Reviews - Quality Hotel St Albans


232-236 London Road,St. Albans,Hertfordshire, St Albans, AL1 1JQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (59)

76% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • JS Greenwood

  • October 2014

Indeterminate Quality Hotel

Well, it has qualities.

I'm just not sure what qualities. The quality of being stuck 30 years in the past, maybe. Cheap and almost-cheerful. Rat-catcher poison traps outside didn't bode well. Inside it was relatively clean but rather dated. The rooms were sparse and even more dated - the bathroom particularly so with a low-temperature, low-pressure, low-adjustability shower. The room temperature was equally unadjustable save for the gale blowing through the window that needed to be left open to let some air in. Unfortunately, that meant that the express train passing a few yards from the window was a regular 'distraction' from a good night's sleep. WiFi pretty much unusable, bar service exceedingly slow - even with no other customers. All in all, probably marginally below what you'd expect of a very budget hotel chain, but just about good enough to for a night's sleep. Overpriced for what it is, though.

  • hazel o sullivan

  • October 2014

very disappointed

I booked a 2 night stay to attend a funeral.

Unfortunately I had to check out after the first nigh due to another unexpected bereavement in the north of the Country. After travelling from Ireland I decided that I had to attend the second one as well. When I explained this to the reception and asked if there was any possibility of a refund for the second night, I was bluntly told no. There was no compassion what so ever. When I asked could I speak to the manager I was told there was no manager available. Staff are very young and could do with a course in customer service. The room was acceptable but only acceptable. I think its the smallest room I have ever spent in a hotel

  • Robert K

  • October 2014

OK for short weekend break.

Basic but comfortable.

Staff very helpful including providing food on arrival late at night after restaurant had closed.

Only minor observation - room on third floor was very warm with only one small window to provide ventilation which was inadequate as it could not be opened wide due to a restraining cable.

  • J Nicholson

  • September 2014

Thankyou to everybody at this hotel for a nice weekend for our group of 10 friends.

Special thanks and recognition must go to the two ladies in the restaurant on friday and saturday evening 19th and 20th Aug . These two ladies made our evening with their cheerfulness and pleasant nature. They were very helpful and friendly. Thankyou again .

  • Sean T

  • September 2014

If you like trains you'll love this hotel !!

Ground floor appears to have been renovated to a decent standard, upstairs looks like its overdue, my room although clean was in need of restoration or perhaps demolition, backs right onto a very busy strech of trainline and those trains seemed to be endless throughout the day and night.

Breakfast good, dinner poor choice & quality. I suppose for the price within a short distance of London was what I should have expected.

  • Andy S

  • September 2014

Although the room was classed as a single I was still amazed and disappointed at how small it was.

Itwas aalso disappointing that there was no iron.

  • Patrick B

  • September 2014

st albans visiteception in the new room.

Had to move room due to window not fitting and light above basin not working and then a problem with the TV in the new room.

Reception staff very understanding but older rooms are in need of renovation and double glazed units instead of secondary glazing. Wifi not working in rooms on visit and an extra charge which is frustrating. Breakfast staff looking at paper, drinking coffee or taking food from buffet to eat - not impressive or customer focused and management need to monitor this generally.

  • R O'Connor

  • August 2014

it was a clean and the staff very friendly we had a breakfast before we left and it was brilliant

brilliand would use again

  • Janet H

  • August 2014

Excellent breakfast.

Enjoyed the small swimming pool. Would have preferred a room with a window that would open - as the air-conditioning was loud. We needed more information about St. Albans, but this was not available.

  • chris b

  • August 2014

Excellent value excellent staff

The stafff at the hotel are very warm and friendly with nothing being too much trouble.

I have made the hotel my base whilst working nearby.