No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Quality Hotel St Albans

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
232-236 London Road,St. Albans,Hertfordshire, St Albans, AL1 1JQ
The Quality Hotel St. Albans Ideally located for easy access to London, M25, M1, A1(M) We are a convenient, comfortable and popular local Hotel in the bustling ancient roman City of St.Albans.

To comply with the industry guidelines and ensure users are of the appropriate level of well being and fitness we ask all users of the gym facilities to complete a brief questionnaire about their health and fitness levels called a Physical Activity Readiness Questionnaire.

To ensure that you are fully able to use the equipment safely and not to the detriment to your health it may be necessary for us to get confirmation from your GP that they are happy for you to exercise using our facilities. This is in the form of a simple letter that needs to be signed off by your doctor.

Children are not permitted to use the gymnasium or sauna and must be accompanied by an adult when using the swimming pool. No more than two children per adult are permitted in the interests of safety.

Please note, there are also short time periods when the swimming pool is closed for swimming lessons or for maintenance work.

Please contact the hotel for further information.
Picture of Quality Hotel St Albans, St Albans at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Half Marathon Stay
Really tidy hotel, rooms basic but really good value for money, would definitely stay again. Staff could do with smiling a bit more but there we go, you can’t have it all! They were very helpful to be fair. Didn’t get to try the food as we went out in St Albans, the hotel is so close to the town centre it‘s easily walkable. Train track behind the hotel but didn’t hear a thing.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Quality Hotel. I was delighted that you found us to offer good value and would return to stay again. I was pleased to note that the team were also helpful. I hope that you recorded a good finishing time for the Half Marathon and look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed by
T Sharp

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

warm stay
The hotel room was clean with nice odor whole day. Daily commited good standard house keeping. All needed facilities are available in the hotel like gem, pool, resturant. Suitably located (15 minutes walk to the railway station and steps to the bus stop. The hotel staff (Caryl, Jodie and Lauren) were highly professional, friendly and considerates. They provide full support for the guests and fully attend their needs and requirements in cheerful manner. I defintely will call back whenever I pay a visit to London.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Quality Hotel St Albans I was delighted to read your review, thank you for scoring us highly in all aspects of your stay and highlighting the service offered to you by the team. I will ensure that all team members, especially Housekeeping and the ones that you have named are made aware of your kind comments. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed by
A GHAZAI

From United Arab Emirates
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy stay
First night awakened at 03.30 by noisy guests after a wedding reception. They chased up and down corridors, rapping doors and yelling. Eventually died down after half an hour. We had trouble getting back to sleep. My wife was afraid someone would try to break into our room. The second night ,around 02.30, the guests in the next room returned to their room and immediately started to play loud music and started singing and talking very loud. After a short time we rang down to reception and the noise stopped after their intervention. All in all it was not what we expected.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for discussing this with me directly in more depth. Please accept my apologies for the disturbances that you report - these were isolated incidents and it was very unfortunate to have occurred on two occasions during your stay. Although it is a challenge to control noise caused by other guests, we endeavour to allocate rooms appropriately and our night team take a proactive approach to monitoring noise via regular patrols. I was pleased to note that once the team became aware of the disturbance from the adjacent room that this was dealt with swiftly. I was pleased to note that you provided a good score for our overall value for money, thank you for highlighting this. I understand that you will be returning again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed by
P Cluskey

From Newtownabbey, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Our room was clean but tired could do with a makeover.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay with us. We have an ongoing programme of redecoration which has seen 80% of our rooms redecorated since September last year - please accept my apologies that the room allocated to you has yet to receive the attention of our decorators. We will certainly look to accelerate the programme and completed the remaining rooms within the next few weeks. I was, however, pleased to note that the room was clean and will pass your comments on to the Housekeeping team. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality hotel review
Had a good overall experience. Staff friendly and polite. Room of good quality and cleanliness. Had a few drinks in the bar and it was very welcoming and relaxing. Would book again

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and highlighted the team, bar and housekeeping standards as particular strengths. I was pleased to note that you would book again. Thank you for your comments - we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Reviewed by
S Hartley

From Borehamwood, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never Again
Noisy, both because it backs on to a railway line, but also slamming doors from both residents and cleaners. Worst hotel I have been in for a while. Normally I go budget... Travelodge etc. But this had a good price. Mistake, I will return to decent size rooms and cleaners who leave me be until I check out, and not knock on my door waking me!

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay and taking the time to share your comments Naturally I was disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations. I was apprised of your comments from the Reception team when you checked out and have contacted you directly. Please accept my apologies that you were disturbed by the Housekeeping team - I will be sharing your feedback with the Head Housekeeper to avoid a recurrence. I have taken on board your general comments and will endeavour to use this in a positive manner. I truly hope that you will return and will enjoy a more comfortable stay on your next visit.

Reviewed by
S Dray

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just the job
Fantastic service. Great room. Fab price.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay at the Quality Hotel St Albans and for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was delighted to read that we met your needs so well, thank you for giving us 'top marks' in each category. We appreciate the positive comments and I will certainly be sharing your review with the team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Reviewed by
S Branson

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
The hotel is in a good location on the cusp of St. Albans and is extremely good value for money

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent booking and for taking the time to share your feedback. I was delighted to read that you felt that we offered good value for money and scored us top marks for Customer Service. I will certainly share your kind comments with the team. We do hope you welcome you again soon

Reviewed by
Gary M

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

10/05/13
I stayed at the hotel on the 10/05/13 and the price of £40 seemed very good to me however the main issue I had was that the bed was incredibly hard so I was unable to sleep all night. I the end after considering sleeping on the floor I decided to sleep sitting up at this was the only way I could feel comfortable. A comfortable bed in a hotel room has to be the most important thing along side cleanliness which I have no complaints about.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay with us at The Quality Hotel and for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all forms of feedback, both positive and negative as it enables us to monitor standards and plan improvements. Please accept my apologies that you found the bed to be too firm. We do undertake regular ‘push’ tests, visual inspections and also have a regime of bed replacement, however, such tests do not replicate someone sleeping in it. This makes your feedback all the more appreciated. Had we been aware of the issues that you experienced at the time, we would gladly have offered you an alternative room. I was pleased to read that you did find our Housekeeping standards to be high. I will certainly share those comments with the team who will appreciate the recognition. Thank you. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Reviewed by
Jane B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good size room and bathroom, but shockingly uncomfortable bed. Left us tired and a bit sore after a restless nights sleep, felt like sleeping on bare springs. Also to windows are sealed shut and cannot be opened at all this was awful, on a hot weekend would have been live to have some air in the room to make it less stuffy. They do have air con in the rooms but its not the same.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to note that you found the bed to be uncomfortable. We do undertake regular visual inspections and push tests as well as having a regime of bed replacement. Had we have known about your dissatisfaction at the time, we would gladly have tried to allocate an alternative room. Thank you for highlighting this reported issue as we are now able to investigate this further. The room allocated does indeed offer air-conditioning - the rooms are sealed due to the proximity of the railway line and as such offer additional sound insulation. Please accept my apologies that this arrangement was not suitable for you. Many guests, especially during the summer months, specifically request these rooms, but we would gladly allocate a room with opening windows if requested on a future visit. I was pleased to note that you scored us highly for cleanliness and value for money. I will certainly share these comments with the Housekeeping team who will appreciate the recognition. Thank you for highlighting this. Many thanks for your stay and for taking the time to share your feedback. I do hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed by
Hannah C

From , UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next