Reviews - Ullswater Hotel


West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth, BH2 5HW

Price From 71.02 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (89)

78% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • P Morris

  • November 2015

Large room dated but clean.

Luke warm water. There was only one glass. Base of shower needs gluing back. Bathroom door didn't close properly

  • K Collier

  • October 2015

Everything about our stay was fantastic, the hotel let us check in early so that I could leave my car and bag, containing valuables, with them which took all my worries away as I had enough to think about when taking my 4 children away.

The only negative comments that I must make are that there wasn't enough towels or toilet roll in our room (we did book last minute though) and under the beds were filthy with old milk cartons, old biscuits and chocolate. We had to move the beds around a bit for my baby's travel cot to fit in, which was when we made the discovery. I'm guessing that's not a normal place to clean though and thought its good to let the hotel know for future improvements. Apart from that, everything was fantastic and I will be booking again. Food was great, waiters and waitresses were lovely, our room was amazing, great size and met all of our needs and was an excellent walk to the beach down the west cliff. The hotel was also very welcoming towards my husband who could only join us for a very short part of our holiday as he had to work. Thank you so much for being so accommodating. Will recommend to friends.

  • V Suarez

  • September 2015

Loved it!

Made feel welcomed from the minute we walked in, excellent customer service, friendly staff and very helpful specially given that I was there with three children, the youngest being 1 year, made feel at ease at all times, will definitely return and can recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Dominic J

  • July 2015

good budget price for my overnight stay

upgraded to double room.

Rooms are just a little tired but very clean and good value for money

The only comment I would make was that there was a sign in the bathroom which said the water was not "drinking water" they sold bottles of water in the bar for £1.20

I haven't seen signs of "don't drink the water" since the 70's

But all in all good value for money and I would stay again

  • A J Cordingley

  • July 2015

A lovely break away.

We booked The Ulswater for a weekend away.

We were a little apprehensive because it's a 2 AA star hotel but the quality of the room, even though it was small was very good. The rooms have recently been decorated and the bathroom was modern. The only major thing was the shower wouldn't hold temperature and the pressure was terrible.

  • A Ghosh

  • July 2015

Good value for money hotel, excellent staff and customer service

Excellent customer service, spacious room although the shower room was was a bit of a squeeze.

  • Carole P

  • July 2015

Ullswater stay

We had a very pleasant stay.

The hotel was friendly and very clean. The room was more than sufficient although it did become rather warm even though we opened the windows. After staying in modern hotels we forgot that not all have air-conditioning and a fridge in the room, however we had a lovely stay and would go there again.

  • jane dean

  • June 2015

could do better

Staff were helpful and pleasant.

Room a bit tatty but totally clean. Shower room extremely small, had to come out of it to dry yourself. Very basic and minimal soap, towels and loo roll and tea tray. Residents queued up to get into breakfast as it was only available for 1 hour. Breakfast again, was minimal and low quality ingredients used.

  • Paul F

  • June 2015

Worst Hotel I have ever stayed in

This was an old hotel, the room was very dated, made the room smell of sewerage when you flushed the toilet.

A sign above the sink indicated do not drink the water yet tea facilities were provided (with no drinkable water to make it with). The night-time emergency number was not answered when I rang it. I am seriously considering posting my concerns on trip advisor. I want my money back.

  • A wilkie

  • June 2015

Good Location

Not what we expected