Reviews - The Grand Hotel


King Edwards Parade, Eastbourne, BN21 4EQ

Price From 313.34 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (27)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Vanessa P

  • September 2015

Very dated, family dining was terrible.

The hotel is 150 years old, so I expect it to be Victorian, but the rooms, bathrooms and furnishings were very dated.

It smelt musty and could really do with fresh carpets, curtains and proper showers being installed. There were nice touches i.e. cookes and milk at bedtime for the children, robes (although one was so frayed I had to return it), and a nice indoor and outdoor pool with jacuzzi. The most disappointing though was the family dining restaurant. They had a choice of pizza that my kids said tasted like spagetti bolognese and was hard and heated so it was like cardboard. The spag bog was not nice, and my 11 year old son will eat just about anything but even he couldnt stomach the fishcakes. My 8 year old daughter had bread rolls for dinner on the first night, so every other lunch and dinner we had to eat out. There was also only an option of expensive silver service menu for adults, with a buffet for kids, so by the time mine came they were ready to go. Really really disappointing.

  • Georgina G

  • August 2015

70 th birthday family weekend celebration

The staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble.

An excellent hotel for a special weekend of celebration. Particularly impressed with the temperature of the outside heated pool; Also the jazz band and string quartet in evenings and sunday afternoon. Also the pianist during supper. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Grand lives up to its name.

  • Jacqueline Bird

  • August 2015

Not so grand

Extremely awful service at a breakfast that was certainly not 5*.

I do not expect to clear my own table. The shower in the bath - NO walk in shower - was unusable unless you wanted scalding or freezing. Drinks in the evening in the lounge were very slow in arriving, and then were wrong. Not the experience I wanted.

  • christine t

  • July 2015

Grand experience

We had a wonderful time the staff were very helpful.

We had read that the men needed a tie or a jacket, but this was not enforced, some had gone in t-shirts very disappointing.

  • Neil P

  • July 2015

A Grand week away

Excellent week, the attitude of the staff and their friendly service, made this a great place to stay.

Facilities are really good, plenty of space to enjoy a coffee or a meal in a relaxing environment, the pool, spa and gym were not crowded and a joy to use. I look forward to staying there again.

  • M Reid

  • May 2015

The Grand Hotel

The hotel needs a face lift to bring it into the modern world.

Its missing the right mix of old world grandeur with new furnishings which aren't just old and tired, which other establishments of the same era have managed to do. My 12 year old son summed up well by saying it felt like we were staying in an old age home. Curtains, carpets and furniture are just old and need updating. Quality of service was mixed with some being wonderfully helpful like the doormen and others being less so. Both mornings we had to queue for no reason for breakfast when there were plenty of tables available but no one at the door to seat guests. Not acceptable for a 5 star hotel. The breakfast options again are not of 5 star quality and presentation needs some serious work. I have seen far better laid out buffets at 4 star establishments. Having big areas that you have to walk past where they have piled dirty crockery and cutlery is also unpleasant. The food however is very good. Room was comfortable and clean. Overall it was fine but wouldn't recommend or go back.

  • R Morris

  • April 2015

Superb Hotel

I have stayed in top hotels all over the world, The Grand is one of the best

  • Paul B

  • November 2014

Room major disappointment,very dated look,bed very small

  • S Morris

  • November 2014

The Grand is family friendly luxury!

I love this hotel.

It somehow combined efficient service with a laid back approach. I'm not sure how they do it there but they did, nothing was too much trouble, they brought some milk for my son to the room, delivered room service quietly when he was asleep, prepared his bed earlier when asked etc Each and every staff member was friendly, the breafast was yum, there was a great kid's room with friendly staff so we got an hour's break in the lovely spa, a lovely bar and the whole experience felt very special.

  • Craig V

  • October 2014

Grand but mucky

Very late check in at 3 was a bad start.

Rooms strange mixture of refurbished and grubby. Net curtains marked/stained and overall rather grubby ( bathroom clean). Over-priced for what it was. Nicebreakfast