No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Quality Hotel St Albans

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
232-236 London Road,St. Albans,Hertfordshire, St Albans, AL1 1JQ
The Quality Hotel St. Albans Ideally located for easy access to London, M25, M1, A1(M) We are a convenient, comfortable and popular local Hotel in the bustling ancient roman City of St.Albans.

To comply with the industry guidelines and ensure users are of the appropriate level of well being and fitness we ask all users of the gym facilities to complete a brief questionnaire about their health and fitness levels called a Physical Activity Readiness Questionnaire.

To ensure that you are fully able to use the equipment safely and not to the detriment to your health it may be necessary for us to get confirmation from your GP that they are happy for you to exercise using our facilities. This is in the form of a simple letter that needs to be signed off by your doctor.

Children are not permitted to use the gymnasium or sauna and must be accompanied by an adult when using the swimming pool. No more than two children per adult are permitted in the interests of safety.

Please note, there are also short time periods when the swimming pool is closed for swimming lessons or for maintenance work.

Please contact the hotel for further information.
Picture of Quality Hotel St Albans, St Albans at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
69% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality? Yeah. Not bad at all.
Check in was really easy and no messing about. Parking is OK. The reception staff we met were superb. Very nice Lounge / bar area. The Room..... Well, the main room was clean and tidy as you would expect. Well presented and extra bedding on hand. The Bathroom however was looking a little tired to say the least, although it was perfectly clean with no cause to complain. We opted not to have breakfast and dined out during our short stay therefore we cannot comment on the food. I would definitely stay here again although the room rate is perhaps a little high for what is being offered.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for choosing to stay at Quality Hotel St Albans and for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to read that in the room you stayed in the bathroom appeared to be a little tired - this will certainly be something we consider updating when we next arrange a total refurbishment in the future. More positively, I am glad you found both the bedroom and bathroom to be clean and that the check in process was an easy experience. I will certainly pass your comments onto both the housekeeping and reception teams. With regards to our rates, we do offer various seasonal and corporate discounts throughout the year so please look out for these. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you again in the new year.

Reviewed by
Paul Fulker

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay
We chose this hotel to stay for one night due to its location, being close to a relative we were visiting. Generally it was a good choice and we had a nice stay with nothing to complain about.
The cooked breakfast was brilliant.
On the negative side and perhaps being slightly picky, some of the paintwork in our room could do with a fresh coat of paint particularly around the door frame and also in the bathroom behind the sink (either box in the pipes or paint them !). The bathroom had a sloping ceiling (as did the bedroom) and the shower rail because of how it was fitted, wasn't long enough so it was not easy to prevent soaking the bathroom with water from the shower.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay with us at Quality Hotel St Albans and for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay. I apologise that the room allocated on this occasion was in the old part of the hotel and did not meet your expectations. We do have regular guests who actually request these rooms with sloping ceilings due to their character but understand that they aren’t for everyone. Please feel free to request a room in the newer part of the hotel if you do happen to stay again in the future. Thank you for bringing some issues with the décor of the room to our attention. We do have an ongoing program of decoration that saw all the rooms painted early 2013 and the program has started again which should see all the rooms redecorated within the next 6 months. Based on your much appreciated comments, we will ensure that the room that was allocated to you gets prioritised. On a positive note, it’s great to hear that overall you had a nice stay and found our location suitable for your needs. I’m also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cooked breakfast. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Reviewed by
M Barnes

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't bother.....
Grubby hotel. Dirt on the carpets and on the walls. Bathroom dirty. Bathroom floor so unbelievably slippery it was dangerous. Noise from nearby trains all through the night. Bed seriously uncomfortable. Breakfast was reasonable.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay with us at the Quality Hotel St Albans and for taking the time to post a review after your stay. Please accept my apologies that you evidently did not enjoy your experience with us. We strive to offer an excellent level of service and comfortable stay for all of our guests. Naturally, it is disappointing to receive negative feedback and I will certainly endeavour to use the points that you raise to make improvements. I was surprised to read that you found the room to not be clean. We consistently score very highly for our standards of Housekeeping during annual AA Inspections and our regular Quality Assurance inspections from Choice Hotels. Furthermore, all of our rooms have been painted within the last 12 months. This issue will be passed on to my Head Housekeeper who will ascertain which team member serviced the room and ensure that our standards are adhered to. Thank you for highlighting your concerns with the bed. By the end of 2013, approximately 30% of our beds will be replaced as part of our scheduled replacement programme. Needless to say, visual inspections and 'push' tests are also completed to supplement our scheduled replacements, but neither check fully replicates someone sleeping in a bed - so many thanks for bringing this matter to my attention. We are located adjacent to the Midland Mainline. Had we have known after your first night that the railway disturbed your stay, we would gladly have allocated an alternative room in an alternative area of the Hotel that was quieter. On a more positive note, I was pleased that you enjoyed breakfast. I certainly hope that you have received our direct email and will return to the Quality Hotel in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Kind regards, Ed, General Manager

