No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - MERCURE LONDON WATFORD HOTEL

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
A41 Watford Bypass, Watford, WD25 8JH
The 3 star Mercure London Watford Hotel is located on the outskirts of London. This stylish Watford hotel is close to the M1, M25 and A1M Motorways and handy for London Luton and London Heathrow Airports. The 218 rooms all have internet access and satellite TV, and The Brasserie and The Bar offer a wide selection of tempting food and drink. The hotel has an indoor heated pool and a fitness centre for working out. 14 versatile meeting rooms can hold up to 20 people..
Picture of MERCURE LONDON WATFORD HOTEL, Watford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No bathroom door!
Upon arrival at the hotel, I remarked how the hotel looked like old Student accommodation, the pictures are definitely taken from the most flattering angle.
There was no one on reception, after a short wait I saw the receptionist returning to behind the desk.
She didn't make eye contact through the check-in process, just asked me to sign a document quickly, before giving poor instructions on how to find our room.
It took us at least 5 minutes to walk to our room, along several very long corridors and stairs.
On entering the room, I thought the bed looked comfy and large, and the room generally clean.
My horror, however came when I went to the toilet, I walked into the bathroom, expecting to shut the door behind me, only to find there was one! Instead of having a bathroom door, there is 'partially' frosted glass for both the shower and toilet.
The problems with the frosted glass doors were;
They didn't cover what you'd like whilst sat using the toilet,
Due to the placement of a mirror in the bedroom, the other person can see inside the bathroom at all times! Very uncomfortable for even the closest couples!
We went down to the bar for food, to find a brief menu offering burgers, pizzas, and main meals.
I ordered a burger which set me back £14.95, and only managed to finish around a third of it. The burger was very hard to chew, without much taste, and the chips were mostly under cooked.
The meal for 2, with drinks came to £70, massively over priced for what we had, and equalled the price of the room!
To conclude, this hotel didn't provide; friendly service, good food, privacy, or an aesthetically pleasing exterior. It did however, have comfortable bed- the only redeeming feature!

Reviewed by
E Thomas

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London Stay
Great hotel close to both Harry Potter World and Roald Dahl museum. The food was excellent. We enjoyed the pool/sauna and steam room. Only one negative was hotel room having no door into bathroom. Glazed partially obscure glass door on shower and separate toilet but no door between these and bedroom so this afforded little privacy.

Reviewed by
C Lane

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient, comfortable, good value
Stopped here on a Saturday night as a base to visit family and to travel into London. I had originally tried to book a Premier Inn but could not find one close enough. I found the Mercure London Watford on Late Rooms and liked the look of the place and the cost of the room.
I've got to say I was impressed and would recommend the hotel without a doubt. The check-in process was fast, efficient and dealt with by a very cheerful member of staff. The reception area and approach to the hotel were welcoming.
My room was comfortable, clean and quiet, despite the hotel being located near to a dual carriageway. The bed was large with a very comfortable, firm mattress; the pillows were excellent
There was a fire alarm just after midnight - the alarm was clearly audible and the signs for the escape routes were easy to follow. The on-duty manager quickly gave assurance that it was a false alarm and gave sufficient information to reassure those guests who had questions.
I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again when I am next in the area.

Reviewed by
Michael Williams

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Showtime
Perfect nights stayover

Reviewed by
Peter Brown

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was very happy with the hotel definatly quality for money!!!

Reviewed by
Elle Herd

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Review
Enjoy staying at hotel room was clean, staff very friendly and overall good value for money

Reviewed by
S Conolly

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was very basic, bed was huge but rock hard!

Reviewed by
N Arnold

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible experience
An hotel not to stay at!

Reviewed by
V Barclay

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

adequate
Room ok,clean and had all necessary equipment.Tea/coffee facilities...really scummy mugs! bed comfortable! Although there was a wedding on the Saturday of arrival and the car park was really full, we could still park and there was no noise that bothered us.Quiet room requested and got!!
Staff, that were there, were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
christine c

From llanbedr, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alright
Hotel had very rude group of guests which ruin our stay and staff on reception didn't get involved to defuse situation as a result of this and not liking the room for the price paid I'm not sure we would stay in this hotel again!!!

Reviewed by
Natalie C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next