No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Ansty Hall

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Main Road Ansty, Coventry, CV7 9HZ
Magnificent Grade II listed Georgian House set in 8 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. 62 comfortable bedrooms all complete with modern amenities. Easily accessible, minutes from J2 of M6 , close to M1 , M69 , M40 & M42.

For guests visiting for leisure, the hotel is surrounded by countryside and Combe Park is on its' doorstep. For those wishing to explore further afield, the historic towns of Warwick, Stratford-upon-Avon, Rugby and Royal Leamington Spa are all within a 20 mile radius. Whilst the commercial and exhibition centres are easily reached by road, the City of Coventry Stadium (Ricoh Arena) is only a 10 minutes drive and the hotel is only 12 miles from the National Exhibition Centre (NEC).

The Macdonald Ansty Hall Hotel is extraordinarily attractive with thoughtfully and very individually furnished bedrooms. From most rooms you will wake up to gorgeous views over the rolling Warwickshire countryside. Convenient, yet exclusive, this mellow, red brick house was built in 1678 and is indeed a little bit special. The tastefully furnished bedrooms, complete with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, flatscreen, digital televisions, trouser press and direct dial telephone will leave you with a lasting impression of this hotel’s luxurious accommodation and individuality.

At the Shilton Restaurant you will find hospitality delivered with courtesy by caring staff. A well-stocked wine cellar, combined with a strong emphasis on exceptional seasonal cuisine reflects the freshest seasonal product.
Picture of Macdonald Ansty Hall, Coventry at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Despite a big party/function going on,all staff were attentive thoughtful and helpful.
We had a relaxed and tasty meal and a great nights sleep in a very comfy bed.
Macdonald hotels are known for their breakfasts and ours was no exception before we headed out- we had the best porridge and kippers to date!
This hotel has a lovely and welcoming atmosphere and we enjoyed a lovely walk around the grounds before we left.

Reviewed by
Maria G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good as long as you are just looking for a hotel
It's a bit out of the way and lacks thing to do other than the bar/restaurant.

Reviewed by
Rob D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel in stunning surroundings
A very comfortable stay in a lovely area. The hotel staff are very professional and helpful. We asked about the history of the Hall and the bar man provided a detailed printed description for us to take away. The breakfast waitresses were very attentive and pleasant. The only negative....the hotel room is too hot otherwise I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Reviewed by
Ann M

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel we stayed at on our 2 weeks tour of England.

Reviewed by
Martin C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No sleep at this hotel
Room very hot, no fans available. Windows wide open too noisy from other guests in gardens result very little sleep.No air con

Reviewed by
K Sampson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel and Great Staff
Lovely hotel, great food and staff couldn't do enough to make your stay with them brilliant.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice relaxing stay

Reviewed by
S Doel

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed!
My room wasn't in the impressive hall but a purpose built building around the back. No one offered to help me with my bags (suitcase, dress and coat on a hanger, laptop, folder and handbag). The room had a small window so high up I couldn't see out - very dated decor. TV was very difficult to figure out - could only get the radio to work. Couldn't get the WiFi to work. Room service wanted to charged £5 to deliver a glass of wine and half a bottle of Merlot cost £21.00. So I had to struggle across the car park with all my luggage, a glass and half a bottle of wine. Wake up call was 10 minutes late. Breakfast cost £!7.50 and I received 4 pieces of BLACK burnt toast, a poach egg full of water, a chewy sausage, 1.5 mushrooms, tea that tasted like coffee – best bit was the orange juice. Very disappointing and wouldn't stay again!

Reviewed by
Julie S

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The only comment IU have is that the price quoted for breakfast when I booked was £30 for two. I was charged £35.

Reviewed by
Pauline Parker

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worst wifi ever dont use for business if they put you in the stable block
Lovely room shame it had zero phone signal and terrible wifi a problem compounded by the staff who clearly thought I wanted an upgrade they spent 30 mins arguing that the galaxy s4 phone was a problem then the new kitkat os it wasn't until I told them I had a blackberry and an iphone all on different networks that they did anything and even that was done under duress Overall deeply unimpressed

Reviewed by
S Fairbank

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next