No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
119 London Road , Derby, DE1 2QR
Guests have access to FREE WiFi in the public area, and FREE hard wired internet access in the bedrooms. All of our bedrooms are comfortable modern rooms with great facilities. There is ample FREE ON-SITE CAR PARKING, the hotel is ideal for the business or leisure traveller wanting a relaxing and comfortable stay. All rooms are non-smoking. The hotel is close to nearby attractions such Royal Crown Derby, Westfield, Cathedral Quarter, and Alton Towers (approx 40min drive).
Picture of BEST WESTERN The Stuart Hotel, Derby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 245 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ideal location for business trip to Derby
ideal location for business trip to Derby, Ample car parking, clean facilities , good bar location with free wi fi and sky sports, breakfast was good and served to order so not buffet, room was clean and bed comfortable, on quite a busy road however so noisy with window open as no aircon in room, could do with a upgrade to include aircon and double glazed windows.

Reviewed by
Lee G

From wHITSTABLE, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unexpected dtop over
My teenage daughter and I needed an hotel for the night after we couldn#t get home. Not prepared for a night away we booked a twin room on the net. On arrival we were told that there were no twins available and I suggested two singles (but for the same price). This was agreed without hesitation. Maybe knowing our circumstances we could have been offered shaving gear (I needed it!) and tooth brushes, but this is my only observation, the staff were freindly and helpful when we arrived.
The breakfast was fantastic, the best breakfast I have had in a very long time.
At check out I would have liked some more smiles, I mentioned that the TV remote did not work in my room and this was ignored, I repeated myself and was dryly told that this was housekeeping's responsibility and they check it (obviously not otherwise it would have been working). No not was made of my complaint, so expect another complaint about this in the future! Funny how a small thing can sour the otherwise perfectly acceptable stay.

Reviewed by
Gerry H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for the money
Good location for city centre, room was modern and clean.
Downsides were construction work going on nearby - started early in the morning and was fairly noisy.

Reviewed by
Simon S

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Un-pretentious, meets all the requirements for short stays. Local gyms etc and loads of restaurants within a 5 minute walk.

Reviewed by
Graham R

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Steer clear of room 308
Staff were friendly and helpful. Water pressure was pathetic, the shower was basically a dribble and other guests said the same. No fridge in my room, although my colleague did have a fridge with a previous guests leftover Gregg's pasty still inside! The bathroom in room 308 is a joke, toilet is sandwiched between a radiator and a sink, I had to squeeze in at an angle and had a freezing cold radiator stuck to my leg, with the sink digging into my shoulder(and no I'm not even a fatty!). Breakfast was good other than the sausages which may have been 20% pork at best. Not sure where the 4* idea came from, perhaps it's a tongue in cheek joke

Reviewed by
R Corkill

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
Nice room and comfortable

Reviewed by
Richard A

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean room
Stayed here a few times and always been happy with the standard of the room. A couple of things to consider. If you buy through Mystery Hotels at Last Minute you are likely to get the top floor with two flights of stairs, didn't see a lift but never asked. If you are the front of the building it can get noisy outside. if you are at the rear of the building you may be awakened at 06:30 by the St John's Ambulance station opposite who open four large metal garage doors and start their vehicles leaving them to tick over. Finally, wasn't keen on reception staff standing outside at the front entrance having their smokes. But don't be put off, it's a nice base for exploring either the city or countryside.

Reviewed by
Maria V

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased
This is a lovely hotel, with very friendly staff and in an excellent location for the station and city centre. The room was lovely and the general feel was very professional

Reviewed by
M Duggan

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent value for money
Our stay was pleasant. The room was very very small but clean. The reception staff were friendly and helpful when we arrived very late at night. They had not left any bathroom products in our bathroom so we had to ring reception to get soap and shampoo brought round. It was hard to tell if they normally do not provide shampoo or if this was a house keeping error. The hotel was fairly loud at night but it was not the fault of the staff. There were just many guests coming and going through the night.
The room was very reasonably priced and there was a hotel parking lot for us to leave the car. Overall this was a convenient, good place to stay while in Derby.

Reviewed by
Hollie K

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place
Good place to stay thoroughly recommended staff very helpful and friendly. Food really good.

Reviewed by
George W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next