No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
High Street,Dorchester-On-Thames , Dorchester, OX10 7HH
The George Hotel is situated in the charming village of Dorchester on Thames and is part of the RelaxInnz prestige collection. Dating back to the 15th century, this is one of Britain’s oldest coaching inns, it is rich in historical character and charm complete with oak beams and inglenook fireplaces. The ensuite bedrooms are individually & tastefully decorated and include a TV, free Wi-Fi access, tea & coffee making facilities and most have period features.

Guests can enjoy fine British cuisine and traditional Sunday lunches in the intimate surroundings of the restaurant or relax with a quiet drink in the leafy gardens.

Surrounded by scenic river walks and countryside, The George Hotel is a 20-minute drive from Oxford’s historical centre. Henley-on-Thames is a 25-minute drive away while Birmingham and London Heathrow arirports are less than an hour away.

Picture of The George Hotel, Dorchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

noise volume
The area, hotel, food and accomadation were good but staying in room 12 killed any possible passion when next door signed in. They were a fine couple unfortunately with the adjoining door you could hear everything. A double door would improve this set up. Just a small point there was no evening meal and therefore the bar was closed as a result(staff shortages)

Reviewed by
d gilmore

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem!
A lovely gem on the river. Well furnished, comfortable room. Lovely breakfast room with excellent food. Easy access to Oxford. Thank you.

Reviewed by
MAEVE J

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George, Dorchester-on-Thames
Quite disappointed with our stay of one night. The Hotel is understaffed.
Example 1: The person who was checking us in was also the bar person and this resulted in the bar not being served - e had this problem ourselves when we decided to have a drink.
Example 2: We arrived at Breakfast @ 0925. It's self service and the staff had not replenished the food trays so we had to find a member if staff to do it. We were not offered tea, coffee or toast because there were no staff in the dining area.
Sadly, our nights sleep was repeatedly interrupted by two drinking groups who were competing to be the biggest noise maker. They didn't finish until circa 0400hrs, staff did not control them.
Overall we thought the staff were cheerful, friendly and helpful. Sadly there were not enought if them.

Reviewed by
P Probets

From Hounslow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cannot fault this hotel
The room was clean,comfortable,and had everything I needed.The staff were friendly and helpful.The breakfast was the best I have had for a long time,and served in quite luxurious surroundings.Will definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
John P

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

miserable staff
very poor customer service, actually left the restaurant in the evening because the service was so bad. would not recommend a stay here and way over priced for what it is. I am a manager for one of the largest hospitality companies in the uk and would be horrified if one of our pubs or hotels delivered such bad customer service

Reviewed by
k walters

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice old coaching house hotel which the rooms have been very nicely modernised.Excellent bathroom facilities and the food was very good including breakfast.

Reviewed by
IAN J

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Idyllic
Lovely Tudor/Coach House accommodation in the beautiful English Country village of Dorchester on Thames. The room was comfortable. The staff were excellent, helpful and friendly. The food was high quality and delicious and cooked exactly how we asked. Would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Tracy O

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Old style hotel with plenty of charm, clean, comfy. Very well located.

Reviewed by
Henri C

From France
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay and enjoy the surroundings
This really is a lovely hotel, situated in a quiet village. The accommodation is clean and comfortable and provides a pleasant base for a stay in Oxfordshire.
Only 8 miles or so from Oxford City centre and across the road from the historic Dorchester abbey.
Food is excellent and you can expect a good range of real ales.
Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Doug Johnson

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed
Run down and poorly maintenaned. Very old dirty carpets. Burnt smell ?? Faulty lighting acknowledged but left connected. Room service 4:30 just as we got back to relax. Disappointed.

Reviewed by
M Martin

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next