No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Quality Hotel St Albans

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
232-236 London Road,St. Albans,Hertfordshire, St Albans, AL1 1JQ
The Quality Hotel St. Albans Ideally located for easy access to London, M25, M1, A1(M) We are a convenient, comfortable and popular local Hotel in the bustling ancient roman City of St.Albans.

To comply with the industry guidelines and ensure users are of the appropriate level of well being and fitness we ask all users of the gym facilities to complete a brief questionnaire about their health and fitness levels called a Physical Activity Readiness Questionnaire.

To ensure that you are fully able to use the equipment safely and not to the detriment to your health it may be necessary for us to get confirmation from your GP that they are happy for you to exercise using our facilities. This is in the form of a simple letter that needs to be signed off by your doctor.

Children are not permitted to use the gymnasium or sauna and must be accompanied by an adult when using the swimming pool. No more than two children per adult are permitted in the interests of safety.

Please note, there are also short time periods when the swimming pool is closed for swimming lessons or for maintenance work.

Please contact the hotel for further information.
Picture of Quality Hotel St Albans, St Albans at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 83 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Place to stay
This hotel is a nice one night stay place how ever they have a lot of
Work men staying. This could have been a one off but being woken up at 3am by drunken people fighting in hallway was not my idea of fun. How ever the swimming pool made up for this next day.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your recent stay at The Quality Hotel St Albans and subsequent online review. I am appreciative of all feedback, both positive and negative as I have only been the Manager of this Hotel for a few months and guest impact is proving to be vital in highlighting areas of strength or improvement. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. The majority of our midweek guests are what we would class as ‘Corporate’ guests, but we do from time to time receive bookings from contractors working in the area. I was naturally disappointed to note that you were disturbed by some other guests overnight during your stay. We have identified that there was some disturbance caused by some guests who were staying that night. I believe that these were a small group who had attended a party in St Albans. Night Staff are trained to proactively patrol the Hotel and as soon as they were aware of any issue or disturbance, take the necessary corrective action. However, I would like to emphasise that the disturbance that you report is a very isolated occurrence. Please accept my apologies that you were disturbed, however. We continue to monitor bookings and reservations and frequently refuse requests for rooms if we feel that there may be the risk of noise or disturbance or ensure that such guests who may be night workers or keeping unusual hours are allocated away from other guests. I was delighted to note, however, that you enjoyed the use of our Leisure Club and also scored us highly on Customer Service. I will certainly share this feedback with the team as well as reminding the Night team to continue to patrol at regular intervals to avoid recurrence. I was also pleased to read that you found us to offer value for money. I do hope to welcome you to the Quality Hotel St Albans in the future. Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Ed, General Manager

Reviewed by
Keith R

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not bad
hotel staff very good , food ok , rooms good , but hotel towels seen better days ,room windows dont open but trains pass buy and that keeps the noise down , there were a xmas party going on and it went on late ,but its xmas so what ,cant keep everybody happy all the time ,give it a go wont be disapointed

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your recent stay at the Quality Hotel St Albans and for taking the time to write a review. Please accept my apologies that you felt the towels had seen better days, I have shared this information with our external laundry and linen supplier who have informed me that they will be investing in new stock commencing in the New Year. In the meantime, we shall continue to monitor standards and reject any items that are past their best. I was pleased to read that the Christmas party was not intrusive to you. Where possible we endeavour to allocate rooms away from the Function rooms for those not attending one of our Christmas Party nights. I was also pleased to note that you thought the room was good. I was delighted to read that you thought the staff were very good. I will certainly share your comments with the team, thank you for highlighting this. Many thanks for your review. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed by
Babs H

From , England
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic hotel. Experience not helped by a drunk setting off the fire alarm at 3-00 am!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your stay with us in December and for taking the time to share you review. Please accept my apologies that your stay was disturbed by the actions of another guest. Clearly we endeavour to be proactive in preventing other guests causing a disturbance by maintaining regular patrols for noise or inappropriate behaviour. Please accept my assurances that his was an isolated incident. It would be useful if you could contact the Hotel to provide additional information as to why you felt the Hotel was basic. We offer a Restaurant, Bar, Leisure Club (including Swimming Pool) and have a three star rating. Your further comments would be useful in identifying other ways to improve the customer experience. I was delighted to note that you scored us well for Customer Service, however and also provided a good score for our Cleanliness. I will certainly share your feedback with the team. I do hope to hear from you soon in relation to additional feedback and sincerely hope to welcome you back to this Hotel in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. Kind Regards, Ed, General Manager

Reviewed by
Chris Jones

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sadly not the cleanest and most attentive of bar staff.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, Jim M. I appreciate the additional information that you provided directly to me in relation to your stay with us. We are currently progressing with a total redecoration of guest rooms which will hopefully address the issues that you refer to with regards to the bedroom. This autumn has seen a third of our rooms redecorated and renewal of all bedding. Please accept my apologies for the delay in service at a bar. We usually receive positive feedback for our team and I apologise if something was amiss during your stay. I will certainly share your comments with the team and use these in a positive manner to prevent a similar recurrence. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Quality Hotel and your subsequent review. I also appreciate the additional information that you shared with me. We do hope to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed by
Jim M

