No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Regent By The Lake

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Waterhead , Ambleside, LA22 0ES
This family run Hotel with free parking is on the edge of Lake Windermere, Free WiFi and an excellent local reputation for its food. Dining is a vital part at The Regent Hotel and the head chef combines fresh local produce with traditional Cumbrian influences into a modern British style. All this is complimented by the extensive wine list. There is plenty to see and do in and around the Lakes, such as The Beatrix Potter Museum, Cruises on Lake Windermere, shopping in Ambleside and nearby Bowness, and for the ramblers many pleasant walks around the Fells.
All 30 bedrooms are en-suite and beautifully appointed. Some rooms have a country feel while others are contemporary in style. Whatever your tastes the rooms appeal to all. Please note this hotel is completely non-smoking. If guests smoke in the bedrooms a charge of up to 1 night accommodation may apply.
The restaurant is designed to create a tranquil setting for a pleasant relaxing meal and is guaranteed to suit all with the vast range of seasonal dishes available.
The Lake is right outside the front door from which you can catch a boat across to Bowness on Windermere further down the Lake. The shops of Ambleside are a ten minute stroll away.
Dogs are allowed with an extra cost of £10.

Please note Guests cannot book more than 4 rooms as this goes against our group bookings policy.

Picture of Regent By The Lake, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice greeting on arrival friendly staff very good rooms food good would stay there again

Reviewed by
A Ayres

From Uckfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just right
The Regent is in a prime location just over the road from Waterhead Pier and a few minutes walk from Ambleside centre. It's tastefully decorated in a modern style. The staff were a credit - all helpful and friendly. And what an amazing breakfast. I never usually bother with cooked breakfasts but it was impossible to resist. The bedroom was a good size, again with pleasantly modern decor. A bath would have been nice instead of just a shower, and the television was too small (not that you go away to watch TV but after a strenuous day it's good to wind down with a movie) but these are minor niggles and hardly worthy of mention. Overall a very good choice.

Reviewed by
Giles H

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Word Fandabidozi
From walking through the door to Reception you are made welcome the Staff are brilliant and know how to look after you and make you feel wanted
It's just over 12 months since we last stayed in the Regent hasn't been for the want of trying they have just been full at the time we wanted Still came over the Lakes and stayed in three other places two of which were very good the other who shall remain nameless was abysmal
Can't wait to go back just hope it's sooner rather than later
Also dog friendly which is a great help and ideally located for touring and is very close to the Ferry Landing

Reviewed by
peter s

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb !
staff amazing pleasant helpful totally relaxing weekend lovely room amazing food we will be back

Reviewed by
P Brown

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what we liked what we didn't
One thing that we really liked was the fact that you had a chance to eat breakfast right up till 12 oclock which ment that there was no rush in the morning. What we didn't like was the restaurant choices. We would have eaten in there but we don't like horseradish mash or apricots in cooking and so on. The breakfasts we had were lovely so I would say that the restaurant food would have been good also.

Reviewed by
Tracey S

From Marlborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality hotel with super food
Stayed for two nights the rooms are nicely decorated and very clean, good sized bathroom. Nice lounge and bar area, breakfast choice is great and good quality, had an evening meal which was on par for any decent resturant staff very attentive , would highly recommend and book again

Reviewed by
John E

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely mini-break
My daughter and I decided to stay here for a quiet few days.What a great location ! .The hospitality and service was second to none.Our room was excellent ,although a little on the cold side at times, and the food was superb. A great idea to serve breakfast until mid-day. It meant that we could have an early stroll in the mornings and work up an appetite.Definetly a place we will be going back to. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Ann B

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great discovery
We booked regular double rooms on 2nd floor which where nice & adequate for out stay but next time will go for a more superior room in the courtyard. Hotel has lovely décor, is very comfortable & clean. Staff where all very helpful & friendly & the food was excellent.

Reviewed by
w routledge

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay here, hotel in great location. Very good breakfast menu and evening meals, ate in 4 nights out of 5.

Reviewed by
Pauline H

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel in great area and easy to find
Accommodation kept really clean and tidy. Meal prices average for this area. Quality of food very good but service could be improved. Overall a nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
Hugh S

From Dalry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next