No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - MERCURE SWANSEA HOTEL

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Phoenix Way , Swansea, SA7 9EG
Enjoy the tranquil lake views at the Mercure Swansea Hotel, a gateway to the Brecon Beacons and Gower Peninsula. This 3 star Swansea hotel is set in landscaped grounds, 5 km from Swansea city centre. Internet access and satellite TV are available in the 119 contemporary rooms. The Brasserie and Bar welcome you after a day exploring the countryside. Wind down in the indoor heated pool or work out in the fitness centre. 9 flexible meeting rooms welcome up to 100 delegates or guests.
Picture of MERCURE SWANSEA HOTEL, Swansea at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional for a brief stay
We stayed here on a Friday night in August as we were attending a wedding in Swansea the following day.
Check in on arrival was very quick and the lady we dealt with extremely helpful. We asked if we could extend our check out time on the Saturday and this was no problem at all. Minor point, there was no mention of breakfast times the following morning or where breakfast would be served. Not the end of the world though!
Our room was clean but exceptionally dated and very mismatched. The bed was small (think it was a double?) which when most people have something bigger at home was a disappointment. The furniture was old and cheap looking and the bathroom clean but dark and again very dated. The toilet took ages to fill to flush which we soon discovered to be a theme running through the hotel.
Breakfast the next morning was chaotic to say the least and the service disappointing. There was a decent choice of fresh fruit and pastries but we have to say, you let yourself down with the sausages!!!!! Also it was a warm day, why not open the doors onto the patio area so people could sit outside? Even opening the windows would have been nice!
The swimming pool (in keeping with the hotel) was also dated and quite dark but (in keeping with the hotel!) very clean.
In summary the hotel is functional, I would be disappointed if I had booked it for a luxury break. It felt a bit like Alan Partridges Travel Tavern!

Reviewed by
Vikki T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay, highly recommended

Reviewed by
Graham D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somewhat tired
A very basic room which was tired - in need of an overhaul - comfortable bed. Bathroom was functional. Overall a 4 night stay which was rather depressing.

Reviewed by
L Hayes

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel mercure, swansea
Good honest value with very friendly staff, only let down was a long wait for dinner - but then they were busy and I wasn't in a hurry. Breakfast was a little steep at £10, but nothing wrong with the quality

Reviewed by
Steve W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
On a positive note the two mêmbers of staff I met very very niçe and very helpful.
However, the room smelt musty, a smell which did not go when the window was left open.
I booked at this hôtel as I like to swim when away, Sadly the pool looks nothing like the photo. It seemed fairly full with 5 people in it, and so swimming lengths would be difficult.
The pool area also had the same smell as the room. The area looked run down, as did the changing room where paint was peeling from the walls and the pipe work was rusting.
Needless to say I didnt swimming, which was very disappointing as the prospects of a swim was what had kept me going on a journey from Surrey that took a very long time due to weather conditions.
I could hâve stayed at a régular B+B and saved quite a bit of money.

Reviewed by
Bridget C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

don't stay here
Failed to allocate a room away from road and stairs as requested. Allowed a stag party to be held at the hotel. Kept us awake all night. Breakfast too expensive so had to go to Morrison's. Room did not have air con or sufficient air flow as couldn't open window due to road noise. Manager refused to refund any money insisting that it couldn't be done.

Reviewed by
g clark

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swansea Mercure
We came to Swansea so that we could see the Dylan Thomas Centre and visit the Mumbles.
We were disappointed the hotel was so far out of the centre but it was nice and quiet.
the room was high quality with good quality fixtures and fittings and a super comfy bed.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The entrance lobby of the hotel was very attractive with the big artificial fire and comfortably armchairs and the wide, welcoming bar.
I was disappointed there were no local touches to tone down the overall very corporate feel - i.e . no pictures of Dylan or local places.

Reviewed by
p heawood

From brighton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Trip
Thought the hotel was really comfortable, all the staff were genuinely welcoming and pleasant.

Reviewed by
L Kay

From Stovkport, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, friendly hotel
I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last month and as a lone female traveller I have found the Mercure Swansea to be friendly, comfortable and secure. The food is on the whole good though the desserts would be much improved if they were home made and not bought in.

Reviewed by
J Lloyd

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value for money
My husband and I stayed here for 1 night. The hotel itself was a little further out of town than we expected but to be honest for 1-2 nights it's fine.
The hotel staff we encountered were all very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere of the place is really nice and very chilled. Unfortunately we did not take advantage of the leisure facilities but they did look lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
C White

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next