No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crowne Plaza Marlow

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
FIELDHOUSE LANE, MARLOW, SL7 1GJ
The unique Crowne Plaza Marlow hotel is set in the beautifulBuckinghamshire countryside, with easy access to the M40, M4 and M25motorways and 30 minutes from London Heathrow Airport. A landscapeddriveway leads you to the welcoming entrance of the low-rise Crowne Plaza Marlow hotel, where our friendly Reception team will check you into your wonderfully appointed room and assist with your dinner reservation. You can ask our Concierge about trips to Henley, Windsor
Castle and other attractions in the Royal Borough, including LEGOLAND.

Our 2 AA-rosette-awarded Glaze Restaurant serves sumptuous dishes like confit duck leg with mashed potato and spiced pear, which can be served
to your table or on the terrace overlooking the manicured lawn and lake
. Many ingredients are sourced locally, and herbs and vegetables are grown in the hotel's garden. Luxuriate with a Susan Monu beauty treatment or plunge into the 18-metre indoor pool at our Quad Club's Health and Fitness Centre. Enjoy champagne by the outdoor hot tub , served from contemporary Agua Bar , which also serves fabulous food
throughout the day. Make Crowne Plaza Marlow your choice for business or special events. Our 8 function rooms can host up to 450 guests for
theatre-style conferences or 300 guests for a banquet, wedding, birthday or civil partnership. Thriving Thames Valley businesses are nearby and
we are close to Cressex and Globe business parks.
Picture of Crowne Plaza Marlow, MARLOW at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Winter Vomiting Bug
Upon our arrival last Saturday ( 1/3/14 ) we were met with a prominent sign informing guests that there had been reports of guests becoming unwell because of a winter vomiting bug. The receptionist assured us that this had affected guests earlier in the week. Unfortunately, despite staying one night upon our return home we became unwell with the symptoms described above.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr. Quigley, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow. In regards to the winter vomiting virus, please accept our assurances that our team are working closely in partnership with the relevant authorities to investigate the source of the bug which has affected a number of people in the local area. As part of our stringent health and safety measures, and at our request, the Environmental Health Officers (EHO) visited the Hotel to review the site and ensure that we are doing everything reasonably possible to mitigate the problem. The EHO have been assisting the team throughout the process and it is thought that the bug did not originate in the Hotel. Please accept the deep apologies of the management team that you were affected by the bug, if you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact the Duty Manager by telephone. Kind Regards, Harriet

Reviewed by
Aidan Quigley

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value break
We stayed for one night at the crowne plaza. The rooms were clean and spacious and although we didn't use the pool and gym both looked good.
The restaurant were being careful re noro virus so there was no buffet just a served breakfast. The team I anticipate are not used to this but they did there best.
Would highly recommend
Try not to get an adjoining room, we had a young family next to us!!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards our guests expect. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the bedroom accommodating and comfortable. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Harriet

Reviewed by
M Ray

From Stanford le Hope, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this hotel!
Recently stayed at the lovely Crowne Plaza with all my family. A fantastic hotel, nice easy check in, 3 rooms next to each as requested. My boys loved the swimming pool, I loved the hot tub! We ate in the bar which was a little noisy but this was due to a large party taking place in the Conservatory. After a decent nights sleep (a double bed each) we had the best breakfast ever - the food choice was huge! Our Waiter, Miles, was just fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for him :-)

ManagementResponse

Dear Jo, Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow. We value your feedback as it helps us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards our guests expect. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you all had the opportunity to experience our excellent spa facilities! Please be assured that I will pass your compliments on to the respective departments, and to Myles in Agua Bar, who you specifically mentioned as someone whose service stood out during your visit. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Marlow in the very near future. Kind Regards, Harriet

Reviewed by
Jo H

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well appointed
Smart, clean, spacious, modern room. Well equipped. Simple easy to use taps in bathroom. Spotless.

ManagementResponse

Dear Leonard, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards our guests expect. I am delighted that your stay with us was a success and you had the opportunity to enjoy our well appointed bedrooms. I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Marlow in the near future. Kind Regards, Harriet

Reviewed by
Leonard D

From Saxmundham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value comfortable hotel
Our stay was a one night stop over so we did not get time to experience all the hotel had to offer. However, we arrived to welcoming staff with smooth check in, a large comfortable clean room with great king size bed, ample pillows. Impressed by nice toiletries and face cloths supplied.
Late night night cap in bar was pleasant, if a little chilly in relaxing areas.

