No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
High Street,Dorchester-On-Thames , Dorchester, OX10 7HH
The George Hotel is situated in the charming village of Dorchester on Thames and is part of the RelaxInnz prestige collection. Dating back to the 15th century, this is one of Britain’s oldest coaching inns, it is rich in historical character and charm complete with oak beams and inglenook fireplaces. The ensuite bedrooms are individually & tastefully decorated and include a TV, free Wi-Fi access, tea & coffee making facilities and most have period features.

Guests can enjoy fine British cuisine and traditional Sunday lunches in the intimate surroundings of the restaurant or relax with a quiet drink in the leafy gardens.

Surrounded by scenic river walks and countryside, The George Hotel is a 20-minute drive from Oxford’s historical centre. Henley-on-Thames is a 25-minute drive away while Birmingham and London Heathrow arirports are less than an hour away.

Picture of The George Hotel, Dorchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb accommodation and wonderful food.breakfast was amazing

Reviewed by
MARY S

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely establishment
Really lovely property in beautiful village. Food was good, landlord was welcoming, having been in the hospitality business myself I can completely appreciate busy evenings with small numbers of staff but everyone was seen to and the service was brilliant. Would definitely recommend. The room was lovely and comfortable. Great for a weekend away.

Reviewed by
B Strawson

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely cosy place to stay
Lovely location, our room overlooking the courtyard was fine, bed so comfy and warm.
The bar area has a log fire and the dining room area very old with original features. The food was fine.
very good value for the location. The Landlord could have been a bit more welcoming and friendly, like the barmaid was. Locals were friendly.

Reviewed by
L Oakes

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George Hotel short break
Lovely hotel in the Oxford countryside we only stayed for one night but would recommend to anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle and enjoy a quite stay. The food at the hotel was excellent and the room had everything you could ask for. For the price it was excellent value for money and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Paul Dickens

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was pretty good.
The George Hotel really does have a rustic charm. I spent about half an hour just looking at the walls, because they're all old and crooked and fantastical. There was a spider in the room that I had to get out for my mum, but it was altogether rather clean, and the staff were very friendly, even if the lady serving breakfast was a bit dozy. This hotel was everything I expected it to be, really, and not in a disappointing way, either.

Reviewed by
Micah W

From Swellan, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy, damp, dusty and dark room.
Poor standard, room not ready on arrival, very noisy and not cleaned properly.
We stayed here before, all good!
This time very different.
The garden area was scruffy and not spic and span.
Staff seemed miserable and tired, all a bit too much to smile!

Reviewed by
Neil N

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic but odd break
The Inm itself is a very beautiful, romantic place to spend a weekend. We have been allocated the room we desired -- the food and the bar was great, however, the owner and the overall customer service was atrocious... No smiles, hellos, interest in customers.. Plenty to think about! May this help the management to make things better for our future stay!

Reviewed by
Ondrej T

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
For someone visiting from out of country this is a great place to stay. Historic town and building, close to Oxford, great place to have dinner and a good value.

Reviewed by
Robert H

From St helena island, USA
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Geoge hotel
great atmosphere, friendly staff, great quality food.
would stop there again.

Reviewed by
paul Austin

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A different, but enjoyable, experience
This is first time I've ever have a hotel room where my door opened straight on to the High Street! Certainly unusual and, as it's not a busy street, not a problem. The bonus was a great view of Dorchester Abbey just across the road. My room was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was very good.

Reviewed by
Trevor E

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next