No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Regent By The Lake

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Waterhead , Ambleside, LA22 0ES
This family run Hotel with free parking is on the edge of Lake Windermere, Free WiFi and an excellent local reputation for its food. Dining is a vital part at The Regent Hotel and the head chef combines fresh local produce with traditional Cumbrian influences into a modern British style. All this is complimented by the extensive wine list. There is plenty to see and do in and around the Lakes, such as The Beatrix Potter Museum, Cruises on Lake Windermere, shopping in Ambleside and nearby Bowness, and for the ramblers many pleasant walks around the Fells.
All 30 bedrooms are en-suite and beautifully appointed. Some rooms have a country feel while others are contemporary in style. Whatever your tastes the rooms appeal to all. Please note this hotel is completely non-smoking. If guests smoke in the bedrooms a charge of up to 1 night accommodation may apply.
The restaurant is designed to create a tranquil setting for a pleasant relaxing meal and is guaranteed to suit all with the vast range of seasonal dishes available.
The Lake is right outside the front door from which you can catch a boat across to Bowness on Windermere further down the Lake. The shops of Ambleside are a ten minute stroll away.
Dogs are allowed with an extra cost of £10.

Please note Guests cannot book more than 4 rooms as this goes against our group bookings policy.

Picture of Regent By The Lake, Ambleside at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed our stay here, hotel in great location. Very good breakfast menu and evening meals, ate in 4 nights out of 5.

Reviewed by
Pauline H

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel in great area and easy to find
Accommodation kept really clean and tidy. Meal prices average for this area. Quality of food very good but service could be improved. Overall a nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
Hugh S

From Dalry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room, very clean

Reviewed by
michael m

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, great hotel
From the very friendly staff when we turned up, to the fabulous location, this is a great hotel just a 10 minute walk from Ambleside centre and when sitting in the small garden, it overlooks lake windermere.
Definitely stay here again!

Reviewed by
David B

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room with a view
We had a very enjoyable few days in the Regent Hotel. I requested a room with a lake view and that is what we got. It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was superb. The staff were friendly and attentive. The evening meals were good and the wine very reasonable. As we left, we said we stay again. We considered we had good value for the money we paid.

Reviewed by
Christine D

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very helpful. .... Jason you're a star! ! He went that extra mile n was very helpful in suggesting where to fish n find a particular place that we were determined to find.

Reviewed by
Jasminder B

From Feltham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent weekend
We stayed for in a garden room which was fine if a little pricey. It was well situated to watch the constant downpour that was the weekend's weather - it was August in the Lake District after all. What stood out as exceptional was the friendliness of the staff and the service.

Reviewed by
E Sherwood

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We'll situated 10 minute walk in to town

Reviewed by
K Stewart

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service excellent
I recentoy stayed at the Regent hotel with my elderley parents and brother. I routinely stay away on company business 40% of the year and stay in very nice hotels. I found the staff at this hotel amazingly genuine and freindly. Location was excellent by the lake and the food was as good as anyhwre else in Ambleside. Breakfast was served until 12 with a huge range of options. Much nicer than a buffet.

Reviewed by
paul M

From kirkella, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food, service, convenient for everything.

Reviewed by
Deborah P

From England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next