From South Queensferry, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trains
The only problem was the noise from the nearby train track

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay at The Quality Hotel and for your subsequent review. Please accept my apologies that you were disturbed by noise from the Railway, It is worth noting that the rooms closest to the railway line (in our more modern extension) do have additional sound insulation and we would endeavour to allocate you a room in this area if you request it upon booking your next stay. Alternatively, it is possible to request a room at the front of the hotel. I was pleased that you scored all of the aspects of your stay quite highly. I will certainly share your comments with the team. Thank you again for your stay at this hotel, we hope to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed by
d redfern

From Worksop, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was alright
Internet connection didn't work, and when it worked it was extremely slow. Room o.k., railway very loud.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay following your recent stay at the Quality Hotel St Albans. All feedback is useful in enabling us to identify areas of service improvement. I am sorry to read from your review that there were a few aspects of your stay that didn’t satisfy your needs. I was surprised to read about the WIFI issues that you report as we have been undergoing some service improvements on our wireless network – I will be sharing your feedback with the service provider to ensure that the glitches that you report are looked into in more detail. Our location within a residential area, near to major routes and close to the City Centre does mean that we are located off a busy road and close to the Railway Line. Traffic on both road and railway does greatly reduce overnight; however please accept my apologies that you did feel disturbed by the trains. It is worth noting that the rooms closest to the railway line (in our more modern extension) do have additional sound insulation to further reduce noise and should you rebook with is in future we could endeavour to offer you a room in this area of the hotel that has additional sound insulation. Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you soon.

Reviewed by
Ondrej N

From Bridgwater, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nostalgic weekend
Hotel was fine as a base for a nostalgic weekend away. Only had breakfast and the orange juice tasted as if it had never seen an orange. Otherwise it was ok. Staff were friendly and helpful.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I was sorry to read that you did not like our brand of Orange Juice. However, as part of our ongoing service and product review, we will certainly be monitoring feedback about our Juice selection and look at other alternatives when we next review our breakfast offering. I was pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful, I will certainly share your comments with the team. We hope to welcome you back to the Quality Hotel soon.

Reviewed by
A H

From , England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great mini-break
Room had everything needed, including convector heater. Tea tray was well supplied. Good hot water, easy to use shower. Lighting good.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Quality Hotel St Albans and subsequently providing feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at this hotel and gave us ‘full marks’ for each topic in the review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed by
Heidi M

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for the Night
We stayed here as we were attending a 60TH Birthday party in town. The check in was swift and uncomplicated, the room was a little small, but more importantly clean and inviting. We stayed in rm321 from where you could see the Abbey I found the next morning, I did here a few trains, but they did not disturb my sleep. The breakfast was good and staff were pleasant, For us it was a trip down memory lane as we had our wedding reception here 27 years ago, it hadnt changed much, but the changes made were good ones. Thanks to all the staff for a pleasant if brief stay.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Quality Hotel in St Albans. I believe that I had the pleasure of meeting your husband during your stay and he informed me of your previous visit in the eighties! Although born and bred in the area, I do not know much of the early history of the Haven Hotel as it was then – it was interesting discussing the layout of the hotel as it used to be. I do appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and commented that the staff were pleasant. We hope to welcome you back to the Quality Hotel soon, hopefully before another 27 years has elapsed! Please do make contact if you return again as I would be delighted to dig out some of the old photos that we have for a real journey down Memory Lane!

Reviewed by
L Wright

From Ashford, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel room
nice room but small things need sorting out
1. shower rail very rusty, should be stainless steel or plastic coated.
2. air con unit would not get warm when temp control adjusted, used electric radiator.
3. paintwork in bathroom poor standard, worn away where it has been cleaned etc.
4. no opening window to air room properly.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your recent stay at the Quality Hotel St Albans and for taking the time to complete the Laterooms Satisfaction Survey. I appreciate the feedback as it enables us to identify potential areas for service improvement. As the new General Manager for this hotel, I have been keen to update certain areas of the property, noticeably cosmetic details such as you flagged. We have commenced a redecoration programme of all rooms which includes painting and deep cleaning or replacement of any stained or life expired items (such as the shower rail). Thank you for flagging that the room that you stayed in needs attention, we can now prioritise this room. Our air-conditioned rooms were built with sealed windows. I appreciate that some guests prefer natural ventilation and would be happy to allocate such a room if you return to this hotel. The benefit of the air conditioning is certainly much appreciated in the summer, but we do provide additional heating for the winter months. However, a degree of warmth should have been delivered by the air-conditioning, so we will investigate why this appears not to have been the case. Please accept my apologies for this. I notice that you scored the service levels highly. Thank you for this. I will certainly share this feedback with the team who will appreciate the recognition. I hope that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Thanks again for taking the time to comment on your stay.

Reviewed by
p gowers

From Norwich, England
Who stayed in November 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next