You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa

4

Palace Road, Buxton, SK17 6AG

Price From 88.41 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (59)

68% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • I Gunn

  • August 2016

The Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa

Nice building but a little rough around the edges.

  • Andy B

  • August 2016

Mostly impressive stay.

Positives - excellent and helpful receptionists, fabulous setting, great location, quiet rooms, decent swimming pool.

Areas for improvement - wifi has to work in the whole hotel; car park charge £4.50 per night is harsh when spending £00s on hotel anyway.

  • Peter W

  • July 2016

Church Bells

The hotel is next to a church, the bells of which rang on the hour even through the night.

A/C in the rooms would be good, particularly in summer. Also a fridge in the room would be good. Very nice hotel though.

  • kim warren

  • July 2016

Beautiful hotel, slightly grubby

Our room was grubby with a fault on the bathroom extractor.

The constant drone of the extractor kept us awake, despite three comments to the 'duty manager' we have had no response from the hotel regarding the problem. The staff there work very hard and are very pleasant, but do not appear to have support from authority. Really disappointed, as the hotel is beautiful and in a great location. Simply not worth a price tag of over £100 for a bad night's sleep and very average breakfast.

  • Jennifer W

  • June 2016

Palace Hotel

Great location.

  • Claire W

  • May 2016

Excellent stay, highly recommend staying here!

beautiful hotel, excellent staff and a brilliant stay overall.

I would highly reccomend staying here and would definitely be staying here again if back in the area. It was excellent value for money, especially being able to use the hotel facilities such as the swimming pool and sauna as an inclusive with the price. The standard compact double room was far from compact, excellent en suite and a huge bed.

Highly reccomend staying here.

  • R Reynolds

  • May 2016

Wonderful Stay- spacious and comfortable

Reading previous reviews I was cautious but so glad I ignored them.

A lovely old hotel with more than a touch of grandeur. Sure she has lost a little shine around the edges but thats not the purpose of these hotels. Its a return to a different age when a hotel wasn't just a bed for the night, it was an experience. Great to stay in a hotel that understand the need for space - it not just about how many rooms you can cram in per m2. Nice to see workmen busy with regular maintenance to keep things tidy, Very helpful friendly staff at reception the bar, dining room and gym. Food tasty and generous proportions - no complaints. Just don't forget to book in for dinner

  • N White

  • May 2016

Nice Hotel, let down by the Breakfast

I found the Hotel very pleasant and was upgraded on arrival to an executive suite with a stunning view of the town.

Staff were friendly and helpful through out our stay- I can't fault them in any way. The Hotel is slightly dated, but clean and impressive in scale and very well located. We paid £249 for 2 nights with breakfast, which is quite a lot, although generally speaking, I was very happy until the following mornings breakfast. The Breakfast seems to be the only thing that really lets the hotel down, it is very limited and there is not enough to go around, with items and crockery constantly running out. I would like to stress that the staff seem to be trying their best, it's more about the food selection and what is available. A very limited English Fry up with the usual combinations, a limited amount of watery yoghurt with some tinned fruit and sliced bread. An occasional fresh Olive Loaf and some Fresh Water Melon slices were the only healthy/ fresh things available. I've stayed in Hotels all over the World and all over the UK and I think this is close to the worst breakfast offering I have ever seen. It really was poor, I feel like some kind of food snob, but it was akin to a 1970's seaside B & B offering. Times have moved on and for that amount of money I think the Britannia Group seriously needs to do better. My Aunt and Uncle also stayed at the Hotel for several nights at the same time and were down for breakfast as it opened and experienced the same problems. The last thing I would like to take issue with is charging guests £4.50 to use the Hotel car park. Really. £249 isn't enough to let me park in the very large car park outside the front of the Hotel. There must be a better way than this.

  • Frank V

  • May 2016

The space in the hotel is amazing

Ceiling heights are amazing so are room sizes.

The hotel was warm & comfortable even though the weather outside was damp & cold.

  • Katie D

  • May 2016

Stunning setting shame about the heating system

Beautiful setting, staff were lovely and friendly, enjoyed the health suite and the amazing architecture.

The room was lovely although a bit tatty... But... Oh the heating. On a day of 0• and snow on the ground the room was ridiculasly warm, despite the radiator being turned low and the window open and across the room went, what I can only assume was heating pipes which rattled and bubbled away from 4am keeping us awake and at times thinking the ceiling would collapse. This coupled with inadequate sound proofing- you could clearly hear the conversations of the guests outside the room. Would return as beautiful but wish never to stay on that room again!