No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Westbourne Guest House

3AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
46 UPPER ROCK GARDENS , BRIGHTON, BN2 1QF
A beautiful Victorian period house conveniently situated a short stroll from the seafront, conference centre, & the world famous lanes. The Westbourne Hotel appeals to guests who appreciate a personal & professional service, in tasteful surroundings with a friendly atmosphere.
This 3 diamond establishment has 11 bedrooms in total and majority with en-suite bathrooms, the Westbourne hotel can without doubt make your stay here a most comfortable experience.

The Westbourne Hotel has a flexible choice of rooms, so whether your alone on business or pleasure, a couple wanting a intimate break, or a family wanting to experience the fun that can be found in Brighton, the Westbourne Hotel will appeal to you. Breakfast is individually freshly prepared to order and with a wide variety to choose from, whether you appreciate a full English breakfast, or vegetarian/vegan options, or just simply something lighter like fruits, yogurts, cereals, the Westbourne Hotel can make the most important meal of the day, a good one!
Picture of Westbourne Guest House, BRIGHTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Normal room
Room was but carpet was bit old, bed was not very comfortable,other bits is you get what you pay for!

Reviewed by
Gagan H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced disappointment next to the water and walking distance to the city
The location is good. However there was a weak internet reception, which they might change next week, but no phone reception in the room at all! The showerhead diverted the water into the bathtub instead of the person showering, so I could hardly shower, I complained but nothing happened. The place was decent, but was not worthwhile 45-55 pounds a night as I paid. It was highly over priced

Reviewed by
Mette H

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable basic accommodation
Room was adequate. Shared bathroom was clean. Public areas were well maintained. Location was very near sea front but noisy at night with returning revellers and sirens blaring until well into the early hours, especially with single glazed window. Walls between the bedrooms was a bit thin. Felt like I was in bed with the couple next door which was disconcerting! If you weren't able to get parking outside it was available by meter a few hundred yards away. Overall this was clean, basic accommodation, so if you just want a bed for the night it is fine, though it wouldn't be my first choice for a quick romantic getaway (unlike the couple next door!).

Reviewed by
C Freeman

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was alright for a short term, emergency stay
Owner was lovely, very friendly and greeted us warmly making us feel welcome. The room was a decent size slightly old fashioned but clean. The shower doors wouldn't shut properly as one of them had come off the runner and the shower had no power to it. The bed was comfy. Wireless was very hard to access in the room. As said it was ok for a short time (3 nights) and was an emergency but definitely room for improvement.

Reviewed by
D March

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay
4 lads went for a long weekend break. Good location near the beach and pier but also in good proximity and walking distance of bars and clubs. No problems at hotel, would stay again.

Reviewed by
Ashley B

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little gem
Basically good clean little gem, value for money B&B, blackout blinds gratefully used. My only downside is that I have a physical mobility difficulty and use walking aids, I struggled on the stairs leading to the accommodation and to the bedrooms saying that, I'm not sure that this can be rectified. We didn't eat breakfast choosing to sleep in till 10am. The electricity supply to the room went off at midnight on one of the nights however the owner put it back on and was okay about being disturbed

Reviewed by
Wendy H

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic but clean - somewhere to sleep

Reviewed by
Phil M

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
We just spent one night and did not have breakfast, we were very happy with the room and hotel. Nice, friendly welcome, fast and easy check in. Room had nice furniture, bathroom was modern and clean. For a longer stay the room that we had would be too small, though, probably they gave it to us as we were not staying longer and for us ist was fine. Location is great, just a short walk from the pier. Breakfast room looked cosy, clean and inviting. Free, good working wifi. Parking on the street with cash and display machines.

Reviewed by
Iris K

From Germany
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good
Good

Reviewed by
Philip Jennings

From Dover, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Collette makes you welcome in a straight forward guest house
We were met by Collette who was friendly helpful and a nice person.The 4 bedroom we were in was quite a few floors up with a shared bathroom but we knew this in advance. Good value for money and room what we expected. All you need it's not the Grand where we stayed last time but a perfectly reasonable basic guest house. All enquiries and help provided by Collete who made us welcome

Reviewed by
M Philp

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next