No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Quality Hotel St Albans

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
232-236 London Road,St. Albans,Hertfordshire, St Albans, AL1 1JQ
The Quality Hotel St. Albans Ideally located for easy access to London, M25, M1, A1(M) We are a convenient, comfortable and popular local Hotel in the bustling ancient roman City of St.Albans.

To comply with the industry guidelines and ensure users are of the appropriate level of well being and fitness we ask all users of the gym facilities to complete a brief questionnaire about their health and fitness levels called a Physical Activity Readiness Questionnaire.

To ensure that you are fully able to use the equipment safely and not to the detriment to your health it may be necessary for us to get confirmation from your GP that they are happy for you to exercise using our facilities. This is in the form of a simple letter that needs to be signed off by your doctor.

Children are not permitted to use the gymnasium or sauna and must be accompanied by an adult when using the swimming pool. No more than two children per adult are permitted in the interests of safety.

Please note, there are also short time periods when the swimming pool is closed for swimming lessons or for maintenance work.

Please contact the hotel for further information.
Picture of Quality Hotel St Albans, St Albans at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would recommend
Lovely and local to st albans. Friebdly and extremely friendly staff.
Food was freshly cooked and very tasty.
Definitely will b staying in a quality hotel again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Quality Hotel. I will certainly share you kind comments about the staff with the team members. The Chef will certainly appreciate the recognition about the food. Many thanks for your review and stating that you would recommend us to others- we certainly hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Reviewed by
Joanne C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hello
excellent very helpful and accomodating

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay and for taking the time to comment on your experience. I was delighted to read that you found the team to be helpful during your stay and thank you for scoring us highly for value for money also. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards, Ed, General Manager

Reviewed by
a lenton

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for what you pay for
This is the 2nd time we've stayed here as it is relatavly close to town and reasonably priced. The floors are creaky however which keep you up and wake you up but generally clean and tidy. It would be nice for £79 for a double room which is small and very basic for the price to include breakfast although £5 charge if you want it isn't too bad. I would stay here again as it is close to town and would recommend to a friend.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay and for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you have also stayed previously and intend to do so again. Please do accept my apologies if you were disturbed by creaking floor-boards. Parts of the Hotel are quite old but our in house Maintenance team will continue to work to reduce the potential for disturbance. Please do monitor our special offers – discounts on our normal room rates are often available and these sometimes can include breakfast or even dinner. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed by
C Lynne

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but I wouldn't pay full price
I stayed for two nights and whilst the staff were friendly and the service good I definitely wouldn't pay full price for a stay in this hotel. My room was clean and comfortable but the bathroom needed redoing as it was it was extremely dated, showed mildew and the shower leaked water all over the floor.
Admittedly I stayed during the massive heatwave but I found the hotel to be uncomfortably warm and little was done to alleviate this. In addition I believe there was function on the Saturday night as I couldn't get to sleep until after one in the morning because all I could hear was a band playing and people celebrating. Investing in some sound proofing might be an idea.
I didn't make use of any of the leisure facilities offered by the hotel or eat there but for what I paid and the location what I got was worth the price.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in such an articulate manner. Naturally, it is very difficult to control the temperature of the Hotel during such hot weather as we have been experiencing recently. A third of our rooms do offer air-conditioning and we have a stock of fans that we can also supply. My apologies that this was not apparent during your stay. The maintenance issues that you report have been addressed by our in-house Maintenance team. We did indeed have an event during being held during your stay. Where possible, rooms are allocated away from potential noise disturbance. It is also worth highlighting that the majority of Functions that we host have a finish time of midnight – we only run events beyond this on a handful of occasions throughout the year. However, apologies that you were disturbed and thank you for highlighting this so that we can ensure that where possible quieter rooms are allocated where possible. On a positive note, I was delighted to read that you felt that the team offered a good service. I will certainly be sharing your comments with the team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again.

Reviewed by
Angharad S

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality hotel St Albans
No real complaints for the money I paid (£45), hotel rooms are basic but very clean, and service from staff was very good and friendly. Food from the bar was nice but there was a very loud railway ine close to the property that kept me awake as I had to have the windows open due to the sunny weather.
Overall value for money but wouldn't take the wife there!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post your review. I was pleased to note that you found that we were good value for money and that the team members provided a good service throughout. I will ensure that I pass your positive comments about the cleanliness to the Housekeeping team as well as your comments about the bar snacks to the chef. Please do feel free to request a room at the front on your next visit, on indeed one of our air-conditioned rooms if the nearby railway line disturbed you. Please accept my apologies that your sleep was disturbed. We look forward to you returning again soon.

Reviewed by
Graham M

From x, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On behalf of my party of 7 guests
The only down side is that the bar closes at 12. When requesting a drink after this the way in which we were spoken to was appalling, the bar lady/cleaner whatever was bad tempered and very brusque. She continued sniping behind the scenes in our earshot for some 2/3 minutes. Albeit that we hadn't turned our room card leaflet over to read about the closing times, but we were all of the opinion that if you were a resident you could get a drink, regardless.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments. Please accept my apologies for the apparent lack of service shown to you by one of our team members. The attitude that you report is not representative of our usual levels of Customer Service. I will certainly be discussing this matter with the team member in question and reiterate my expectations. We do often offer a slightly later bar service after the midnight closure time for residents. Due to the proximity of some guest bedrooms to the bar, there are occasions when we do close all bar provision at midnight to reduce the chance of disturbance to other residents. Again, I will be discussing this with the team member on duty that night. On a positive note, I was pleased to note that you scored us highly for all of the aspects of your stay. Thank you for this. I sincerely hope to welcome you again soon and I will endeavour to use your comments in a positive manner.

Reviewed by
Jean G

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic customer service. Disabled room was well designed and ideal. (Only comment is that there was no loo brush in the bathroom!!)

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Quality Hotel. I was pleased to read that our accessible room met you needs. Thank you for highlighting that the team members offered you such positive service throughout your stay and the high scores that you have awarded us in each category of the review. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Hollway

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Decent clean hotel-nothing flash. Good parking and nice breakfast. Considering the price I would definitely stay there again.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. Thank you for highlighting our overall value for money, parking and breakfast as well as awarding us a high score for your overall experience. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Reviewed by
Paul T

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room, let down by the details
The room and hotel were great for the most part, really nice for the price. The lack of sweetner in the coffee supplies was annoying, but most frustrating was the internet wifi which was painfully slow. I ended up driving in to town to find a good mobile signal to upload a few files. Having gone to my room on the second night and then had to trek back down to reception to have my key reset as it would not let me into my room, while lugging 3 bags from the day's work, was not fun either!

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. Please accept my apologies that your key card did not work on the second night of your stay and the inconvenience caused. On occasion, these cards can lose their functionality if left near mobile devices. Also, our apologies that you found the Wifi connection slow during your visit. We will certainly pass your comments to the provider who is currently looking to undertake some upgrades to the network. I was pleased, however, to note that you were satisfied by the room and overall value. We certainly hope to welcome you again for a future visit - we will gladly offer sweeteners on request. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed by
R Shepherd

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice hotel
very nice hotel .with friendly and helpful staff. lovely welcome from the receptionist on arrival .very clean room with comfortable bed and really nice shower .room had aircon which was great on a warm evening .only downside was it was very near to trainline but this didnt ruin our stay and would we would stay again.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay with us at The Quality Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. I very much appreciate your kind comments about the staff. I will certainly ensure that these comments are shared with the team. Thank you for highlighting our high standard of Housekeeping. Please do feel free to request an air-conditioned room for your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed by
sarah s

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next