You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa

4

Palace Road, Buxton, SK17 6AG

Price From 133.84 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (61)

70% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Gail D

  • September 2016

Compact

We stayed in what was described as a compact room.

Very small might have been a better description. Whilst the room was modern and clean it was pared to the bone. Toiletries, smallest piece of soap and body lotion, no shower gel or shampoo. No biscuits on tea tray. No telephone, so when no hot water for shower had to get dressed and go down three floors to tell staff. Did not think £99.0 value for money for room only.

On the plus side, staff fantastic and helpful. The hotel bar and restaurant area beautiful. Breakfast given in compensation.

  • chris n

  • September 2016

Very dated and over priced for the standard of room

Only positive was the staff who were very friendly and helpful

  • Kaye S

  • September 2016

Standard room was pretty decent!

Lovely hotel with beautiful decor.

Standard room was a fair size, not exactly cramped. In a great location.

  • Alison T

  • September 2016

Enjoyable but some improvements would help

Our stay was enjoyable, staff were polite and customer service was generally good Although it would have been nice to have been informed where things were in the pool and gym, on arrival.

Also it would have been nice to have been asked if we enjoyed our stay which we did. However, the bed was extremely uncomfortable and I think the mattress could definitely do with updating!.

Good points though the hotel and room were clean and staff were friendly and polite

  • Lyndsey B

  • August 2016

Good deal

We went with a small double room and it was a little larger than I anticipated.

It was clean the views were great . I didn't use the shower as I used the pool every day and the showers down there .

All the reviews were about the hotel needing a refurb . I loved it's old world charm there were bits here and there that needed attention but it's such a massive building I think this is inevitable. I could picture all the spa goers staying there.

Also Buxton is beautiful and the locals are sooo friendly .

  • S Short

  • August 2016

Great Stay

The only down side would be the coach that started at 0650 outside the window

  • I Gunn

  • August 2016

The Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa

Nice building but a little rough around the edges.

  • Andy B

  • August 2016

Mostly impressive stay.

Positives - excellent and helpful receptionists, fabulous setting, great location, quiet rooms, decent swimming pool.

Areas for improvement - wifi has to work in the whole hotel; car park charge £4.50 per night is harsh when spending £00s on hotel anyway.

  • Peter W

  • July 2016

Church Bells

The hotel is next to a church, the bells of which rang on the hour even through the night.

A/C in the rooms would be good, particularly in summer. Also a fridge in the room would be good. Very nice hotel though.

  • kim warren

  • July 2016

Beautiful hotel, slightly grubby

Our room was grubby with a fault on the bathroom extractor.

The constant drone of the extractor kept us awake, despite three comments to the 'duty manager' we have had no response from the hotel regarding the problem. The staff there work very hard and are very pleasant, but do not appear to have support from authority. Really disappointed, as the hotel is beautiful and in a great location. Simply not worth a price tag of over £100 for a bad night's sleep and very average breakfast.