Reviews - Palace Hotel


Palace Road, Buxton, SK17 6AG

Price From 81.47 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (57)

58% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • andy b

  • November 2015

nice weekend stay

very pleasant

  • Marie H

  • November 2015

Loved it!

Went to hotel for a wedding.

Shared a twin room with a friend. Bed was very comfy and bathroom was large and clean. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

  • B Howard

  • November 2015

The Good Old Days.

A beautifully grand building, yet very warm, friendly and cosy.

  • S Snushall

  • November 2015

Very grand exterior and public areas, rooms a little dated

We enjoyed our stay at the Palace.

We were given a card to access the room but there was no card machine on the door and we had to return to reception to get this replaced with a key. Payment of £4.50 per day while not excessive was a cost which was not really essential as the town had sufficient parking. Breakfast was good, self service, but service itself was rather lacking, we were not taken to a table or informed that it was self service. I went to a table and sat down expecting a waiter to ask if we wanted tea or coffee. While a waiter cleared both tables either side of me he did not ask for our order or inform me the coffee and tea were in fact on the service area in thermostatic jugs.

  • Jody S

  • November 2015

Lovely location - awful customer service & hidden fees

I booked the Palace Hotel for a night away.

On arrival customer service was non existent and the room was not as expected. When I reported to the desk that we had to mend the bedside lamp in our room as it was not in one piece and that we had had to deal with excrement that had not been flushed away in our 'cleaned' room, we were met with the response, " have you sorted it or do we need to do something?" Not even an apology.

On leaving the hotel next day, we were then informed we need to pay £4.50 to get out of there car park. At no point were we informed of this. It felt like being held to ransom.

Overall the hotel is in a lovely location and is a lovely building. We did make use of the spa/gym facilities, and these were as expected for a hotel spa, and was very clean and relaxing. A shame as this should have been a relaxing break, that was spoilt

  • Steve D

  • October 2015

Information on arrival

No information was given to us except the floor location of the room and the whereabouts of the lift.

I asked if breakfast was included in the price and we were informed it was not so I expected a charge added at checkout however it was not so was included in the price. I also had to ask where breakfast is taken. No information was give for parking arrangements nor what we should do to exit the automatic barrier controlled area, we also had to ask if we needed anything to leave as we checked out and we were given a card to put into the machine. I feel this is information should be offered as standard about breakfast (and correctly) and given if asked if you have a car. It was also apparent that there is a charge for parking but and although I paid nothing I don't know when this charge becomes payable and the duration applicable the only signage informs you of the cost only. The location of the TV in the room we were in is not ideal but im not complaining of this fact. but On a good note the hotel architecture is stunning.

  • Mark A

  • October 2015

Nice hotel!

Friendly staff, comfortable room, great breakfast!

  • Jodie E

  • September 2015

Disappointing room, fantastic breakfast.

It's a large hotel and was busy dealing with a wedding party when we arrived for check in.

It seemed as though we'd booked one of the last rooms according to the Internet and it certainly felt that way when we found ourselves walking down an endless corridor to end up through the fire escape doors to a room built into the back stairs. It was spacious enough but felt cold and drab and the bathroom facilities in particular felt dated (on flushing the toilet there was a loud buzzing noise that went on for at least 5 minutes). But we weren't particularly troubled only using it as a base to sleep in although we didn't feel it was worth the £100 we'd paid let alone the £149 it had been reduced from as a late booking. We had to pay extra for breakfast at a total of £19 for the two of us, however this was a real strength of the hotel's and a real highlight that was worth the money. If the rooms were cheaper / of a higher standard (and there may well be those that are) we would stay again but based on the room we had and the amount we paid I wouldn't repeat the experience.

  • P McDonald

  • September 2015

market trip

Thoroughly misled.

1 stall only. Internet site said 50/70 stalls. Hotel spacious and clean room. TV good had text for my husband, comfy bed, food good, breakfasts excellent, staff very helpful. View from room lovely until fog came down. Heating couldn't turn off but window worked. Would definitely stay again. Suggest you could add another lift though especially for coach parties. Loved the hotel location and atmosphere.

  • P Evison

  • August 2015

Checking in was not a very friendly experience and hence a poor start to the short stay.

I can appreciate the need for a prescribed time period for checking in but to display a notice showing additional charges for checking in outside the standard time is not a good idea. Bins in bed room and bath room had not been emptied prior to our arrival.