You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The George Hotel

3

High Street Dorchester-On-Thames, Dorchester, OX10 7HH

Price From 85.03 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (40)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Mike Vimpany

  • September 2016

By George - Value for Money !

Thoroughly recommended pub/hotel situated in a delightful Thames-side village 10/15 minutes off the A34.

Excellent bar food/breakfast. Ample car parking. Only drawback are the abbey church bells (directly opposite) which chime every 15 minutes - all night . But the hotel does give you ear plugs. Only a minor inconvenience of a lovely venue.

  • Lesley r

  • September 2016

The George Hotel

Lovely pub, good breakfast, quaint village.

The George is a lovely old pub in a quaint village that has riverside walks and a beautiful abbey to explore. Staff were friendly and helpful, the room was small but nice, clean, quiet, comfy bed, everything very good.

  • J Peel

  • August 2016

Superior quality accommodation in an old Inn

The owners have clearly invested significant resources in making the rooms and the dining area comfortable with a touch of luxury.

The bed was fabulously comfortable - perhaps even better than my good new mattress at home. My husband really rated the buffet full English breakfast and I certainly appreciated the range of teas on offer (though would have liked an alternative to Tetley's in the room). The dinner on Saturday night was good value if not exceptional fare. The lack of a lounge separate from the pub meant this wasn't really a hotel experience as (during our stay at least) the pub was obviously used mostly by local regulars. If I'd offer one piece of advice to the owners it would be to ditch the plastic flowers and trees (room and tables), the fake suit of armour and the 'relaxinz' placemats as well as the unnecessary wall shelves in the lovely dining room with knick knacks. All these things were additions which actually detracted from the quality of the environment they are clearly striving to achieve. Dorchester is an interesting village and a great starting point for exxpolring the area

  • G Calderon

  • August 2016

Fantastic magical stay with history around every corner

We came here for my husbands birthday, the food at dinner in the pub below was outstanding and the staff were very helpful.

The rooms are steeped in history and the location is perfect. Great breakfast too.

  • G Clarkson

  • August 2016

Very warm welcome

Greeted very warmly on arrival.

Room full of character and good size. Good value for money.

  • Christine C

  • August 2016

The George Hotel

The Hotel was fantastic - It was really quiet and the breakfast in the morning was delicious.

Could not fault anything and really good value. Much more fun than staying in a chain - as our room used to be stables. Really cute and the surrounding area was beautiful.

  • dave winkler

  • July 2016

Stay here!

Great staff, great room, great bar.

Fantastic chef/restaurant. I cannot recommend the George hotel enough. We stayed in several pubs on our June 2016 vacation, the George outshone everywhere else.

  • Georgina B

  • May 2016

Hotel with character.

Comfortable bed, large room,enormous bathroom.

Food was excellent, both at breakfast and the one time we had an evening meal there with friends. In a beautiful village and very convenient for visiting friends in Abingdon and Didcot. Although the room and shower cubicle could have been cleaner (shower doors and cobwebs on light fittings) we would go back again. The hotel seems to be going through a refurbishment period.

  • Leela D

  • May 2016

Great service and value for money

Had a wonderful time in this beautiful village Inn.

We received a very warm welcome and were given an unsolicited upgrade to our very own little converted stable room. Food was great and it was only a 20 minute bus ride to oxford city center - although we could have spent all of our time here to be honest. So peaceful and friendly. Gorgeously quaint little village. Already planning our return visit. Fantastic value for money. Well done George Staff. See you again soon!

  • Gail W

  • April 2016

Value for money

Stayed for one night, staff friendly, good food.

A little tired but for the money great value