You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The George Hotel

3

High Street Dorchester-On-Thames, Dorchester, OX10 7HH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (38)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • G Clarkson

  • August 2016

Very warm welcome

Greeted very warmly on arrival.

Room full of character and good size. Good value for money.

  • Christine C

  • August 2016

The George Hotel

The Hotel was fantastic - It was really quiet and the breakfast in the morning was delicious.

Could not fault anything and really good value. Much more fun than staying in a chain - as our room used to be stables. Really cute and the surrounding area was beautiful.

  • dave winkler

  • July 2016

Stay here!

Great staff, great room, great bar.

Fantastic chef/restaurant. I cannot recommend the George hotel enough. We stayed in several pubs on our June 2016 vacation, the George outshone everywhere else.

  • Georgina B

  • May 2016

Hotel with character.

Comfortable bed, large room,enormous bathroom.

Food was excellent, both at breakfast and the one time we had an evening meal there with friends. In a beautiful village and very convenient for visiting friends in Abingdon and Didcot. Although the room and shower cubicle could have been cleaner (shower doors and cobwebs on light fittings) we would go back again. The hotel seems to be going through a refurbishment period.

  • Leela D

  • May 2016

Great service and value for money

Had a wonderful time in this beautiful village Inn.

We received a very warm welcome and were given an unsolicited upgrade to our very own little converted stable room. Food was great and it was only a 20 minute bus ride to oxford city center - although we could have spent all of our time here to be honest. So peaceful and friendly. Gorgeously quaint little village. Already planning our return visit. Fantastic value for money. Well done George Staff. See you again soon!

  • Gail W

  • April 2016

Value for money

Stayed for one night, staff friendly, good food.

A little tired but for the money great value

  • C J H

  • March 2016

Pleasant stay but room a bit noisy

The George is a lovely old coaching inn with lots of character.

Our room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The main issue we had was that our room (room 12) is part of a family suite with a door which joins it to room 11 next door. The door was locked but we could hear the people in the next room very clearly, I mentioned this to the staff member on reception who said that they'd had the same comment from people in our room before but never the other way round. Breakfast was good with lots of choices available (there is a buffet on Sunday, otherwise it's table service). Overall a pleasant stay and Dorchester itself is lovely. If they sorted the sound issue in that room it would be much better, even some simple draught proofing strip round the door would improve things.

  • John B

  • March 2016

Great stay in Midsomer land

Very comfortable and good value stay in the George Hotel.

  • Alastair H

  • February 2016

Highly recommended

We had a very enjoyable stay.

The George is an attractive medieval building in a very nice village (do take the time to look round Dorchester Abbey). Cold day but our room was warm, welcoming and comfy. Evening meal was tasty and plentiful, and the dining room with its high beamed ceiling (and a suit of armour in oine corner!) was a relaxing place to eat. Breakfast was good also. Above all, though, the staff were friendly and went out of their way to help - in the morning when we checked out the lady on reception even changed a five pound note for me from her own money, when I said I needed some coins for car parking later. Excellent value for money. The George doesn't pretend to be an upmarket establishment; but for a comfortable, friendly place to stay with good unpretentious food and friendly staff, it is hard to beat, particularly at the very reasonable price charged. Would happily stay there again.

  • G Wells

  • January 2016

The George Hotel

Comfortable overnight stay.

Good meal in the pub.