No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lace Market Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
29 to 31 High Pavement, Lace Market, Nottingham, NG1 1HE
This historic boutique hotel is set in the heart of Nottinghams Lace Market an area that dates back to the 6th century.

The hotel is set in this vibrant and up beat part of Nottingham just off the main shopping district. Formerly a Georgian Townhouse, the hotel has been refubished to a very high standard. All of the bedrooms have standard features - en suite bathrooms, flat screen television and CD/DVD players, personal bars, hypo allergenic bedding, a desk with two line telephone, voicemail and FREE WiFi internet access. Double rooms have 5' width beds and are comfortable for longer stays. Superior Rooms also have king size beds and are extremely spacious - with dressing areas, large writing desks and views of the floodlit Georgian facade of the Galleries of Justice. These rooms also have large feature bathrooms with double basins, bidet, freestanding bathtub and walk-in showers. Finally, the Studios are split level, with wrap around views of the Lace Market. All bedrooms are non smoking.

Merchants is a hearty British brasserie. No-nonsense, wholesome cooking using only the finest ingredients and drawing inspiration from the bustling, unpretentious salons so common in capital cities. Founded on the profound belief in relaxed service sophisticated surroundings and passion for great wines.
http://hoteladmin.laterooms.com/pics/calendar.gif
All guests enjoy free access to the local health club Virgin Active Holmes Place, complete with a swimming pool, gyms and wellness facilities.

Public parking is possible at a location nearby (reservation is not needed) and costs GBP 15 per day.
Picture of Lace Market Hotel, Nottingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In decline
We stayed at the Lace Market around 6 years ago and it was very stylish. Regrettably it has deteriorated.
On rout from reception to our room there were a number of patches on the carpet. That seemed to characterise the hotel.
Mauve lampshades against chocolate paint work clashed as did the furniture. The room looked as though it had been updated with furniture from an auction room, with no consideration for aesthetics.
The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom looked pleasant, though the bath/ shower were very poorly designed, and the tap over the washbasin was too low to wash ones hands under.
The reception and domestic staff could not be faulted.
Breakfast was poor. My portion of scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was the smallest I have ever seen, and not good. Had I paid the menu price of £14.95 I would have complained (which I very a rarely do). I had to look for staff to top up the coffee and bring more toast.
Breakfast ended at 10:30. I arrived at 10am, and the staff had to prepare the room for a wedding. That may be the reason for the poor service.
The building is stylish and beautiful in a good location. The management need to improve the quality of the hotel if they want to stay in business.

Reviewed by
Deborah A

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

night out for an anniversary treat
room was clean, but on the small side. it looked in need of redecorating as did the hallways and other public areas. The bed was comfortable but small. Good idea to have a fridge in the room. The hotel would have benefitted from a residents only bar/lounge area. The hotel was ideal for us to access the capital FM arena as it was only a 5 minute walk away.

Reviewed by
r pearson

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, good value for money
What a lovely stay, the hotel was perfect. The staff were friendly and attentive. Accomodation was more than adequate with a hairdryer, iron and ironing board in the room plus a TV and DVD player. Only criticism was there is no mirror near a plug for drying your hair. The restaurant was efficient and catered for my every need. A most enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
T Cleveland

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find.
A perfectly positioned hotel for the center of Nottingham. Very comfortable single room although the sound of what I can only assume was a generator was quite loud until midnight. Breakfast included in the price and was delicious. Would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Clare W

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing evening in the heart of Nottingham
The Lace Market Hotel did not dissappoint, providing quality accomodation and good service. The facilities are excellent and gave us an appropiately luxurious night at a reasonable rate.

Reviewed by
S Drummond

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor tired hotel
Overpriced and grubby, small dingy room,lift out of action,stair carpet threadbare ,staff unhelpful.
Restaurant very disappointing quality of food

Reviewed by
Tim King

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

its a good job we got a good deal on the room
we stayed at the lace market hotel on a sunday night.the bar wasn't open.we got a cheap deal on the room,its a good job.we payed £79.00 this is a true reflection on the price to pay.the hotel staff were polite, friendly, and very helpful.ideally situated,the hotel needs a re-furb.the breakfast was very good.no extractor fan in the bathroom we had to open the window to clear the steam from the room.we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
a burton

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not value for money
I booked a "Luxury" room to discover on arrival that they don't have "Luxury" rooms! However Late Rooms refused to price match with another website because they weren't advertising the same room! Well no.. they couldn't because it didn't exist!! So the room we had although was spacious it was right next to the noisy lift. This plus the noise from the street below kept us all awake most of the night due to the secondary double glazing being useless! The windows might have well been wide open. Then down to the little things that you expect from a hotel of this rating, I paid £195 for one night so I expect bottled water in my room, not a note in the book to say that you can drink the tap water! There were 3 of us in this room but only tea and coffee facilities for 2 people, I also asked for mint tea at reception but it never arrived. When checking out in the morning, these things were discussed with the receptionist but as the queue behind me got bigger, she asked me to write my details down on a piece of paper and she would pass them onto the manager to contact me. Well 3 days later and no contact!!! I will definitely not stop in this hotel again and I would definitely not recommend it to anyone.

Reviewed by
V Dewhurst

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked an executive room,which was spacious and comfortable although there were dirty marks on the carpet and the shower was a bit wobbly and didn't stay where you needed it too.the bed and pillows were excellent and we ordered breakfast in bed which came right on time and was delicious.we also tried breakfast in the restaurant which was fabulous with friendly staff and good service.we also had a bulb go which put out all the lights but after a quick call it was fixed in a few minutes.overall a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Jane W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a lovely hotel
Myself and my wife had a lovely nights stay at the lace market hotel.On arrival we were upgrade to a superior room which was a large relaxing room and had a nice breakfast the following day included in the price. The staff were very helpfull and attentative which made our 25 wedding anniversary one to remember.

Reviewed by
David P

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next