No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Quality Hotel St Albans

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
232-236 London Road,St. Albans,Hertfordshire, St Albans, AL1 1JQ
The Quality Hotel St. Albans Ideally located for easy access to London, M25, M1, A1(M) We are a convenient, comfortable and popular local Hotel in the bustling ancient roman City of St.Albans.

To comply with the industry guidelines and ensure users are of the appropriate level of well being and fitness we ask all users of the gym facilities to complete a brief questionnaire about their health and fitness levels called a Physical Activity Readiness Questionnaire.

To ensure that you are fully able to use the equipment safely and not to the detriment to your health it may be necessary for us to get confirmation from your GP that they are happy for you to exercise using our facilities. This is in the form of a simple letter that needs to be signed off by your doctor.

Children are not permitted to use the gymnasium or sauna and must be accompanied by an adult when using the swimming pool. No more than two children per adult are permitted in the interests of safety.

Please note, there are also short time periods when the swimming pool is closed for swimming lessons or for maintenance work.

Please contact the hotel for further information.
Picture of Quality Hotel St Albans, St Albans at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Indeterminate Quality Hotel
Well, it has qualities. I'm just not sure what qualities. The quality of being stuck 30 years in the past, maybe?
Cheap and almost-cheerful. Rat-catcher poison traps outside didn't bode well. Inside it was relatively clean but rather dated. The rooms were sparse and even more dated - the bathroom particularly so with a low-temperature, low-pressure, low-adjustability shower. The room temperature was equally unadjustable save for the gale blowing through the window that needed to be left open to let some air in. Unfortunately, that meant that the express train passing a few yards from the window was a regular 'distraction' from a good night's sleep.
WiFi pretty much unusable, bar service exceedingly slow - even with no other customers.
All in all, probably marginally below what you'd expect of a very budget hotel chain, but just about good enough to for a night's sleep. Overpriced for what it is, though.

Reviewed by
JS Greenwood

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Overnight Stay
Good place to stay overnight if you have business in St.Albans.aAbout 3kms. from the centre of St.Albans

Reviewed by
Peter Lockyer

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very disappointed
I booked a 2 night stay to attend a funeral. Unfortunately I had to check out after the first nigh due to another unexpected bereavement in the north of the Country. After travelling from Ireland I decided that I had to attend the second one as well. When I explained this to the reception and asked if there was any possibility of a refund for the second night, I was bluntly told no. There was no compassion what so ever. When I asked could I speak to the manager I was told there was no manager available. Staff are very young and could do with a course in customer service. The room was acceptable but only acceptable. I think its the smallest room I have ever spent in a hotel

Reviewed by
hazel o sullivan

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for short weekend break.
Basic but comfortable. Staff very helpful including providing food on arrival late at night after restaurant had closed.
Only minor observation - room on third floor was very warm with only one small window to provide ventilation which was inadequate as it could not be opened wide due to a restraining cable.

Reviewed by
Robert K

From Newtownabbey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thankyou to everybody at this hotel for a nice weekend for our group of 10 friends. Special thanks and recognition must go to the two ladies in the restaurant on friday and saturday evening 19th and 20th Aug . These two ladies made our evening with their cheerfulness and pleasant nature. They were very helpful and friendly. Thankyou again .

Reviewed by
J Nicholson

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although the room was classed as a single I was still amazed and disappointed at how small it was. Itwas aalso disappointing that there was no iron.

Reviewed by
Andy S

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If you like trains you'll love this hotel !!
Ground floor appears to have been renovated to a decent standard, upstairs looks like its overdue, my room although clean was in need of restoration or perhaps demolition, backs right onto a very busy strech of trainline and those trains seemed to be endless throughout the day and night.
Breakfast good, dinner poor choice & quality.
I suppose for the price within a short distance of London was what I should have expected.

Reviewed by
Sean T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

st albans visiteception in the new room.
Had to move room due to window not fitting and light above basin not working and then a problem with the TV in the new room. Reception staff very understanding but older rooms are in need of renovation and double glazed units instead of secondary glazing. Wifi not working in rooms on visit and an extra charge which is frustrating. Breakfast staff looking at paper, drinking coffee or taking food from buffet to eat - not impressive or customer focused and management need to monitor this generally.

Reviewed by
Patrick B

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent breakfast. Enjoyed the small swimming pool.
Would have preferred a room with a window that would open - as the air-conditioning was loud.
We needed more information about St. Albans, but this was not available.

Reviewed by
Janet H

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it was a clean and the staff very friendly we had a breakfast before we left and it was brilliant
brilliand would use again

Reviewed by
R O'Connor

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next