No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Cheltenham Queen's

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Promenade, CHELTENHAM, GL50 1NN
The Mercure Queen's Hotel is an elegant and imposing structure, described as one of the noblest buildings of its kind in Europe. You will experience superb standards of comfort and convenience in this ever fashionable Regency hotel. The hotel overlooks the Imperial Gardens on the famous Promenade, a mere stroll from the town's many excellent shops and restaurants. The hotel offers the Napier Restaurant and Conservatory, the Gold Cup Bar and Lounge. Onsite parking available.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay... great location.
Perfect location for the city and also uptown for Montpelier area. Good sized rooms, helpful and pleasant staff. Décor and furnishings are somewhat dated but I understand that a refurbishment is planned this year.
Would definitely stay here on a return visit.
Downsides - an irritating, noxious smell in the foyer area. Was also noisy into the early hours of the second night of our stay. Didn't keep me awake for long and may well have been outside of the hotel bounds. It was Christmas after all!

Reviewed by
R Wellings

From Lichfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mercure Cheltenham Queen's
Room was without heat at a very cold period of time.Staff were informed in writing and a portable heater was provided but I was concerned that there was no follow up to my complaint.At the same time I complained that my breakfast was cold,the heating trolley was not on,again no follow up to my complaint.

Reviewed by
G Parris

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You couldn't ask for a better stay!
Staff were very helpful and polite! The rooms were fantastic value especially compared to hotels in the surrounding area. Highly recommend staying here to anyone!

Reviewed by
Natasha W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be better
Disappointed with the room size. Shower gel was empty, no biscuits and not enough milk. Reception staff were good, breakfast staff were not

Reviewed by
Natalie S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Queens Hotel Experience
I have been attending the Cheltenham Races for years and always stayed with an elderly relative, who has now passed away. I decided the only way to continue my brilliant time at the races was to stay at Queens. It is a good fun place to stay on race weekend, however at almost £600 for a 2 night stay it was incredibly expensive for Cheltenham. The car parking and breakfast was an additional fee which I thought was incredible. Not sure if I will do it again.

Reviewed by
Jo Burke

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Failed to meet expectations.
Overcharged from quoted price.
Took 10 mins to get hot water.
Couldn't open window.
Mattress poor quality and too soft.
Cooked breakfast luke warm on hotplate - not up to safe temperature.
Difficult to find bar staff when wanting a drink.

Reviewed by
G Mitchell

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely vintage style hotel
I had a wonderful room and a great nights sleep, lovely and quiet. Good solid walls.

Reviewed by
Angela H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful grand old lady
the spacious rooms and grand outlook were memorable

Reviewed by
B Saunders

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic break
The hotel is situated in a beautiful location, ideal for a romantic break with easy access to the town, we upgraded our room and it was lovely, although the complimentary mini bar would have been better if it was plugged in. The bathroom was small, but clean a tidy, however on having a shower I discovered most the water streamed out onto the floor leaving a huge puddle. Breakfast in the morning was a buffet, which spent most of its time empty, it took 3 trips to the hot buffet to get a full English, as at first no bacon, egg or beans, then no sausages, hash browns or egg and so on, I ended up sitting and eating it part a a time, then taking my half eaten are back to the buffet for more items. Really very disappointing for such a lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
Richard T

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location.
Lovely view down the Promenade and a perfect location for shopping. Easy parking in the hotel grounds.

Reviewed by
F Taylore

From Ingatestone, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next