot water.
Couldn't open window.
Mattress poor quality and too soft.
Cooked breakfast luke warm on hotplate - not up to safe temperature.
Difficult to find bar staff when wanting a drink.

Reviewed by
G Mitchell

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely vintage style hotel
I had a wonderful room and a great nights sleep, lovely and quiet. Good solid walls.

Reviewed by
Angela H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful grand old lady
the spacious rooms and grand outlook were memorable

Reviewed by
B Saunders

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic break
The hotel is situated in a beautiful location, ideal for a romantic break with easy access to the town, we upgraded our room and it was lovely, although the complimentary mini bar would have been better if it was plugged in. The bathroom was small, but clean a tidy, however on having a shower I discovered most the water streamed out onto the floor leaving a huge puddle. Breakfast in the morning was a buffet, which spent most of its time empty, it took 3 trips to the hot buffet to get a full English, as at first no bacon, egg or beans, then no sausages, hash browns or egg and so on, I ended up sitting and eating it part a a time, then taking my half eaten are back to the buffet for more items. Really very disappointing for such a lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
Richard T

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location.
Lovely view down the Promenade and a perfect location for shopping. Easy parking in the hotel grounds.

Reviewed by
F Taylore

From Ingatestone, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
It was a really enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
P Desser

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
hotel is located well in Cheltenham - close by to shops, restaurants and bars. Has a beautiful park just opposite. Staff were friendly although a little unsure of directions when asked. The hotel is an old building but has been kept well. My only concern is the breakfast which we had the next morning. The buffet breakfast unfortunately was cold and very little choice and also our teas and coffees were not hot either. In all a lovely hotel but was let down by the food the next morning.

Reviewed by
Claire L

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded expectations
Overall a great experience, far better than I expected it to be. Lovely room, bed, bathroom. Great and thoughtful welcome on arrival - that's so nice. I stay a lot in the Far East and this was up to what I expected. Room service 24/7 - so unusual in the UK! And the location is superb in the centre of a vibrant town. But the room was so quiet!

Reviewed by
Ahmad R

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only fault was the bedroom and living area of our room was rather cramped and too hot, with no aircon and TV reception was poor.
Breakfast was truly excellent, especially the choice of cooked to order.
Staff were all lovely and helpful.

Reviewed by
David Battisby

From Church Stretton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over-priced and tired
We paid £145 for a double room plus cooked breakfast. The room was tiny, and overlooked the airconditioning of the hotel, which was noisy and ugly. Our air con was ineffective and the window was jammed from opening far. As it was a truly beautuiful evening, we were too hot and couldn't sleep.
The room was tired (as were we!) not sure that the bedspread was clean, the loo paper was horrid, and they wanted an extra £10 to park the car.
We definitely got the feeling that we got the 'cheap room'.

Reviewed by
Caroline G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next