Reviewed by
Karen F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel , relaxed and friendly
I have stayed here Many times , as have my parents . It is always friendly , clean , and relaxed but efficiënt . The room was great , room 309 and even though it has the railway at the back of it , it did not really disturb my sleep . The pool and sauna is fine , not posh but Nice to relax in . All the staff are friendly . The breakfast is amazing , lots of choice and well cooked . The staff who serve are lovely especially the ? Spanish lady , so smiley . Well done !!!!

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your frequent stays with us at the Quality Hotel and for taking the time to share your comments. I was delighted to read that you enjoy your stays with us and highlight the team members and the breakfast as being particularly good. I will certainly share your kind comments with the team and of course Teresa. We look forward to your future visits. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed by
D Monaghan

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Meh *shrug of shoulders*
The more accurate name of this hotel would be the (medium) Quality Hotel (near) St Albans. It was OK, and we were able to walk into town, but it was 20+ mins walk to the main town and a further 20 mins to the Roman/old areas. The bed was pretty uncomfortable and our room was overlooking a train line (!) but it was clean and the bathroom was fine. Breakfast was quite good - the best part of the hotel were the croissants which were super fresh and delicious!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for choosing the Quality Hotel for your recent stay in St Albans and for taking the time to share your comments. We are located less than a mile from the Clock Tower in the centre of St Albans, although as you mention, the Verulamium Museum, St Michaels Village and the Roman Theatre are approximately a similar distance again. Naturally, should you return, we would gladly offer directions for travelling by car or inform you of alternative transport arrangements. Please accept my apologies that you found the bed to be uncomfortable. Beds are replaced on a phased basis and also undergo visual and 'push-tests' on a regular basis - we also use guest feedback to identify rooms were further checks may be required. I am pleased to report that a 15% of our beds were replaced in the last few months with a similar quantity due in soon. On a positive note, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our breakfast offering - I will certainly share your kind comments with the Chef and his team whom I am sure will appreciate the recognition. Thank you again for taking the time to share your comments - we certainly hope to welcome you back again.

Reviewed by
Charlotte G

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice to stay here
Very good value & clean.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for choosing the Quality Hotel for your recent visit to St Albans and for taking the time to share your experience. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and identified our overall value and standards of Housekeeping as particular highlights. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed by
Simon S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very resonable priced stay. We just needed an overnight stop somewhere and this was perfect.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay with us at The Quality Hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback. I was delighted to read that we met your needs and that you found us to offer value for money. Many thanks for ‘scoring’ us highly for each aspect of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Reviewed by
N Daniels

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would recommend
Lovely and local to st albans. Friebdly and extremely friendly staff.
Food was freshly cooked and very tasty.
Definitely will b staying in a quality hotel again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Quality Hotel. I will certainly share you kind comments about the staff with the team members. The Chef will certainly appreciate the recognition about the food. Many thanks for your review and stating that you would recommend us to others- we certainly hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Reviewed by
Joanne C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hello
excellent very helpful and accomodating

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay and for taking the time to comment on your experience. I was delighted to read that you found the team to be helpful during your stay and thank you for scoring us highly for value for money also. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards, Ed, General Manager

Reviewed by
a lenton

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for what you pay for
This is the 2nd time we've stayed here as it is relatavly close to town and reasonably priced. The floors are creaky however which keep you up and wake you up but generally clean and tidy. It would be nice for £79 for a double room which is small and very basic for the price to include breakfast although £5 charge if you want it isn't too bad. I would stay here again as it is close to town and would recommend to a friend.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your recent stay and for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you have also stayed previously and intend to do so again. Please do accept my apologies if you were disturbed by creaking floor-boards. Parts of the Hotel are quite old but our in house Maintenance team will continue to work to reduce the potential for disturbance. Please do monitor our special offers – discounts on our normal room rates are often available and these sometimes can include breakfast or even dinner. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed by
C Lynne

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next