No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
High Street,Dorchester-On-Thames , Dorchester, OX10 7HH
The George Hotel is situated in the charming village of Dorchester on Thames and is part of the RelaxInnz prestige collection. Dating back to the 15th century, this is one of Britain’s oldest coaching inns, it is rich in historical character and charm complete with oak beams and inglenook fireplaces. The ensuite bedrooms are individually & tastefully decorated and include a TV, free Wi-Fi access, tea & coffee making facilities and most have period features.

Guests can enjoy fine British cuisine and traditional Sunday lunches in the intimate surroundings of the restaurant or relax with a quiet drink in the leafy gardens.

Surrounded by scenic river walks and countryside, The George Hotel is a 20-minute drive from Oxford’s historical centre. Henley-on-Thames is a 25-minute drive away while Birmingham and London Heathrow arirports are less than an hour away.

Picture of The George Hotel, Dorchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice old coaching house hotel which the rooms have been very nicely modernised.Excellent bathroom facilities and the food was very good including breakfast.

Reviewed by
IAN J

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Idyllic
Lovely Tudor/Coach House accommodation in the beautiful English Country village of Dorchester on Thames. The room was comfortable. The staff were excellent, helpful and friendly. The food was high quality and delicious and cooked exactly how we asked. Would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Tracy O

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Old style hotel with plenty of charm, clean, comfy. Very well located.

Reviewed by
Henri C

From France
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay and enjoy the surroundings
This really is a lovely hotel, situated in a quiet village. The accommodation is clean and comfortable and provides a pleasant base for a stay in Oxfordshire.
Only 8 miles or so from Oxford City centre and across the road from the historic Dorchester abbey.
Food is excellent and you can expect a good range of real ales.
Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Doug Johnson

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing and a lot of value for money
Our stay at the George was very relaxing. We were given a four poster bed and were very pleased with the size of the bathroom and bed. The decor was very quaint and in keeping with the village. The fish &chips were the best we have ever had, and the breakfast was more than anough with a choice of continental or full english with orange juice. The bus stop was a pleasant 10 minute walk away, just 20 or so minutes from oxford. We stayed for one night and wished we had stayed longer. The other guests seemed to be older than us, however this is ideal for a mature couple who are looking to get away to relax.

Reviewed by
A M

From , England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed
Run down and poorly maintenaned. Very old dirty carpets. Burnt smell ?? Faulty lighting acknowledged but left connected. Room service 4:30 just as we got back to relax. Disappointed.

Reviewed by
M Martin

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room,
Room was beautiful although opposite the church which rang its bells throughout the night. Hotel was great but customer service a bit poor, they promised a few vital things that weren't provided and when asked there was nothing they could do. This considerably hindered our trip so not impressed.

Reviewed by
Helen S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff

Reviewed by
G Coventry

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
We received a warm welcome, a tasty evening meal and a very comfortable night. We ate a hearty breakfast and then looked around the interesting church opposite before checking out.
I will recommend 'The George' to others.

Reviewed by
H Brown

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dorchester stay
We had a few issues with our original room so we were moved to an excellent room with a four poster bed with stunning views of the church. The owner and staff are fantastic and were very welcoming.

Reviewed by
Carol S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next