ManagementResponse

Dear Julie, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards of service our guests expect. I am so very pleased that your stop over stay with us was a success, that our staff were friendly and efficient in their service and you enjoyed a comfortable night with us. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future, and that you will have the opportunity to discover the other amenities the Hotel has to offer. Kind Regards, Harriet

Reviewed by
Julie L

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, great room
Very comfortable and very clean, had a great stay.

ManagementResponse

Dear Simon, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow. We value your feedback as it helps us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards our guests expect. I am delighted that you has a great stay with us and that you found the Hotel suited your needs. I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Marlow in the near future. Kind Regards, Harriet

Reviewed by
Simon C

From Towcester, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable - better than most!
Very peaceful nights sleep, comfortable bed, pleasant staff and surroundings

ManagementResponse

Dear Lorrae, Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow, we value your feedback as it helps us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards our guests expect. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, enjoying a peaceful night's sleep and the excellent customer service we pride ourselves on. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future. Regards, Harriet

Reviewed by
Lorrae H

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean & Friendly
A amply sized room which was clean and well appointed. Very friendly front of house.

ManagementResponse

Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow. We value your feedback as it helps us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards our guests expect. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and efficient in their service, and the bedroom amenities suited your requirements. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Marlow in the near future. Regards, Harriet

Reviewed by
Peter D

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room and staff were excellent, room was spotless clean and nicely decorated. Disappointed with the restaurant, although it was very presentable with lovely staff, the food choices were not at all nice. I've never sat in a restaurant and not fancied anything off the menu. I guess we weren't the only ones who felt that way as we were the only people in there. We left and went to the bar. We found the bar did a better range of food and it had a great deal more people in there. We noticed as we were leaving the bar several hours later the restaurant still had no customers. It seemed a pity as we could see it was set out lovely and the staff were very accommodating.

ManagementResponse

Dear Rebecca, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards our guests expect. I was concerned to read that your stay with us, although enjoyable, was marred by your experience in our restaurant. We aim to provide a menu with a wide range of dishes offering seasonal dishes from locally sourced produce. We were awarded two AA rosettes for culinary excellence and staff friendliness in 2012. Please be assured that your feedback will be discussed with the management team and the necessary action taken to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Regards, Harriet

Reviewed by
Rebecca F

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to Legoland
Overall this is a quality hotel, very comfortable, spacious room with a lovely big bathroom - separate bath and shower which is ideal with young children - and all the facilities you would expect. I liked that there was a fridge which again is a plus when you have kids. The food was top rate and the pool was excellent - we particularly enjoyed the outdoor hot tub.
Unfortunately the breakfast is very overpriced; it cost us the best part of £36 for two adult and one child's breakfast! Another negative is that the hotel is not adequately lit and when arriving late on a very dark, very wet night, navigating the car park to get to reception was nigh on impossible. There is also no dedicated parent and child spaces so we had to pull up outside reception to get two sleeping children out to the hotel and then wait whilst my husband parked some distance away.
Finally I am disappointed to say I have had need to complain separately to the hotel after they ringfenced an amount on my credit card some £64 more than my eventual bill without adequately explaining the reason why. Just be careful when swiping your credit card on arrival as this money is still not back in my account two days later!!

ManagementResponse

Dear Emma, Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Marlow. We value your feedback as it helps us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards our guests expect. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Legoland break with us and that you and your family had the opportunity to enjoy our wide range of facilities. Please be assured that I will pass on your compliments regarding the food to the Executive Chef and his team. I am sorry that in some areas the Hotel did not live up to expectation, in particular the parking amenities and the cost of breakfast. Please be assured that the management team discuss all the feedback we receive to ensure we can improve our services and target problem areas. In reference to the amount the Hotel 'ring fenced' on your credit card. I do apologise that this caused you concern and am confident that the Hotel has since contacted you directly with a full explanation and hope that this communication has been satisfactory. I have confirmed with the Hotel Accountant that It is common practice within the hotel industry to take a pre-authorisation for the Room Rate, and any incidentals, a process that is explained to guests and done with there knowledge when they check in. At the end of the guest's stay the same authorization is used for the final sale and the excess funds are then released. Unfortunately it can take some bank / credit card providers more than the standard 3-5 days to release the funds on to the holder's card. I do hope that despite this misunderstanding we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Marlow. Kind Regards, Harriet

Reviewed by
Emma K

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next