No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Quality Hotel St Albans

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
232-236 London Road,St. Albans,Hertfordshire, St Albans, AL1 1JQ
The Quality Hotel St. Albans Ideally located for easy access to London, M25, M1, A1(M) We are a convenient, comfortable and popular local Hotel in the bustling ancient roman City of St.Albans.

To comply with the industry guidelines and ensure users are of the appropriate level of well being and fitness we ask all users of the gym facilities to complete a brief questionnaire about their health and fitness levels called a Physical Activity Readiness Questionnaire.

To ensure that you are fully able to use the equipment safely and not to the detriment to your health it may be necessary for us to get confirmation from your GP that they are happy for you to exercise using our facilities. This is in the form of a simple letter that needs to be signed off by your doctor.

Children are not permitted to use the gymnasium or sauna and must be accompanied by an adult when using the swimming pool. No more than two children per adult are permitted in the interests of safety.

Please note, there are also short time periods when the swimming pool is closed for swimming lessons or for maintenance work.

Please contact the hotel for further information.
Picture of Quality Hotel St Albans, St Albans at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would return
Everything met or exceeded expectation. Only negative was the elderly lady behind the bar who was at best disinterested and at worst downright rude and lacking any customer service skills

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Quality Hotel and your subsequent review. I was delighted to read that you scored us highly for most aspects of your stay and would return to this Hotel in future. I am sorry that you report that the service that you received from the Bar Staff was below our normal high standards. We usually receive very positive feedback about our Bar staff, so apologies that you did not experience this during your visit. I will certainly be sharing your comments with team member concerned and ensure that this isolated incident is not repeated. We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Reviewed by
Frances P

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All good
Very friendly staff & nice clean quiet & warm room

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Quality Hotel St Albans and for taking the time to review your experience. I was delighted to read that you scored us highly for all elements of your stay. I also appreciate your kind comments about the team and bedroom. I will certainly share your comments with the staff. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards, Ed, General Manager

Reviewed by
s smallwood

From Pevensey, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Great value, very clean and just a few minutes from town centre.
Be aware that the hotel is sandwiched between a mainline railway line and a main road so you may need earplugs.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Quality Hotel. I appreciate you offering us top marks in each review criteria and for noting our good location and overall value. I will certainly share your comments with the team also. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed by
David T

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compact, tired and budget
Noisy, needs refurbished. Very compact, broken window in room which went unnoticed by staff

Reviewed by
D Murphy

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Place to stay
This hotel is a nice one night stay place how ever they have a lot of
Work men staying. This could have been a one off but being woken up at 3am by drunken people fighting in hallway was not my idea of fun. How ever the swimming pool made up for this next day.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your recent stay at The Quality Hotel St Albans and subsequent online review. I am appreciative of all feedback, both positive and negative as I have only been the Manager of this Hotel for a few months and guest impact is proving to be vital in highlighting areas of strength or improvement. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. The majority of our midweek guests are what we would class as ‘Corporate’ guests, but we do from time to time receive bookings from contractors working in the area. I was naturally disappointed to note that you were disturbed by some other guests overnight during your stay. We have identified that there was some disturbance caused by some guests who were staying that night. I believe that these were a small group who had attended a party in St Albans. Night Staff are trained to proactively patrol the Hotel and as soon as they were aware of any issue or disturbance, take the necessary corrective action. However, I would like to emphasise that the disturbance that you report is a very isolated occurrence. Please accept my apologies that you were disturbed, however. We continue to monitor bookings and reservations and frequently refuse requests for rooms if we feel that there may be the risk of noise or disturbance or ensure that such guests who may be night workers or keeping unusual hours are allocated away from other guests. I was delighted to note, however, that you enjoyed the use of our Leisure Club and also scored us highly on Customer Service. I will certainly share this feedback with the team as well as reminding the Night team to continue to patrol at regular intervals to avoid recurrence. I was also pleased to read that you found us to offer value for money. I do hope to welcome you to the Quality Hotel St Albans in the future. Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Ed, General Manager

