No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Hotel

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
King Edwards Parade , Eastbourne, BN21 4EQ

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "The newly landscaped forecourt with additional guest parking."

The renaissance of The Grand Hotel Eastbourne, has transformed this elegant property into one of the country's finest coastal hotels within easy reach of Gatwick Airport and Eurostar.There are luxurious suites and bedrooms, two award winning restaurants and a truly impressive health club boasting both indoor and outdoor pools ,extensive gym and eight beauty treatment rooms.
Picture of The Grand Hotel, Eastbourne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Grand - Eastbourne
Had a wonderful time . Staff are super helpful and friendly. Food was amazing!
Hope to return very soon :))

Reviewed by
Elizabeth C

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly dog friendly
Outside of building a bit tatty, but scaffolding at one end suggests it is having a facelift. Reception area smart and clean. Staff were exceptional, efficient, polite and friendly. My dog had a complementary meal delivered to my room and the hotel will provide bowls and dog bed if required. The room was large, very clean and comfortable. Buffet style breakfast was good. Indoor pool area small but clean, outdoor pool was not open.

Reviewed by
Penny H

From Chipping Norton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great seafront hotel, superb accommodation and faultless service
The Grand is a wonderful, traditional white building in the classical style, right on the seafront, with great views both along the coast and out to sea. This was our third or fourth stay and on this occasion we had a great sea view room; very traditional, clean and comfortable and with all of the facilities we needed. As ever, the staff were extremely attentive, the breakfast was excellent and the experience was all that one would expect of a traditional five star hotel. The Grand has a well equipped spa/gym with both indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone seeking a relatively quiet break in opulent surroundings with a first class breakfast and excellent service. It would also make a great base for a family holiday, my only word of warning being that children will need to be pretty well behaved in order to avoid incurring the glances of old disapproval from elderly residents, of whom there do tend to be quite a few!

Reviewed by
Andy M

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ols World Charm
Was the youngest resident, so that tells you something about the usual clientele?
All staff were very friendly and attentive.
Room was a good size, small bathroom though, and furnishings were comfy.
Bar drinks expensive, £10 for a glass of wine. Dinner in restaurant was well cooked and tasty, small portions though, and as the wine quite expensive for what they offered, service was very goodthough and there were plenty of staff.
Breakfast was a very varied spread, disappointed to be charged an extra £5 for eggs Benedict, when I could have eaten everything else on the buffet and had a cooked breakfast in the price, a bit mean... which I did mention to the waiter in the morning.
At this time of year they should be making it as attractive as possible to entice you there, as if not these old style hotels could be a think of the past?
Would stay again as long as the room rate was competitive.

Reviewed by
A Odell-Rourke

From Chatteris, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very enjoyable would stay again.

Reviewed by
Thelma

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

superb tranquility oasis
This hotel fully deserves its international reputation for attentive staff, pleasant atmosphere and perfect location. Perfect for a short break from London.

Reviewed by
N Hadzic

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Grand
This hotel certainly lived up to our expectations. It was good old fashioned service without the pomp!! The rooms were a little dated but very clean and comfortable. We stayed on a wet January Tuesday night which was probably one of the quietest times of year but we felt that we certainly weren't given a second rate service. It was warm and welcoming and the staff were very friendly.

Reviewed by
Wendy H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Grand Experience!
Our stay at the Grand exceeded our expectations. From the moment we approached the main entrance to the moment we departed, we enjoyed very good service - from doormen, porters, receptionists, restaurant staff - that made everything smooth and agreeable for us. We relished the spacious, well-appointed room (the porter's outline of its facilities when he took in our luggage was very clear and informative) and we were especially impressed to return from an evening at the theatre to find the mineral water and used towels replaced, the bins emptied, the bathroom floor cleaned, the curtains drawn and the beds turned down, all of which contributed to a comfortable night's sleep. The next morning, we savoured an excellent buffet breakfast in an elegant but relaxing atmosphere, with helpful staff to hand. Eastbourne's seafront, theatres, Towner Art Gallery and shops were all within easy reach. Altogether a grand experience!

Reviewed by
Nicolas Tredell

From Seaford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A charming hotel - would stay again.
We had our reservations about the Grand Hotel possibly not living up to it's title but were pleasantly proved wrong. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. The facilities were lovely -the spa and health club a bonus! And the rooms were spacious and comfortable if not a bit on the warm side. Nothing a blast of sea air didn't fix though! The food was also a pleasant surprise - it was delicious!

Reviewed by
C L

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sumptuous surroundings and fantastic customer service
We stayed for a birthday celebration. The hotel looked beautiful with christmas decorations. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was very special: excellent food, service and surroundings. The bedrooms were spacious and very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Gregory V

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next