No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ullswater Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
West Cliff Gardens , Bournemouth, BH2 5HW
Ullswater Hotel is a charming, newly refurbished, 42 bedroom hotel located on the West Cliff of Bournemouth.

Our prime location is only 200 yards from the Blue Flag Beach and offers easy reach to Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), The Pavilion, Theatres, The Pier, Town Centre and beautiful Gardens all within a 6 - 8 minute walk.

The hotel is renowned for its excellent service and fantastic four course meals whilst still offering you good affordable rates without the compromise on quality. Having listened to what our guests' need, Wi-Fi is available with a minimum charge of £2 and we offer Limited Free Car Parking.

Our facilities include a bar, restaurant, games room (namely a snooker table, darts & table tennis). All our bedrooms are en-suite and have direct dial telephones, complimentary tea/coffee tray, lift access to all floors and all the home comforts making for an enjoyable and relaxing stay.

So, whether on a romantic getaway, lone traveler, small families or coach party we at the Ullswater Hotel ensure you are well looked after.

Room Types
- Single
- Twin
- Double
- Family Rooms sleeping up to 2 adults & 3 children under the age of 14

Please note: A 2% charge is made for all credit card payments. There is no charge made for debit cards.

Would guests kindly note that there is a £10.00 per night charge for dogs.
Picture of Ullswater Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 107 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good staff
Welcoming and helpful staff, would benefit from additional parking.

Reviewed by
Dave C

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute weekend break
Hotel is in a lovely location. Staff were friendly and efficient. Room was a lot larger than expected with the bonus of two easy chairs.

Reviewed by
PAUL J

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
There was a small car park, but the parking was difficult at the weekend because parking is free in this area. The management were very helpful in telling me where I could park.

Reviewed by
J Davies

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked room only as only staying for two nights however we would not hesitate to revisit as found hotel and rooms to be clean and the staff friendly.

Reviewed by
Philip S

From Birmingham , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean hotel, friendly welcome
Booked a last minute stay for the Bournemouth Air Show and as one of the few hotels still with availability my expectations were low, but the room was pleasant, it was very clean, the reception staff were helpful and friendly. The waiting staff in the restaurant were very quick and efficient, and for a 2 star the food was good quality and there was a good choice of vegetarian and children's options. The only negative points were that we couldn't park outside of the hotel, costing an extra £10 in car park costs for 24 hours. I don't know if this is typical or just because it was an exceptionally busy weekend. Plus be aware that a credit card charge applies, I didn't know this and would have chosen to pay with a debit card had I known.

Reviewed by
N Stevens

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel we'll positioned for town and beach
Lovely hotel nice welcome on arrival, parking even had a sea view off the third floor.
Lovel staff , didn't realise I had to book dinner, till I read the literature in my room lol, but chippy down the road so wasn't bothered, went and sat on a bench over looking the beach eating my chips lovely. Minutes from the hotel.
Lovely breakfast though, would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
J Collins

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
Friendly atmosphere and clean hotel.

Reviewed by
M Williams

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Off the cuff weekend family break!
Warm, friendly and welcoming environment, loved the staff, great to find a hotel with a room for a family of 5! kids played in the games room with games dad hasn't played for years! :)

Reviewed by
M Turner

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Excellent hotel ,very clean room and good size too. Friendly staff nothing was too much trouble . Breakfast in the morning was excellent , again helpfull staff plenty of food options to choose from

Reviewed by
D MORRISON

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cold showers
The manager was abrupt and rude. When I complained about the shower not having a thermostat he offered the use of the shower in the next room but told me to hurry up to ensure we checked out on time.

ManagementResponse

With regard to to your review, may we apologise for any misunderstanding. Check in is until 10pm and whilst you rang and advised you would be arriving just before that time, you actually arrived just before midnight and the room was still being held for you. When you approached reception next morning to advise you had a problem working your shower it was logged at 10.50am -10 minutes before latest checkout time, so the duty manager pointed out the check out time to you which you apparently took umbridge with as you obviously felt you could leave your room any time -at your leisure, having arrived late. Check out time is 11am latest in order to allow the chambermaids access to deep clean and prepare the room for the next visitors.

Reviewed by
J Peel

From Broxbourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next