No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - MERCURE LONDON WATFORD HOTEL

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
A41 Watford Bypass, Watford, WD25 8JH
The 3 star Mercure London Watford Hotel is located on the outskirts of London. This stylish Watford hotel is close to the M1, M25 and A1M Motorways and handy for London Luton and London Heathrow Airports. The 218 rooms all have internet access and satellite TV, and The Brasserie and The Bar offer a wide selection of tempting food and drink. The hotel has an indoor heated pool and a fitness centre for working out. 14 versatile meeting rooms can hold up to 20 people..
Picture of MERCURE LONDON WATFORD HOTEL, Watford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super comfy beds!
Stayed for 1 night with my 21 year old daughter after visiting the Harry Potter studios. Room was a little bit tired looking, but for our needs it was fine. Most importantly the beds and pillows were super comfortable. And of course the pool was an added bonus- swam before leaving on the Sunday morning and it was clean and quiet. Would stay there again.

Reviewed by
J Bull

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor quality room
The room was disgusting ver, very poor quality. Stained toilet, mildew bathroom.
staff were efficient, breakfast was good quality.

Reviewed by
carolyn vale

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Would have liked to have had some drawers to store clothes rather than open shelving. You need a taxi to get to nearest train station (I should have researched this).

Reviewed by
J Craig

From ABERDEEN, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Nigh Stay
We booked to stay here because we were attending a party. The hotel decor is tired and shabby looking, the corridor carpets are threadbare and the woodwork chipped.
The room itself had lovely fresh bedding however the decor was shabby. The curtains were threadbare and see through, the toilet was wallpapered which was dirty with evidence of a squashed daddy long legs which showed how well it had been cleaned. The bathroom didn't have a door on it to separate it from the main room, when using the toilet there was only a glass panel shower door to separate you from anyone walking past. The bathroom floor despite being tiled and should have been easy clean had obvious splatter marks on it. Tired decor is acceptable for a budget hotel however the cleanliness of it wasn't up to any standards.

Reviewed by
tracy l

From Clacton on Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hot and cold
I have been staying at this hotel for over 15 years on and off. This stay found me in the back rooms overlooking the 5 a side pitch which was extremely noisy unitl 9pm. the 2 single beds(put together as a double) were very bumpy and there was no iron or hair dryer. the carpet has seen better days and furniture decor was very tired all for the princely sum of £135 for the night......shameful

Reviewed by
r jones

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old, Dated and no better than a budget hotel
I booked this hotel as the website made it look very good but I was very disappointed when I arrived, The photographer that took the website images deserves a prize! the hotel looks like its in dire need of a refit, the rooms were dark and dingy, the gym was appalling, a few machines were not working and those that were squeaked and were generally of poor quality, the food was good but not great but all in all it was poor value for money and I wished i had booked a premier inn or a travel lodge, they would have been half the price and a nicer experience

Reviewed by
Huw P

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No bathroom door!
Upon arrival at the hotel, I remarked how the hotel looked like old Student accommodation, the pictures are definitely taken from the most flattering angle.
There was no one on reception, after a short wait I saw the receptionist returning to behind the desk.
She didn't make eye contact through the check-in process, just asked me to sign a document quickly, before giving poor instructions on how to find our room.
It took us at least 5 minutes to walk to our room, along several very long corridors and stairs.
On entering the room, I thought the bed looked comfy and large, and the room generally clean.
My horror, however came when I went to the toilet, I walked into the bathroom, expecting to shut the door behind me, only to find there was one! Instead of having a bathroom door, there is 'partially' frosted glass for both the shower and toilet.
The problems with the frosted glass doors were;
They didn't cover what you'd like whilst sat using the toilet,
Due to the placement of a mirror in the bedroom, the other person can see inside the bathroom at all times! Very uncomfortable for even the closest couples!
We went down to the bar for food, to find a brief menu offering burgers, pizzas, and main meals.
I ordered a burger which set me back £14.95, and only managed to finish around a third of it. The burger was very hard to chew, without much taste, and the chips were mostly under cooked.
The meal for 2, with drinks came to £70, massively over priced for what we had, and equalled the price of the room!
To conclude, this hotel didn't provide; friendly service, good food, privacy, or an aesthetically pleasing exterior. It did however, have comfortable bed- the only redeeming feature!

Reviewed by
E Thomas

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London Stay
Great hotel close to both Harry Potter World and Roald Dahl museum. The food was excellent. We enjoyed the pool/sauna and steam room. Only one negative was hotel room having no door into bathroom. Glazed partially obscure glass door on shower and separate toilet but no door between these and bedroom so this afforded little privacy.

Reviewed by
C Lane

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient, comfortable, good value
Stopped here on a Saturday night as a base to visit family and to travel into London. I had originally tried to book a Premier Inn but could not find one close enough. I found the Mercure London Watford on Late Rooms and liked the look of the place and the cost of the room.
I've got to say I was impressed and would recommend the hotel without a doubt. The check-in process was fast, efficient and dealt with by a very cheerful member of staff. The reception area and approach to the hotel were welcoming.
My room was comfortable, clean and quiet, despite the hotel being located near to a dual carriageway. The bed was large with a very comfortable, firm mattress; the pillows were excellent
There was a fire alarm just after midnight - the alarm was clearly audible and the signs for the escape routes were easy to follow. The on-duty manager quickly gave assurance that it was a false alarm and gave sufficient information to reassure those guests who had questions.
I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again when I am next in the area.

Reviewed by
Michael Williams

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Showtime
Perfect nights stayover

Reviewed by
Peter Brown

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next