No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grange Rochester Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
69 Vincent Square, London, SW1P 2PA
Overlooking the leafy expanse of Westminster's Vincent Square the distinguished Rochester Hotel is a model of restraint. The Rochester welcomes the discerning travellers with the charm and elegance of a traditional private club an oasis of calm yet just moments from Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, the Houses of Parliament and London's world renowned shops, theatres and parks. Restrained, elegant and beautifully designed The Rochester provides the most restful environment. Relax in Lords Lounge Bar where you can enjoy a cocktail, afternoon tea, meet friends, or simply peruse the newspapers. Or settle back and enjoy superb dining and fine wines under the stained glass dome of Le Pavillion - The Rochester's classic French Restaurant. For the more informal occasion enjoy the casual atmosphere of Rochester's Bar and Brasserie. The bedrooms too are superbly designed and exquisitely finished to ensure the utmost privacy and comfort. Each of the 80 bedrooms, combine sumptuous comfort with all of today's conveniences. The Rochester is a truly great luxury hotel and a truly stylish place to stay.
Picture of Grange Rochester Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
Although small, the room was well equipped and clean. It was also good value for London and in a pleasant, quiet area. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay there again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Todmorden, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were very happy with the accommodation but unhappy with the restaurant. We booked dinner in the restaurant on the first night and when we turned up we were the only people in the dining room. We were given the menu and, on being told that my wife is Gluten Free she was given a GF Menu. When we selected our choices we were told that they were not available. After this happening several times we asked what was available. We were then told that we should be in the Wine Bar which was where our booking was for. This was untrue but after being told that more was available there we changed venue. The first thing that happened was the waitress told us that several things were unavailable. When my wife selected something that was available the chef told her that as she was GF she could not have the spinach but he would do her a salad. How spinach could have Gluten in it was beyond us and so we left and ate elsewhere. We did not attempt to get any food at the hotel again. The hotel is good as long as you go out to eat and I would recommend it with this caveat.

Reviewed by
David H

From Anstruther, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent overnight stay
I stayed 1 night with my 19 year old daughter; on arrival checlking in was efficient, the staff were polite and very helpful, the rooms were small but clean and had everything we needed; windows didnt open far and room got stuffy overnight so not sure about in the summer as there was no air-con. The hotel was 10 minute walk to Wesminter and all the sights. Breakfast was expensive so we checked out at 11, left our cases at the hotel, secured and foc and ate out for breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed stay.

Reviewed by
Victoria H

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good experience
We were very pleased with our stay at the Grange Rochester Hotel. Staff were courteous and helpful and the room was excellent value for the price. It was close to Westminster and nearby tube stations. The room was larger than we expected and the bathroom

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Trip
Very good quality and priced correctly

Reviewed by
James J

From Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was lovely, clean and plenty of space. The bathroom was very small, in need of an update and some repair. Overall a lovely stay, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
V Doris

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay.
A relaxed overnight stop amidst lots of travelling. 24hr reception and bar, very useful. Friendly, peaceful, relaxing.

Reviewed by
Suzanne M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I did not enjoy my stay at this hotel. My partner and I stayed for one night as we were going to see the Lion King at the Lyceum. The room was nice on face value, decent furniture and tastefully decorated and fairly clean. However, on closer inspection the room was not so amazing. The shower was hidden behind a screen so deep I had to climb in the bath to turn the taps, I couldn't work out how to change the temperature fast enough and ended up burning my finger on hot water. The windows were difficult to open and close and there was a lot of noise from planes. The curtain tie back hooks were falling out of the wall and at £24 each for a breakfast, we had to go without. The most expensive breakfast I've ever seen.

Reviewed by
C Greenwood

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good comfortable hotel.
The hotel was very comfortable. staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived at 1pm and our room was ready so we were able to book in early which was great. Our room was upgraded so we had more space than expected. Beds very comfortable. Hotel in a very quite square so no traffic noise,. The only disappointment was the cost of the breakfast £18 continental or £24 full English which we felt was a bit extreme so we had breakfast for £6.50 along the road. Would recommend the hotel and use it again.

Reviewed by
Susan C

From Bracknell, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expensive Breakfast
Whilst the room was fine (except for quite a small bathroom) and the price paid (for London) was very reasonable, I was dissappointed to have to pay approximately the equivalent of a further 18% of the room rate for a cold, buffet breakfast. This would have risen to 20% if I had wished to have a cooked breakfast.
I appreciate that I do not visit London very often and maybe this is the "normal" rate - but I do stay in many 4* hotels in Germany and the buffet (with a much larger selection of items) is around 50% of this price.
I would stay again - but probably look to have breakfast out.

Reviewed by
N Fielding

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next