No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - MERCURE SWANSEA HOTEL

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Phoenix Way , Swansea, SA7 9EG
Enjoy the tranquil lake views at the Mercure Swansea Hotel, a gateway to the Brecon Beacons and Gower Peninsula. This 3 star Swansea hotel is set in landscaped grounds, 5 km from Swansea city centre. Internet access and satellite TV are available in the 119 contemporary rooms. The Brasserie and Bar welcome you after a day exploring the countryside. Wind down in the indoor heated pool or work out in the fitness centre. 9 flexible meeting rooms welcome up to 100 delegates or guests.
Picture of MERCURE SWANSEA HOTEL, Swansea at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed every minute.
Went for a night away with my partner, the pool was heated & gorgeous, the sauna was clean relaxing, the room was tidy and the space and equipment for use and all the favours are generous. Right in between two retail parks & 15 minutes away from the town centre! Perfect location! Breakfast was overpriced but overall I would recommend this hotel to everyone who would want to visit swansea! Fab!

Reviewed by
C Williams

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay
A good stay, pleasant staff, a very quiet room on request and a good breakfast. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Howard P

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly but a bit tired
A friendly hotel in a very convenient location near M4, but the fabric is a bit tired. Three key cards stopped working while we were there!

Reviewed by
John G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced and dated!!
We have stayed in multiple Mercure hotels in the past and the standard has generally been pretty good. Unfortunately on this occasion, the Mercure Swansea Hotel is in need of serious modernisation and better cleaning standards. This hotel for me would fit into the £35- £45 a night price bracket and not the current £75 that we paid. Also, breakfast at £10 per person is just ridiculous!!

Reviewed by
Ian J

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a hotel to be overlooked
We had a very nice stay. Attending a wedding but utilising the xtra bank holiday this hotel was perfect. Free wi-fi meant we could lounge, in the lounge, and indulge our free time by relaxing with a drink and social media. All of the staff we encountered were extremely pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was good. Buffet style it offered the usual delights and the bacon and sausages were very good indeed. Scrambled eggs were already available but poached, boiled or fried were available on request - and without any drama.
This is an excellent 3 star hotel with service and amenities only just a shade off 4 stars . Excellent value

Reviewed by
Joanne H

From Newbury, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Functional for a brief stay
We stayed here on a Friday night in August as we were attending a wedding in Swansea the following day.
Check in on arrival was very quick and the lady we dealt with extremely helpful. We asked if we could extend our check out time on the Saturday and this was no problem at all. Minor point, there was no mention of breakfast times the following morning or where breakfast would be served. Not the end of the world though!
Our room was clean but exceptionally dated and very mismatched. The bed was small (think it was a double?) which when most people have something bigger at home was a disappointment. The furniture was old and cheap looking and the bathroom clean but dark and again very dated. The toilet took ages to fill to flush which we soon discovered to be a theme running through the hotel.
Breakfast the next morning was chaotic to say the least and the service disappointing. There was a decent choice of fresh fruit and pastries but we have to say, you let yourself down with the sausages!!!!! Also it was a warm day, why not open the doors onto the patio area so people could sit outside? Even opening the windows would have been nice!
The swimming pool (in keeping with the hotel) was also dated and quite dark but (in keeping with the hotel!) very clean.
In summary the hotel is functional, I would be disappointed if I had booked it for a luxury break. It felt a bit like Alan Partridges Travel Tavern!

Reviewed by
Vikki T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay, highly recommended

Reviewed by
Graham D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Somewhat tired
A very basic room which was tired - in need of an overhaul - comfortable bed. Bathroom was functional. Overall a 4 night stay which was rather depressing.

Reviewed by
L Hayes

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel mercure, swansea
Good honest value with very friendly staff, only let down was a long wait for dinner - but then they were busy and I wasn't in a hurry. Breakfast was a little steep at £10, but nothing wrong with the quality

Reviewed by
Steve W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
On a positive note the two mêmbers of staff I met very very niçe and very helpful.
However, the room smelt musty, a smell which did not go when the window was left open.
I booked at this hôtel as I like to swim when away, Sadly the pool looks nothing like the photo. It seemed fairly full with 5 people in it, and so swimming lengths would be difficult.
The pool area also had the same smell as the room. The area looked run down, as did the changing room where paint was peeling from the walls and the pipe work was rusting.
Needless to say I didnt swimming, which was very disappointing as the prospects of a swim was what had kept me going on a journey from Surrey that took a very long time due to weather conditions.
I could hâve stayed at a régular B+B and saved quite a bit of money.

Reviewed by
Bridget C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next