Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Greater London > London Hotels > Montague on the Gardens - A Red Carnation Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Montague on the Gardens - A Red Carnation Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
15 Montague Street , London, WC1B 5BJ
You will hardly believe that you are located near Covent Garden, West End theatres and adjacent to the British Museum - or for that matter, close to London's financial. This beautiful four star townhouse hotel overlooks a private and secluded garden - yet within moments you can enjoy all of the wonderful sights and pleasures that London has to offer. Dedicated to providing business and leisure guests with outstanding personal service, exceptional comfort and every modern convenience this intimate boutique hotel is proud of its AA Four-Star Deluxe, English Tourist Board Five Silver Crown and 'Best Floral Hotel in London' awards. The Montague's charm and relaxing décor coupled with the service accolades benefit business and holiday clients alike. The fully air-conditioned luxurious guest rooms and deluxe suites engender a feeling of a fine country hotel located on a quiet side street. The beautifully appointed conservatories and wood deck are ideal for summer barbeques and al fresco dining as well as regular live jazz entertainment overlooking a secluded private garden square. For the summer months The Montague on the Gardens offers Al Fresco Dining. This includes both The Terrace and Garden Grill - a peaceful and secluded, open-air space in the heart of the city, overlooking the sculptures in the gardens of the Bedford Estate. The Garden Grill is the ultimate in al fresco dining, featuring a selection of mouth-watering à la carte dishes and barbecues cooked from the grill. With the tantalising aromas from the sizzling grill and the unique and beautiful surroundings dining al fresco at The Garden Grill, the perfect summer venue, is an experience to remember. Bookings for 10 people or more carry separate terms - the hotel will contact you directly to advise.
Picture of Montague on the Gardens - A Red Carnation Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Brilliant Hotel
This is one of the best hotels that I have ever stayed at. It was booked for a birthday celebration and the staff were wonderful with upgrading our room to a suite and even giving us a personally signed card. Fantastic!!

Reviewed by
David R

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Montague
Very polite and helpful staff. Would definitely book again and recommend. On the negative side and there is only one. The room was on the small side.

Reviewed by
Michael S

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super hotel. A home from home in the middle of london
We love staying in this hotel. It has a real charm. The staf are so welcoming and efficient. Everyone is made to feel like a special guest but in a lovely,unobtrusive way. We cannot recomend it highly enough.

Reviewed by
Andrea Fitzgerald

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and handy
We stayed for the weekend. The hotel was very clean, staff were excellent and the location was perfect. The room was a bit small and cramped but, as we were mainly out and about, not a massive problem. Also, had to complain about the creaky floorboards upstairs as the guest in the room above was up very early and walking round for ages, which kept us awake.
Having said all that, would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Kate D

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely fantastic - A Must !!!
From requests prior to arrival to the late storage of luggage this hotel greatly surpassed all expectations. There was nothing that was too much trouble and we felt as if the staff really wanted us to have a lovely stay. The breakfast really set us up for a day sightseeing and yet again the staff were attentive and very professional in their duties whilst being warm and friendly. A truly beautiful hotel which we will be returning to.

Reviewed by
S Parkes-Smillie

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Upon arrival at this perfectly placed hotel (literally next door to the British Museum, and across the road from Russell Sqaure - which you can walk through or around to get to the tube station), we were immediately greated by the doorman and several other people...nearly 6 in all, offereing to help us with our luggage, etc. No one could fault the customer service at this hotel. Indeed, I am in training for the Great North Run and had contacted the hotel previous to our arrival about a possible running route. Within 24 hours I was provided with links to not only find my way to Regents Park, but also various routes within the park - which I highly recommend. It only took about 10 minutes to jog to the park and the route options are well varied. Additionally, a full English breakfast came with our package; however, my mother had to get to Heathrow by 7:30am on our last day. The hotel kindly prepared a continental breakfast, which was promptly delivered to our room at our agreed time of 6am - at no additional cost. Also, once booked I contacted the hotel regarding the room we would be alloated, as my mother has hip issues and we wanted a twin, rather than queen, room. They kindly upgraded us to a king size room (for a £24/nt supplement). The room was near reception on the ground floor, street-facing and I can honestly say I heard nothing except the faintesst car noises...and this was only during the day! The room's temperature was incredibly easy to regulate as well. This hotel excelled in quality of materials and customer service. During our first afternoon, we walked to the British Museum for a map so we could plan our following day. Upon our return we found a hand-written note from the manager along with a package of homemade biscuits. Also, each evening our beds were turned down and a lovely chocolate left on the pillow. The breakfast was greatly varied and extremely tasty, so good that I made a point of NOT getting a continental breakfast on our last day (like my mother), so that I could partake of the excellent selection again. The location is superb as the nearest tube station (Russell Square) is only a street away, through the glorious park - which has a lovely cafe selling full meals down to simple gelato and coffees. I recommend getting an oyster card if you're staying in London for more than one day.
Those were the positives. Now for the negatives...the room was 'spacious' by London standards, but there were also some issues. As the room was an 'accessible' room (number 40), the internal doors were on sliders, rather than hinges. There must have been an issue with the bathroom door, as this didn't close all the way. I mentioned it on our departure and was assured that it would be fixed. I had asked for twin beds, but upon arrival, found that it had been left as a king bed. It was remedied within the hour, but whilst we were still in the room and it was rather uncomfortable to watch one of the housekeeping team being ordered about while we were preparing to leave. Additionally, I was very disappointed with the bedding on the twin beds. The king had a luxurious duvet, but this had been removed and alternative singles NOT provided. Instead, we were left with two flat sheets with an 'additional' blanket folded between them, sandwich-style. I cannot bear to have my blankets tucked in at night, consequently, with minimum movement, the blanket fell out from between the sheets, making for a slightly uncomfortable night. Moreover, we could hear what we assumed was a toilet flushing / shower being taken from the floor above. It wasn't loud, but it was noticeable. We had booked a 'Bloomsbury Weekend', booking our afternoon tea for the day of our arrival. When attempting to confirm the time of it at reception, they didn't appear to have a record of it. Again, this was quickly remedied (and confirmed by reception with a phone call to our room within 30 min of arriving).
At first glance, these may seem like substantial negatives, but there were so many more positives, that these issues were more an inconvenience than anything else. I would have made a larger issue of them if I had been charged the suppllement, but we werent.
Overall, I had such a pleasant experience that I would not hesitate to book here again, especiallly for a nice, child-free weekend away with my husband. The lasting memory I have is of the doorman (Patric?) walking down the street towards the hotel, as I was making my way to the tube with my luggage for my return to York, recognising me and wishing me safe travels. What a nice way to finish a trip! :)

Reviewed by
L Niven

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room on the small side

Reviewed by
Gill W

From Market Rasen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a great place to stay and central for our needs. The only thing was that bar prices were rather high and stopped us using it after dinner.

Reviewed by
Paul Larkman

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't go wrong with RCG
We have stayed at 2 or 3 RCG hotels in London and the standard is always good. The rooms may not always be the biggest, but service is excellent and the whole deal great value.

Reviewed by
D Morley

From Shepperton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Service Ever!
All hotel staff made you feel very welcome. Their attention to detail was spot on. Positioning of the hotel was fantastic for the Theatre District. Would recommend to anyone

Reviewed by
A Robertson

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next