No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Quality Hotel St Albans

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
232-236 London Road,St. Albans,Hertfordshire, St Albans, AL1 1JQ
The Quality Hotel St. Albans Ideally located for easy access to London, M25, M1, A1(M) We are a convenient, comfortable and popular local Hotel in the bustling ancient roman City of St.Albans.

To comply with the industry guidelines and ensure users are of the appropriate level of well being and fitness we ask all users of the gym facilities to complete a brief questionnaire about their health and fitness levels called a Physical Activity Readiness Questionnaire.

To ensure that you are fully able to use the equipment safely and not to the detriment to your health it may be necessary for us to get confirmation from your GP that they are happy for you to exercise using our facilities. This is in the form of a simple letter that needs to be signed off by your doctor.

Children are not permitted to use the gymnasium or sauna and must be accompanied by an adult when using the swimming pool. No more than two children per adult are permitted in the interests of safety.

Please note, there are also short time periods when the swimming pool is closed for swimming lessons or for maintenance work.

Please contact the hotel for further information.
Picture of Quality Hotel St Albans, St Albans at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did the job
Room was value for the price. good bus route for centre of St Albans.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Quality Hotel St Albans. I was pleased to read that you found us to offer good value and also scored us highly for Customer Service and Cleanliness. I will certainly share your comments with the team. We do hope that you will stay with us again for your next visit to St Albans.

Reviewed by
Niamh R

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised. Room quiet and clean. Staff v good. Breakfast fine.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Quality Hotel St Albans and for taking the time to post a review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and highlighted breakfast, the team and our cleanliness as being of a high standard. I will certainly share your feedback with the team. Thank you for your positive comments. We certainly hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Reviewed by
Tim A

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was fine and more than adequate considering it was a last minute booking. We were changed to a family room for some reason on arrival but really made no difference to our stay.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review following your stay at The Quality Hotel St Albans. When availability permits, we will often upgrade guests to larger rooms and I believe that this is why you were offered a family room upon check in. I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay and delighted that you scored us highly for most aspects of the stay, especially customer service. We do hope to welcome you back to the Quality Hotel again. Thank you foryour feedback.

Reviewed by
Mark B

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rmt
Overall our experience was good. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms warm and comfortable.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay at The Quality Hotel St Albans. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with is, highlighting the customer service offered by the team members. I will certainly share your comments with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Quality Hotel soon. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed by
Margaret Tutty

From Dunboyne, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would return
Everything met or exceeded expectation. Only negative was the elderly lady behind the bar who was at best disinterested and at worst downright rude and lacking any customer service skills

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Quality Hotel and your subsequent review. I was delighted to read that you scored us highly for most aspects of your stay and would return to this Hotel in future. I am sorry that you report that the service that you received from the Bar Staff was below our normal high standards. We usually receive very positive feedback about our Bar staff, so apologies that you did not experience this during your visit. I will certainly be sharing your comments with team member concerned and ensure that this isolated incident is not repeated. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Reviewed by
Frances P

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All good
Very friendly staff & nice clean quiet & warm room

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Quality Hotel St Albans and for taking the time to review your experience. I was delighted to read that you scored us highly for all elements of your stay. I also appreciate your kind comments about the team and bedroom. I will certainly share your comments with the staff. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards, Ed, General Manager

Reviewed by
s smallwood

From Pevensey, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Great value, very clean and just a few minutes from town centre.
Be aware that the hotel is sandwiched between a mainline railway line and a main road so you may need earplugs.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Quality Hotel. I appreciate you offering us top marks in each review criteria and for noting our good location and overall value. I will certainly share your comments with the team also. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed by
David T

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compact, tired and budget
Noisy, needs refurbished. Very compact, broken window in room which went unnoticed by staff

Reviewed by
D Murphy

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Place to stay
This hotel is a nice one night stay place how ever they have a lot of
Work men staying. This could have been a one off but being woken up at 3am by drunken people fighting in hallway was not my idea of fun. How ever the swimming pool made up for this next day.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your recent stay at The Quality Hotel St Albans and subsequent online review. I am appreciative of all feedback, both positive and negative as I have only been the Manager of this Hotel for a few months and guest impact is proving to be vital in highlighting areas of strength or improvement. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. The majority of our midweek guests are what we would class as ‘Corporate’ guests, but we do from time to time receive bookings from contractors working in the area. I was naturally disappointed to note that you were disturbed by some other guests overnight during your stay. We have identified that there was some disturbance caused by some guests who were staying that night. I believe that these were a small group who had attended a party in St Albans. Night Staff are trained to proactively patrol the Hotel and as soon as they were aware of any issue or disturbance, take the necessary corrective action. However, I would like to emphasise that the disturbance that you report is a very isolated occurrence. Please accept my apologies that you were disturbed, however. We continue to monitor bookings and reservations and frequently refuse requests for rooms if we feel that there may be the risk of noise or disturbance or ensure that such guests who may be night workers or keeping unusual hours are allocated away from other guests. I was delighted to note, however, that you enjoyed the use of our Leisure Club and also scored us highly on Customer Service. I will certainly share this feedback with the team as well as reminding the Night team to continue to patrol at regular intervals to avoid recurrence. I was also pleased to read that you found us to offer value for money. I do hope to welcome you to the Quality Hotel St Albans in the future. Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Ed, General Manager

Reviewed by
Keith R

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8