Reviewed by
Keith R

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not bad
hotel staff very good , food ok , rooms good , but hotel towels seen better days ,room windows dont open but trains pass buy and that keeps the noise down , there were a xmas party going on and it went on late ,but its xmas so what ,cant keep everybody happy all the time ,give it a go wont be disapointed

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your recent stay at the Quality Hotel St Albans and for taking the time to write a review. Please accept my apologies that you felt the towels had seen better days, I have shared this information with our external laundry and linen supplier who have informed me that they will be investing in new stock commencing in the New Year. In the meantime, we shall continue to monitor standards and reject any items that are past their best. I was pleased to read that the Christmas party was not intrusive to you. Where possible we endeavour to allocate rooms away from the Function rooms for those not attending one of our Christmas Party nights. I was also pleased to note that you thought the room was good. I was delighted to read that you thought the staff were very good. I will certainly share your comments with the team, thank you for highlighting this. Many thanks for your review. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed by
Babs H

From , England
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic hotel. Experience not helped by a drunk setting off the fire alarm at 3-00 am!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your stay with us in December and for taking the time to share you review. Please accept my apologies that your stay was disturbed by the actions of another guest. Clearly we endeavour to be proactive in preventing other guests causing a disturbance by maintaining regular patrols for noise or inappropriate behaviour. Please accept my assurances that his was an isolated incident. It would be useful if you could contact the Hotel to provide additional information as to why you felt the Hotel was basic. We offer a Restaurant, Bar, Leisure Club (including Swimming Pool) and have a three star rating. Your further comments would be useful in identifying other ways to improve the customer experience. I was delighted to note that you scored us well for Customer Service, however and also provided a good score for our Cleanliness. I will certainly share your feedback with the team. I do hope to hear from you soon in relation to additional feedback and sincerely hope to welcome you back to this Hotel in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Kind Regards, Ed, General Manager

Reviewed by
Chris Jones

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sadly not the cleanest and most attentive of bar staff.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, Jim M. I appreciate the additional information that you provided directly to me in relation to your stay with us. We are currently progressing with a total redecoration of guest rooms which will hopefully address the issues that you refer to with regards to the bedroom. This autumn has seen a third of our rooms redecorated and renewal of all bedding. Please accept my apologies for the delay in service at a bar. We usually receive positive feedback for our team and I apologise if something was amiss during your stay. I will certainly share your comments with the team and use these in a positive manner to prevent a similar recurrence. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Quality Hotel and your subsequent review. I also appreciate the additional information that you shared with me. We do hope to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed by
Jim M

From South Queensferry, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trains
The only problem was the noise from the nearby train track

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay at The Quality Hotel and for your subsequent review. Please accept my apologies that you were disturbed by noise from the Railway, It is worth noting that the rooms closest to the railway line (in our more modern extension) do have additional sound insulation and we would endeavour to allocate you a room in this area if you request it upon booking your next stay. Alternatively, it is possible to request a room at the front of the hotel. I was pleased that you scored all of the aspects of your stay quite highly. I will certainly share your comments with the team. Thank you again for your stay at this hotel, we hope to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed by
d redfern

From Worksop, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was alright
Internet connection didn't work, and when it worked it was extremely slow. Room o.k., railway very loud.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay following your recent stay at the Quality Hotel St Albans. All feedback is useful in enabling us to identify areas of service improvement. I am sorry to read from your review that there were a few aspects of your stay that didn’t satisfy your needs. I was surprised to read about the WIFI issues that you report as we have been undergoing some service improvements on our wireless network – I will be sharing your feedback with the service provider to ensure that the glitches that you report are looked into in more detail. Our location within a residential area, near to major routes and close to the City Centre does mean that we are located off a busy road and close to the Railway Line. Traffic on both road and railway does greatly reduce overnight; however please accept my apologies that you did feel disturbed by the trains. It is worth noting that the rooms closest to the railway line (in our more modern extension) do have additional sound insulation to further reduce noise and should you rebook with is in future we could endeavour to offer you a room in this area of the hotel that has additional sound insulation. Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you soon.

Reviewed by
Ondrej N

From Bridgwater, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next