No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mount Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Mount Road Tettenhall Wood, Wolverhampton, WV6 8HL
Located in Tettenhall Wood Wolverhampton, with easy access to motorway links and only 17 miles from Birmingham. Set in 4 acres of manicured gardens and ornamental woodland, with free High speed WiFi and ample free parking, this hotel is somewhere very special with a wealth of character and charm. A 19th Century manor House originally built in 1865 which still retains many of its original features including the rosewood panelled Great Hall and elegant staircase and has recently benefitted from the addition of a state of the art conference centre. The hotel also now offers an ATM cash machine for your convenience.

There are 65 bedrooms located in the renovated Grade II listed stables, the main house and the custom built wing. All rooms are elegantly styled and furnished in keeping with the ambience of the hotel, including all modern facilities like free high speed Wi-Fi, direct dial telephone, 32" flat screen tv with freeview, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities, full en-suite facilities and 24 hour room service. Deluxe rooms have been recently completely refurbished in 2013.

The newly refurbished bar & grill, The Drawing Room, is set on the edge of the Mount overlooking its beautifully kept gardens and has been designed to be traditional yet contemporary. An Award winning head chef has been taken on to manage the Grill, serving traditional grill food with a redefining twist. Whether you are looking for a quick bite at the bar, exquisite afternoon tea in the lounge or a fantastic dinner in our restaurant you will not be left disappointed. An array of wines and cocktails will also be available at Wolverhamptons premier dining spot.

Wolverhampton is the gateway between the historic Black Country and the beautiful countryside of Shropshire and Staffordshire. Boasting a vibrant mix, by day the city is a lively and attractive centre for shopping, culture and commerce. By night it’s a haven for evening entertainment with numerous bars, restaurant, theatres and concert venues. Sports fans can enjoy football at Molineux Stadium, home of Wolverhampton Wanderers, or spend a day at the races – horses, greyhounds and speedway. For those who prefer a quieter time, why not visit the innovative, expanding art gallery or relax in one of the many restaurants, cafes and wine bars. Wolverhampton lies in the heart of the motorway and rail networks, in easy reach from anywhere in the UK and an excellent base for exploring the Midlands.

For directions please use Dippons Drive WV6 8HJ This will bring you directly to the hotel.
Picture of The Mount Hotel, Wolverhampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Waited for over 15 minutes to get a drink at the bar, not acknowledged by the staff. Only 2 staff to man the bar and wait at the tables, whilst receptionist had nothing to do.
After waiting another 10 minutes for my food order to be taken, I chose the Sirloin Steak only to be told after another 10 minutes that they had run out of these and I could have a Ribeye Steak as it was only £2.00 more expensive, they wouldn't give it to me for the same price, poor!
Breakfast not good, service was poor.
TV remote didn't work, and TV kept going onto stand by.

Reviewed by
A Odell-Rourke

From Chatteris, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room was depressing to say the least the bathroom was appalling visible mould in shower not good
Our room was depressing to say the least the bathroom was appalling visible mould in shower not good
Staff were very friendly though the morning breakfast waitresses were lovley and very helpful

Reviewed by
S ROBINSON

From WOLVERHAMPTON, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great clean room, Wifi was working great, it was thick snow outside so i was hoping the heating was working properly which it was.
I stayed here as i was away on business, i would stay here again
Breakfast was superb !

Reviewed by
Will Scotson

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab place!
Great hotel and friendly staff. Bar food was very nice and tasty, a little but pricey but worth it. The bedroom was quite spacious and very clean. Fab choice of breakfast's.
Overall, a great 3 night stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. However, the postcode to find the hotel is incorrect..it should be WV6 8HJ and the the music in the bar area is disgraceful. It needs updating.

Reviewed by
Russell D

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small room but beautiful hotel
Our room was pleasant but rather small. If anyone used the bathroom around us in adjacent rooms it was extremely noisy. It woke us up.
The hotel is beautiful and has some lovely features. The restaurant has lovely views and is quite stunning.
The food was good but very expensive. One coffee with cream was £4.95! One gin and tonic £4.70!
Even the bar food was very expensive.

Reviewed by
d brett

From Ringwood, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

for £70 a night the room is not worth it
There are some rooms which have not be refurbished (on the ground floor towards the back) these rooms are expensive for what you get. they are damp, smell of smoke. The furniture is old and beds soft, so not a great nights sleep.
we were in a gorup and some people got nicer rooms that had been refurbed, this was upstairs in the main area, but were also charged the same price.
the Mount should really address the prices depending on the room type and after my saty there I would not be recommending this place a venue to place to stay.

Reviewed by
Joanna H

From London, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay after a diiner
Great atmosphere in the main hall.
Room was adequate, but a bit dated and tired.

Reviewed by
Adrian T

From Shifnal, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful building but very tired rooms in need of an update
We were very impressed with the exterior and communal areas of the hotel. It is a beautiful building with a grand central area and staircase. The reception staff were welcoming and friendly and the bar staff dealt admirably with both a wedding party and a large masked ball, which descended upon them at the same time on the Saturday evening.
The rooms were a bit of a let down. Ours was a good size but the fixtures and fittings were tired and the bathroom resembled the one in my halls of residence at uni, with a shower that barely dribbled.
If the rooms were given a face lift, this could be a really lovely hotel.

Reviewed by
Celine T

From London, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

At this price? Great value!
The Mount Hotel is a beautiful, generally well maintained, grand old building steeped in history with a very welcoming reception area and very helpful, courteous staff.
The general ambience is exactly what I expected from a hotel of this nature, classic decor and furnishings and well presented and efficient staff .
The room itself was a little small and the furnishings (free standing wardrobe, fixed desk with swivel chair and easy chair) did little to help make the best of the space available. The room however was generally clean (my missus spotted a couple of cobwebs in the ceiling corners but then she spots dust at a thousand paces) and everything worked fine with ample coffee, tea sachets etc.
The bed was well made with the usual crisp white sheets but the mattress was a little lumpy, it didn't stop me sleeping though and was generally very comfortable. One minor point that could have been annoying was that the bed was made up with two pillows but only one spare pillow in the wardrobe. This was not a problem for me as I don't usually use an extra pillow but if you did and hadn't found this fact out until you retired to bed you would be left to put up without or have to ring down for an extra which i have no doubt would have been happily provided.
Next morning, breakfast was served in the Great Hall which was indeed Great! Beautiful grand oak paneling with carved oak spindles and newels around the gallery and high ornate ceilings and chandeliers, Oh, and breakfast was pretty good too!
All in all a great hotel and at the price we paid certainly no grounds for complaint

Reviewed by
R Sargeant

From Hinckley, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely property loved the old look

Reviewed by
June Anderson

From Glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in November 2012

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next