Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Dorset > Bournemouth Hotels > Menzies Hotels Bournemouth - East Cliff Court
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Menzies Hotels Bournemouth - East Cliff Court

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AN
Located on the quiet East Cliff, the hotel is 5 minutes' walk away from the seven miles of golden beaches, ten minutes from the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre (BIC), and Pavilion.

The Menzies Bournemouth East Cliff Court Hotel offers 67 contemporary 4 star bedrooms, most benefit from breathtaking views of the sea, some also benefit from a direct sea view with balconies, whilst others are perfect for families. All rooms boast flat screen TV's with Freeview channels and free Wi-Fi. Complimentary car parking is also provided.

The spacious lounges have been stylishly furnished to offer the perfect setting for guests to relax, unwind and enjoy the magnificent sea views. The Regency restaurant offers a daily changing menu using locally sourced ingredients, as well as a children’s menu.

The south facing terrace leads down to the sheltered heated swimming pool that is now open for the summer where guests can enjoy the very best of the day's glorious sun in comfort. Guests have use of the Waves Health and Leisure Club at the adjacent Menzies Bournemouth Carlton which has an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, sauna, gym, and beauty facilities. Please note the outdoor swimming pool is now closed for winter.

Hotel Accredited with the Green Tourism Award
Picture of Menzies Hotels Bournemouth - East Cliff Court, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Price of drinks
I know this is Bournemouth but £5.50 for a can of Guinness, not a pint, just a can, is outrageous.

Reviewed by
Anthony Cook

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant staff, excellent hotel !!
Had a memorable short stay.......customer service was exceptional......lady on reception even rang to ask if everything was all right after I got to room, I never had that before. I was not able to eat there so can't review the food.....bit of a shame that breakfast wasn't included and would have been happy to pay a bit more to get that. The room was of a very high quality and cleanliness, and fully justified the hotel's 4 star rating, I recommend this hotel provided the price is reasonable which it was for me, so very good value. Plenty of car parking space , good location overlooking the sea and walking distance from the town centre. Can't wait to go again!!

Reviewed by
DAVID COTTON

From Mayfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Disappointing -
The rooms were poor. Cleanliness was average at best and the mattress was the worst I have ever come across in a hotel.
On arrival, we found the seaview room to have a damaged window, letting in a strong draft. We were offered another room which was not sea view but had to accept as it was the only option.
The mattress in the new room was terrible. Cheap open coil mattress which was heavily worn and would collapse in. This was replaced on asking with a very marginally better mattress.
Shower had very little pressure and the lamp in the room did not work.
We noticed a stain on the duvet cover but had to live with it as it was seen late at night when we went to bed. Shockingly though, we returned the following day to find the cover had been tidied up but not replaced.
The only acceptable thing was the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the food. I would give this hotel a 3 star ratar rating at best and we felt ripped off having paid over £150 for two nights. Never staying at a Menzies again.
Also noticed we were a very small minority in what was a elderly population of guests as a majority. The environment was not very lively.

Reviewed by
R Ali

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable short break
Everything was good, all the staff were wonderful.
The buffet breakfast was the hottest I have ever had served on hot plates, just one small complaint, the coffee cups were heavy crockery so the coffee was always luck warm.

Reviewed by
J Spragg

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
We hada very big room with a sea view. It was very clean and the bed was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Lesley W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Breath of Fresh Air
The hotel is lovely, the carpets in the hallways could use a good clean, other than that its lovely.

Reviewed by
D Whitaker

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
Excellent hotel, if a little on the expensive side, Food excellent. Room clean and comfortable. Only complaint was due to the bright blue glowing digital clock on the tv during the night.

Reviewed by
anne p

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not 4 * quality
no electric shaver point in bathroom, and no assistance from reception despite several requests.
other requests to reception had to made a second time before anything was actioned.
food mediocre, overall not up to other 4 * hotels that i've stayed at

Reviewed by
david p

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, comfortable hotel for families
We thoroughly enjoyed our short break at East Cliff Hotel, Menzies in Bournemouth. The family room was a good size and very clean and comfortable (the best family room we have stayed in in Bournemouth so far!).
The service on arrival was swift and efficient. We arrived early and waited in the lounge area which had comfortable seating and catered to our needs.
During our stay we visited tourist attractions and had easy access to the town centre and gardens.
My only criticism would be that the restaurant was not promoted with other literature available in the room or in the foyer. We may have decided to have a meal in the hotel rather than explore the town restaurants.

Reviewed by
S Bowles

From Letchworth Garden City, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is the perfect place to take my family, relaxing, clean, friendly.cant wait to go back

Reviewed by
S Diamond

From Stanmore, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next