Reviews - Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff (formerly Menzies)


East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth, BH1 3AN

Price From 153.68 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (81)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Graham O

  • March 2014

Great value

Hotel in excellent position for town, modern and very clean

  • Roger Wright

  • March 2014

Weekend at the seaside

Good experience.

Balcony with sea view made it a very enjoyable and relaxing three days. Room was clean and had the basic requirements although a fridge or safe was not included. Only one armchair was supplied for a double room. Bath robes, soaps and hair shampoos were provided.

  • John Allan Rigby

  • February 2014

Hotel great...

..but no hot water for the shower.

hot water in sink and bath but none for the shower

  • susan w

  • February 2014

Excellent hotel

Absol Very good value for money reception guys were so helpful, room although not sea view was lovely Evening meal was lovely , staff very attentive.

All staff friendly,only minor fault was breakfast the quality is very good,but they seem to struggle with keeping buffet breakfast hot,

Will definitely return thanks to all. T they

  • mandy pickles

  • February 2014

lovely sea front hotel

our room was very clean and comfortable, just a bit on the small side, the decor was really nice and the bed very comfy, we found the staff very helpfull and enjoyed a drink in one of the intimate lounges, the hotel is in a great place overlooking the sea and fairly central for the town.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Jane C

  • January 2014

Let down by housekeeping and plumbing

Our first room 2211 did not have a TV remote and the phone was not working.

The staff immediately attended to the situation and offered us the room next door 2210. The room was fine apart from a stained bedspread and the bedside light not working. BUT the bathroom had ingrained dirt (black) on the tile grouting in the shower area. The shower curtain was dirty and looked like it had not been washed for weeks. Next day I risked a bath but only tepid water emerged from the tap. I tried the shower and the water was far too hot. Fill the bath with water from the shower, I hear you say. The problem here was that I did not want to bathe in any water that had touched the shower curtain and not using the curtain would have caused a flood. My husband just used the sink for a wash. Clearly housekeeping, plumbing and attention to detail was a big problem in the rooms we used. Having said this, the manager checked the latter room, agreed with our thoughts on its condition and gave us a voucher for a room with a sea view for another night. She was not aware of the temperature of the water problem, but we told the staff as we booked out and it was agreed that we would not be charged for our breakfast. To summarise face to face staff excellent, housekeeping abysmal. We may take up the voucher offer, but I am unsure if we would pay to stay again.


  • January 2014

Brilliant staff, excellent hotel !!

Had a memorable short stay.......customer service was exceptional......lady on reception even rang to ask if everything was all right after I got to room, I never had that before.

I was not able to eat there so can't review the food.....bit of a shame that breakfast wasn't included and would have been happy to pay a bit more to get that. The room was of a very high quality and cleanliness, and fully justified the hotel's 4 star rating, I recommend this hotel provided the price is reasonable which it was for me, so very good value. Plenty of car parking space , good location overlooking the sea and walking distance from the town centre. Can't wait to go again!!

  • David Walker

  • January 2014

Wonderful experience

Fantastic hotel in a beautiful location with great views.

Service was very personal and friendly. Hotel food was very, very good and thoroughly recommended. Booked for a short business trip but will make this Hotel my default accommodation for all of my future trips down to this part of the country..

  • Patricia F

  • January 2014

Great Hotel wonderful location

  • George T

  • January 2014

Great Hotel

This was an excellent hotel.

Good parking easy to get to. Largest room I have ever stayed in. Awesome food and staff great. Would recommend. Even Mark & Spencers hold there staff party there while i stayed says a lot!!