No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grange Rochester Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
69 Vincent Square, London, SW1P 2PA
Overlooking the leafy expanse of Westminster's Vincent Square the distinguished Rochester Hotel is a model of restraint. The Rochester welcomes the discerning travellers with the charm and elegance of a traditional private club an oasis of calm yet just moments from Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, the Houses of Parliament and London's world renowned shops, theatres and parks. Restrained, elegant and beautifully designed The Rochester provides the most restful environment. Relax in Lords Lounge Bar where you can enjoy a cocktail, afternoon tea, meet friends, or simply peruse the newspapers. Or settle back and enjoy superb dining and fine wines under the stained glass dome of Le Pavillion - The Rochester's classic French Restaurant. For the more informal occasion enjoy the casual atmosphere of Rochester's Bar and Brasserie. The bedrooms too are superbly designed and exquisitely finished to ensure the utmost privacy and comfort. Each of the 80 bedrooms, combine sumptuous comfort with all of today's conveniences. The Rochester is a truly great luxury hotel and a truly stylish place to stay.
Picture of Grange Rochester Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, well situated for Buckingham Palace and theatres around Victoria. Helpful, efficient and cheerful staff. Room clean and beds comfortable. No aircon but a fan was provided.

Reviewed by
C DIXON

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
We had an excellent stay at the grange Rochester. Staff were friendly and attentive, we we're upgraded from a twin room to a triple which meant we had plenty of room. Comfortable beds and a quiet room made for a great nights sleep. Location was perfect, close to many attractions, and breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
E Fox

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service and a great hotel

Reviewed by
Emir C

From Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Fantastic value for money. Room was lovely with fantastic view. Would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
S Hardman

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite old fashioned dark wood interior to the rooms but all the facilities I would have expected, comfortable, quiet and clean. It was good to be able to open the bedroom window to let fresh air in at night with out noise from the street. A short walk to Victoria and Westminster. One or two good restaurants nearby too.

Reviewed by
Mark P

From Woking, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Be careful!!!!
Booked this via laterooms for my wife and her sister. As usual laterooms take your credit card details to "reserve" your room at the Grange Rochester. On arrival in London at the Grange Rochester my wife was taken to the Wellington Hotel nearby, and left there.Not sure why. My wife was given a number of excuses. The room at the Grange Rochester not ready...is damaged...no real reason. They were charged the full amount as was advertised on laterooms for the Grange Rochester.
While the room at the Wellington was okay the hotel itself was a building site with building materials, dust etc everywhere. No lift. My wife was on the 3rd floor. No facilities. The management at the Grange expected my wife and sister in law to run between the 2 hotels to use the bar, spa or whatever.
My wife complained but did not receive satisfaction. A couple of free drinks at the bar before having to return to the Wellington.
All in all a very disappointing overnight stay in London to which my wife and her sister were looking forward to.
From looking at the various websites it seems that the Wellington was a basic hostel and is being renovated as a "posher" hotel. While this process is ongoing and rooms are "done up" they are placing unsuspecting and unaware customers in there.
If you book with the Grange Rochester, I would make sure that you will be staying in the Grange Rochester.
In my opinion, be very careful when you book the Grange Rochester! Laterooms description of The Wellington is "a self classified 2** hotel" and the Grange Rochester "a self classified 4** hotel". How come my wife ended up paying the 4* price!!?

Reviewed by
T Baker

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was so small! I stay at London hotels regularly and stayed Grange city before and loved it. But this one was like one of cheap hotels lined up around Victoria! The room and the bathroom were functional but the size of a cupboard! The bed was hard and uncomfortable. It wasn't worth the money.

Reviewed by
Kim F

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quiet. comfortable hotel
I spent one night and slept well in a clean room. Room was quiet small, but big enough and bathroom was clean and was stocked with the usual toiletries. I didn't have breakfast at the hotel.

Reviewed by
Phillippa L

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place if you have the money
Great place to stay except it's way too overpriced. Especially at £25 per head to eat breakfast per day.

Reviewed by
P Davies

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grange Rochester
Very accessible hotel in Victoria, London. Very good quality facilities and staff

Reviewed by
k allen

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next