No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grange Holborn

5Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
50-60 Southampton Row , London, WC1B 4AR
Located in the heart of London's West End many well known attractions are a very short walk, these include Theatreland, the Strand, Covent Garden, the City, Soho, China Town, Leicester Square and Oxford Street.The bedrooms are spacious and designed to satisfy the most demanding tastes. The furniture has been crafted to a detailed specification, all hand carved in solid rosewood with ebony inlays, the deep pile carpets specially commissioned. Each room is perfectly appointed with the discerning, modern traveler in mind.Where Lifestyle Facilities are concerned the Holborn excels, providing the ultimate opportunity to assess, attain and maintain health and fitness goals. An 18 metre swimming pool with its own juice bar and relaxation lounge is complemented by a fitness suite with the very best equipment, professional personal trainers, sauna/steam room and therapy suite. Consultations, treatments and assessments are also provided. Please be aware that the Swimming pool area will be closed on 13/12/13, 17/12/13 and 19/12/13 from 14:00 hrs till midnight. Apologies for the inconvenience caused.


Picture of Grange Holborn, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room disappointing.
We found the room to be very small and old fashioned. The bed was so soft we were enveloped as we laid down (old mattress?). The windows were not sound proof, we were on the 6th floor and we could still hear all the traffic and emergency services. The room did not appear to be consistent with the rest of the hotel which was ok. On a positive note we found the staff to be very polite and courteous.

Reviewed by
Paula L

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
We arrived early... tired ! Waited two hours for the room... Because of a mix up in what was paid for, we did not take advantage of any meals that were paid for. We feel that perhaps, a voucher system of issuing numbered meal tickets when checked in would have been less confusing. The customer would then have the option of spending the voucher or not. We found the room acceptable, but we found the Bathroom a little cramped.

Reviewed by
Maria Stuart

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definitely be back.
Only one problem. The 24 hour Room Service does not do meals after 11pm, only snacks. However, their room menu does not indicate this. There are stars against some items but this is not explained. Food is limited to only Pizzas and chips!
We had to eat at the bar as they have a 24 hour menu that includes sandwiches, burgers etc.

Reviewed by
Patricia M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

two nights without the children...
This was a great place to stay for a couple of nights as a base for wandering around Covent Garden and the West End - some easy eateries nearby and a 10 minute stroll into theatreland. Didn't use the spa which looks great from the photos - quite formal professional efficient service and smart rooms. some traffic noise from the junction but nothing to disturb.

Reviewed by
Jonathan C

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in a great location
My main reason for booking this hotel - apart from having stayed here before - was the location and the facilities - there's a reasonably sized pool & gym in the basement, which isn't that common in this price range.
The hotel location is perfect, only a 10 minute walk from Covent Garden.
The room sizes are average, plenty of wardrobe space, an ironing board, iron, trouser press & hairdryer are all there & ready to use.
The decor needs attention, it looks slightly tired, but on the whole isn't too bad.
The only downside was the cost of breakfast - £22 each for an English breakfast. I skipped that option, and had a fantastic cooked breakfast a few doors up the road for £16 - for both of us!!!
I would stay here again though - definitely.

Reviewed by
Brendan F

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, good price room but expensive breakfast!
Great location, room was spacious for the money although it was a corner room so perhaps we were lucky. We didn't try breakfast as it was expensive compared to the price of the room. Didn't try the pool or spa either.

Reviewed by
Gordon W

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Lovely hotel very well positioned

Reviewed by
karen r

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good sized room with attractive fittings. Well arranged other than bathroom being right beside bed - not ideal at night! Friendly atmosphere and staff were keen to help with taxi, luggage etc. Bar area was very attractive with lots seating, although maybe could do with some cushions for comfort. Barman was attentive and as we were in a hurry to catch a show, was quick to serve.

Reviewed by
A Young

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
We got upgraded to a suite, it was a nice surprise & made our stay even better. Would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
A Rolfe

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grange Hotel Holborn
The hotel was a wonderful place to stay. The staff were attentive and polite. The room was beautiful, spacious and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was amazing! The pool area was relaxing. We will definitely consider this hotel in the future.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Moore

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next