No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The St George Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Durham Tees Valley Airport , Darlington, DL2 1RH
A friendly and convenient venue to choose when visiting Tees-side, County Durham or North Yorkshire. The Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, excellent Conference Suites, a traditional Officers Club style Bar and relaxing Restaurant.The Hotel is well signposted throughout the North East from all main roads, and is conveniently linked to a comprehensive network of rail and air links. Remember, when you are looking for accommodation in the area - please contact The St George Hotel.

Free unlimited WiFi.

Picture of The St George Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Room was well equipped, very clean and functional. We were only stopping for one night and did not use any other facilities, but they were the same standard as the room they would have been excellent.

Reviewed by
A Hodgetts

From Ibstock, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal when flying from Durham Tees Valley Airport
Great place for an overnight stay before an early morning flight - only two minutes walk to the terminal. The St George has lots of character and the staff welcoming, helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
John H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Really quiet hotel, although near the airport was a nice area to sit outside. They had placed a fan in the room due to the really hot weather, and this was most welcome! Staff were lovely. Only issue I had was with the shower, one minute hot, one minute cold! Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Terri M

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and not very cheerful!
We booked this for an overnight en route to the lakes. We didn't arrive until 9pm as we travelled straight from work. Check in was fine, then we got directed to our room on the first floor. We stayed during the recent hot spell and as we clued the stairs you could feel the wall of heat. The corridor was freshly painted and it all looked promising. We located our room and it was a adiquit size with a double bed, however the decor was very tired. The room was 30 degrees! And the the windows had restrictor's in them so there was no air. There was a fan, but I'm sure it wouldn't pass any appliance tests as the buttons were pressed in and it flopped over! The bathroom was again very tired and the towel heater was on constant! Which my daughter burnt herself on!! There was hairs in the bath!!! And only one set on towels. It was impossible to sleep due to the heat so at 4am u propped open the room door and the fire escape! Breakfast cost £9 each which we were told was served until 9:30. We got down at 8:55 and was the only ones there resulting in "scrag ends" off the hot buffet. There was no fruit/yoghurt/pastry option and the tea was serve yourself from a flask which was well and truly stewed! We had to ask for extra juice as that had run out and the waitress showed no interest, merely complaining to her colleague that her bus left at 10:10! Possibly the worst breakfast I've ever had! And the worst nights sleep I've ever had which ruined the first day of our holiday!

Reviewed by
K Smith

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
I always stay here when I'm in the area because the Hotel always delivers. Nice sized, well decorated rooms, eveything is clean and tidy, the car park is huge, the wi fi works, the staff are freindly and efficient, and its a reasonable price.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Lydney, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed with room upon arrival as ordered a double bed only to have two singles pushed together! This was very uncomfortable and me and my partner where unable to sleep close together as we would have fell down the middle. There was only enough cutlery supplied for one person so we couldn't both enjoy a beverage together. And I also badly burnt my leg in the shower as the temperature fluctuated during use.

Reviewed by
kiona p

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
A little basic but good value and a location that works for us

Reviewed by
A Knight

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had a meal on the first night looked overcooked in the microwave, breakfasts quite good.
the accommodation was basic, old officers mess from a RAF station, staff very helpful. handy if flying from Teeside airport, quite nostalgic with memorabilia from dam busters on show.

Reviewed by
thomas d

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bad experience
Was looking forward to staying here again but found the room had an unpleasant smell which had noticed previous visit
Also let down by the meal as the meat in the burger was off. At least did not charge for any of the meal and I filled up on cheese and biscuits

Reviewed by
J Murdoch

From Beith, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet retreat
Even though opposite the terminal this hotel is very quiet. Yes, it's in need of some tlc , but they were painting that day. The room was huge,clean,good tv and free wi fi. At £39 it was great. I. Also loved the history of the. Place. Breakfast was poor and over cooked. I will definatly return.

Reviewed by
stephen f

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next