No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
High Street,Dorchester-On-Thames , Dorchester, OX10 7HH
The George Hotel is situated in the charming village of Dorchester on Thames and is part of the RelaxInnz prestige collection. Dating back to the 15th century, this is one of Britain’s oldest coaching inns, it is rich in historical character and charm complete with oak beams and inglenook fireplaces. The ensuite bedrooms are individually & tastefully decorated and include a TV, free Wi-Fi access, tea & coffee making facilities and most have period features.

Guests can enjoy fine British cuisine and traditional Sunday lunches in the intimate surroundings of the restaurant or relax with a quiet drink in the leafy gardens.

Surrounded by scenic river walks and countryside, The George Hotel is a 20-minute drive from Oxford’s historical centre. Henley-on-Thames is a 25-minute drive away while Birmingham and London Heathrow arirports are less than an hour away.

Picture of The George Hotel, Dorchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was pretty good.
The George Hotel really does have a rustic charm. I spent about half an hour just looking at the walls, because they're all old and crooked and fantastical. There was a spider in the room that I had to get out for my mum, but it was altogether rather clean, and the staff were very friendly, even if the lady serving breakfast was a bit dozy. This hotel was everything I expected it to be, really, and not in a disappointing way, either.

Reviewed by
Micah W

From Swellan, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy, damp, dusty and dark room.
Poor standard, room not ready on arrival, very noisy and not cleaned properly.
We stayed here before, all good!
This time very different.
The garden area was scruffy and not spic and span.
Staff seemed miserable and tired, all a bit too much to smile!

Reviewed by
Neil N

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic but odd break
The Inm itself is a very beautiful, romantic place to spend a weekend. We have been allocated the room we desired -- the food and the bar was great, however, the owner and the overall customer service was atrocious... No smiles, hellos, interest in customers.. Plenty to think about! May this help the management to make things better for our future stay!

Reviewed by
Ondrej T

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
For someone visiting from out of country this is a great place to stay. Historic town and building, close to Oxford, great place to have dinner and a good value.

Reviewed by
Robert H

From St helena island, USA
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Geoge hotel
great atmosphere, friendly staff, great quality food.
would stop there again.

Reviewed by
paul Austin

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A different, but enjoyable, experience
This is first time I've ever have a hotel room where my door opened straight on to the High Street! Certainly unusual and, as it's not a busy street, not a problem. The bonus was a great view of Dorchester Abbey just across the road. My room was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was very good.

Reviewed by
Trevor E

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bells!
Very pleasant stay in a nice room. The only small issue is the bells on the clock tower opposite. Yes they do warn you of these so do take the ear plugs. Apart from that I would stay again.

Reviewed by
C Pearce

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noise volume
The area, hotel, food and accomadation were good but staying in room 12 killed any possible passion when next door signed in. They were a fine couple unfortunately with the adjoining door you could hear everything. A double door would improve this set up. Just a small point there was no evening meal and therefore the bar was closed as a result(staff shortages)

Reviewed by
d gilmore

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem!
A lovely gem on the river. Well furnished, comfortable room. Lovely breakfast room with excellent food. Easy access to Oxford. Thank you.

Reviewed by
MAEVE J

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George, Dorchester-on-Thames
Quite disappointed with our stay of one night. The Hotel is understaffed.
Example 1: The person who was checking us in was also the bar person and this resulted in the bar not being served - e had this problem ourselves when we decided to have a drink.
Example 2: We arrived at Breakfast @ 0925. It's self service and the staff had not replenished the food trays so we had to find a member if staff to do it. We were not offered tea, coffee or toast because there were no staff in the dining area.
Sadly, our nights sleep was repeatedly interrupted by two drinking groups who were competing to be the biggest noise maker. They didn't finish until circa 0400hrs, staff did not control them.
Overall we thought the staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful. Sadly there were not enought if them.

Reviewed by
P Probets

From Hounslow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next