No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Quality Hotel St Albans

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
232-236 London Road,St. Albans,Hertfordshire, St Albans, AL1 1JQ
The Quality Hotel St. Albans Ideally located for easy access to London, M25, M1, A1(M) We are a convenient, comfortable and popular local Hotel in the bustling ancient roman City of St.Albans.

To comply with the industry guidelines and ensure users are of the appropriate level of well being and fitness we ask all users of the gym facilities to complete a brief questionnaire about their health and fitness levels called a Physical Activity Readiness Questionnaire.

To ensure that you are fully able to use the equipment safely and not to the detriment to your health it may be necessary for us to get confirmation from your GP that they are happy for you to exercise using our facilities. This is in the form of a simple letter that needs to be signed off by your doctor.

Children are not permitted to use the gymnasium or sauna and must be accompanied by an adult when using the swimming pool. No more than two children per adult are permitted in the interests of safety.

Please note, there are also short time periods when the swimming pool is closed for swimming lessons or for maintenance work.

Please contact the hotel for further information.
Picture of Quality Hotel St Albans, St Albans at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On behalf of my party of 7 guests
The only down side is that the bar closes at 12. When requesting a drink after this the way in which we were spoken to was appalling, the bar lady/cleaner whatever was bad tempered and very brusque. She continued sniping behind the scenes in our earshot for some 2/3 minutes. Albeit that we hadn't turned our room card leaflet over to read about the closing times, but we were all of the opinion that if you were a resident you could get a drink, regardless.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments. Please accept my apologies for the apparent lack of service shown to you by one of our team members. The attitude that you report is not representative of our usual levels of Customer Service. I will certainly be discussing this matter with the team member in question and reiterate my expectations. We do often offer a slightly later bar service after the midnight closure time for residents. Due to the proximity of some guest bedrooms to the bar, there are occasions when we do close all bar provision at midnight to reduce the chance of disturbance to other residents. Again, I will be discussing this with the team member on duty that night. On a positive note, I was pleased to note that you scored us highly for all of the aspects of your stay. Thank you for this. I sincerely hope to welcome you again soon and I will endeavour to use your comments in a positive manner.

Reviewed by
Jean G

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic customer service. Disabled room was well designed and ideal. (Only comment is that there was no loo brush in the bathroom!!)

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Quality Hotel. I was pleased to read that our accessible room met you needs. Thank you for highlighting that the team members offered you such positive service throughout your stay and the high scores that you have awarded us in each category of the review. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Hollway

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Decent clean hotel-nothing flash. Good parking and nice breakfast. Considering the price I would definitely stay there again.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. Thank you for highlighting our overall value for money, parking and breakfast as well as awarding us a high score for your overall experience. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Reviewed by
Paul T

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room, let down by the details
The room and hotel were great for the most part, really nice for the price. The lack of sweetner in the coffee supplies was annoying, but most frustrating was the internet wifi which was painfully slow. I ended up driving in to town to find a good mobile signal to upload a few files. Having gone to my room on the second night and then had to trek back down to reception to have my key reset as it would not let me into my room, while lugging 3 bags from the day's work, was not fun either!

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. Please accept my apologies that your key card did not work on the second night of your stay and the inconvenience caused. On occasion, these cards can lose their functionality if left near mobile devices. Also, our apologies that you found the Wifi connection slow during your visit. We will certainly pass your comments to the provider who is currently looking to undertake some upgrades to the network. I was pleased, however, to note that you were satisfied by the room and overall value. We certainly hope to welcome you again for a future visit - we will gladly offer sweeteners on request. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed by
R Shepherd

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice hotel
very nice hotel .with friendly and helpful staff. lovely welcome from the receptionist on arrival .very clean room with comfortable bed and really nice shower .room had aircon which was great on a warm evening .only downside was it was very near to trainline but this didnt ruin our stay and would we would stay again.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay with us at The Quality Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. I very much appreciate your kind comments about the staff. I will certainly ensure that these comments are shared with the team. Thank you for highlighting our high standard of Housekeeping. Please do feel free to request an air-conditioned room for your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed by
sarah s

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Half Marathon Stay
Really tidy hotel, rooms basic but really good value for money, would definitely stay again. Staff could do with smiling a bit more but there we go, you can’t have it all! They were very helpful to be fair. Didn’t get to try the food as we went out in St Albans, the hotel is so close to the town centre it‘s easily walkable. Train track behind the hotel but didn’t hear a thing.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Quality Hotel. I was delighted that you found us to offer good value and would return to stay again. I was pleased to note that the team were also helpful. I hope that you recorded a good finishing time for the Half Marathon and look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed by
T Sharp

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

warm stay
The hotel room was clean with nice odor whole day. Daily commited good standard house keeping. All needed facilities are available in the hotel like gem, pool, resturant. Suitably located (15 minutes walk to the railway station and steps to the bus stop. The hotel staff (Caryl, Jodie and Lauren) were highly professional, friendly and considerates. They provide full support for the guests and fully attend their needs and requirements in cheerful manner. I defintely will call back whenever I pay a visit to London.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Quality Hotel St Albans I was delighted to read your review, thank you for scoring us highly in all aspects of your stay and highlighting the service offered to you by the team. I will ensure that all team members, especially Housekeeping and the ones that you have named are made aware of your kind comments. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed by
A GHAZAI

From United Arab Emirates
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy stay
First night awakened at 03.30 by noisy guests after a wedding reception. They chased up and down corridors, rapping doors and yelling. Eventually died down after half an hour. We had trouble getting back to sleep. My wife was afraid someone would try to break into our room. The second night ,around 02.30, the guests in the next room returned to their room and immediately started to play loud music and started singing and talking very loud. After a short time we rang down to reception and the noise stopped after their intervention. All in all it was not what we expected.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for discussing this with me directly in more depth. Please accept my apologies for the disturbances that you report - these were isolated incidents and it was very unfortunate to have occurred on two occasions during your stay. Although it is a challenge to control noise caused by other guests, we endeavour to allocate rooms appropriately and our night team take a proactive approach to monitoring noise via regular patrols. I was pleased to note that once the team became aware of the disturbance from the adjacent room that this was dealt with swiftly. I was pleased to note that you provided a good score for our overall value for money, thank you for highlighting this. I understand that you will be returning again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed by
P Cluskey

From Newtownabbey, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Our room was clean but tired could do with a makeover.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review following your recent stay with us. We have an ongoing programme of redecoration which has seen 80% of our rooms redecorated since September last year - please accept my apologies that the room allocated to you has yet to receive the attention of our decorators. We will certainly look to accelerate the programme and completed the remaining rooms within the next few weeks. I was, however, pleased to note that the room was clean and will pass your comments on to the Housekeeping team. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality hotel review
Had a good overall experience. Staff friendly and polite. Room of good quality and cleanliness. Had a few drinks in the bar and it was very welcoming and relaxing. Would book again

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and highlighted the team, bar and housekeeping standards as particular strengths. I was pleased to note that you would book again. Thank you for your comments - we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Reviewed by
S Hartley

From Borehamwood, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next