No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Quality Hotel St Albans

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
232-236 London Road,St. Albans,Hertfordshire, St Albans, AL1 1JQ
The Quality Hotel St. Albans Ideally located for easy access to London, M25, M1, A1(M) We are a convenient, comfortable and popular local Hotel in the bustling ancient roman City of St.Albans.

To comply with the industry guidelines and ensure users are of the appropriate level of well being and fitness we ask all users of the gym facilities to complete a brief questionnaire about their health and fitness levels called a Physical Activity Readiness Questionnaire.

To ensure that you are fully able to use the equipment safely and not to the detriment to your health it may be necessary for us to get confirmation from your GP that they are happy for you to exercise using our facilities. This is in the form of a simple letter that needs to be signed off by your doctor.

Children are not permitted to use the gymnasium or sauna and must be accompanied by an adult when using the swimming pool. No more than two children per adult are permitted in the interests of safety.

Please note, there are also short time periods when the swimming pool is closed for swimming lessons or for maintenance work.

Please contact the hotel for further information.
Picture of Quality Hotel St Albans, St Albans at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nostalgic weekend
Hotel was fine as a base for a nostalgic weekend away. Only had breakfast and the orange juice tasted as if it had never seen an orange. Otherwise it was ok. Staff were friendly and helpful.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I was sorry to read that you did not like our brand of Orange Juice. However, as part of our ongoing service and product review, we will certainly be monitoring feedback about our Juice selection and look at other alternatives when we next review our breakfast offering. I was pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, I will certainly share your comments with the team. We hope to welcome you back to the Quality Hotel soon.

Reviewed by
A H

From , England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great mini-break
Room had everything needed, including convector heater. Tea tray was well supplied. Good hot water, easy to use shower. Lighting good.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Quality Hotel St Albans and subsequently providing feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at this hotel and gave us ‘full marks’ for each topic in the review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed by
Heidi M

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for the Night
We stayed here as we were attending a 60TH Birthday party in town. The check in was swift and uncomplicated, the room was a little small, but more importantly clean and inviting. We stayed in rm321 from where you could see the Abbey I found the next morning, I did here a few trains, but they did not disturb my sleep. The breakfast was good and staff were pleasant, For us it was a trip down memory lane as we had our wedding reception here 27 years ago, it hadnt changed much, but the changes made were good ones. Thanks to all the staff for a pleasant if brief stay.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Quality Hotel in St Albans. I believe that I had the pleasure of meeting your husband during your stay and he informed me of your previous visit in the eighties! Although born and bred in the area, I do not know much of the early history of the Haven Hotel as it was then – it was interesting discussing the layout of the hotel as it used to be. I do appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and commented that the staff were pleasant. We hope to welcome you back to the Quality Hotel soon, hopefully before another 27 years has elapsed! Please do make contact if you return again as I would be delighted to dig out some of the old photos that we have for a real journey down Memory Lane!

Reviewed by
L Wright

From Ashford, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel room
nice room but small things need sorting out
1. shower rail very rusty, should be stainless steel or plastic coated.
2. air con unit would not get warm when temp control adjusted, used electric radiator.
3. paintwork in bathroom poor standard, worn away where it has been cleaned etc.
4. no opening window to air room properly.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your recent stay at the Quality Hotel St Albans and for taking the time to complete the Laterooms Satisfaction Survey. I appreciate the feedback as it enables us to identify potential areas for service improvement. As the new General Manager for this hotel, I have been keen to update certain areas of the property, noticeably cosmetic details such as you flagged. We have commenced a redecoration programme of all rooms which includes painting and deep cleaning or replacement of any stained or life expired items (such as the shower rail). Thank you for flagging that the room that you stayed in needs attention, we can now prioritise this room. Our air-conditioned rooms were built with sealed windows. I appreciate that some guests prefer natural ventilation and would be happy to allocate such a room if you return to this hotel. The benefit of the air conditioning is certainly much appreciated in the summer, but we do provide additional heating for the winter months. However, a degree of warmth should have been delivered by the air-conditioning, so we will investigate why this appears not to have been the case. Please accept my apologies for this. I notice that you scored the service levels highly. Thank you for this. I will certainly share this feedback with the team who will appreciate the recognition. I hope that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay.

Reviewed by
p gowers

From Norwich, England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Practical and clean hotel
A good standard hotel for the price. No frills but perfectly good.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your recent stay at the Quality Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you found us to offer value for money and I am also delighted that you scored us highly for Customer Service. I will share the feedback with the team. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed by
michael h

From UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was great
everything was wonderful apart from the bed it was so lumpy and uncompfortable we hardly slept

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your stay at The Quality Hotel St Albans and subsequent review that you complete via Laterooms. Please accept my apologies that you found the bed to be uncomfortable. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Although visual and ‘push’ tests are completed plus we have a regime of bed renewals, feedback such as yours is vital in identifying any issues with mattresses or beds. These procedures do not fully replicate someone sleeping in a bed, so thank you very much for flagging this matter which will be looked into further. I am pleased that you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay with us. I was particularly pleased that you rated the Customer Service and Food Quality highly. I will be sharing this feedback with the team. Many thanks for your stay and subsequent feedback – we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed by
S Lough

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Memorable !
Quite simply, this hotel is a disgrace.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your recent stay at the Quality Hotel St Albans and for completing the online review. I would very much appreciate it if you could provide further details on why this hotel did not match your expectations. If I have more specific information, I can look into matters that you report as being so poor. With so little information as to what aspects and the reasons for your apparent dissatisfaction, I cannot really comment further. Please accept my apologies that we clearly have not met with your expectations on this occasion. We receive lots of positive feedback and endeavour to act upon any negative feedback when we have specific information. I hope to hear from you soon.

Reviewed by
G Butler

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

RThis was a one evening business trip. The hotel suited my needs completely. Apart from Bfreakfast I did not eat at the hotel and I did nbot use any of the available facilities

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased that we met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back.

Reviewed by
I Murray

From Sandbach, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedding.
Room was small but adequate as I was travelling alone. Bedding entailed clean white linen but for a hotel still to use flleecy blankets and a thin bedspread seems very outdated .This was not very comfortable; otherwise clean and fresh..

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review. As the new General Manager for this Hotel, I appreciate feedback as it enables me to identify areas of strength and areas for improvement. I am pleased to report that new bedding (duvets) has recently been ordered and will be replacing the current blankets. Thank you also for scoring customer service highly plus your comments about cleanliness. I will be sharing your feedback with the team. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed by
Christine M

From Northern Ireland
Who stayed in August 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8