Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Dorset > Bournemouth Hotels > Menzies Hotels Bournemouth - Carlton
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Menzies Hotels Bournemouth - Carlton

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
MEYRICK ROAD , Bournemouth, BH1 3DN
The newly refurbished grand 4-star hotel is set high on Bournemouth's East Cliff and offers spacious bedrooms, AA Rosette award-winning restaurant, gardens, free Wi-Fi, free parking and a leisure club with an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, sauna and gym. Please note the outdoor swimming pool is now shut for winter.

With its grand charm and richly decorated reception areas and lounges, you can relax in style and comfort, savour a splendid meal in our superb restaurant against the sparkling backdrop of the sea and unwind with a gentle swim or sauna in our Waves Health & Leisure Club. Choose from a range of bedrooms, many offering private balconies and stunning sea views. The hotel offers of a choice of function, free Wi-Fi and complimentary car parking.

Whether it's a family holiday or an idyllic coastal break, the Menzies Bournemouth Carlton hotel is the perfect choice.
Picture of Menzies Hotels Bournemouth - Carlton, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff. Great location, but hotel was FAR too hot. Awful nights sleep plus window wouldn't stay open. Shame as not a nice relaxing night as planned

Reviewed by
Lyndon S

From Verwood, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 322 was great, very spacious, clean and tidy. Plenty of tea/coffee etc, could have done with abit more milk and sugar. Bed was very comfortable and a good nights sleep was had. Room was in ideal part of hotel, no noise was heard even In the morning by cleaners.

Reviewed by
Z Cridge

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really big room, good quality tea/coffee facilities, good sized bathroom room excellent value for money

Reviewed by
Hailey P

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Carlton Bournemouth
Nice sea front hotel. very nice room. lovely place

Reviewed by
richard s

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely traditional hotel
We stayed in a room with our 7yr old and it was perfect. Right on the seafront with a seaview. The room was large enough for us not to feel cramped with 3 of us. It had everything we needed. Tea making facilities etc. Perfect for our short stay in Bournemouth.
They are obviously taking the upkeep of the hotel seriously. It was all lovely apart from the flooring in the bathroom and swimming pook area, which I appreciate is hard to keep pristine. The breakfast was gorgeous. Plenty of choice and lovely and hot. Service was superb by all staff.

Reviewed by
Fiona B

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value and location
The room was clean and tidy; bed comfortable and furnishings pleasant. If I changed anything it would be the replacement of the bath. The leisure centre was good and the receptionist particularly helpful and pleasant. It was disappointing to learn on check-in that the sauna was out of action. Jacuzzi and pool were warm and the outlook on to the pool outside attractive. Evening meal was good and staff pleasant and welcoming. The breakfast was first class - plenty of choice and great food. My only negative comments would be (1) I guessed where the car park was by driving around the back of the hotel [I didn't notice any signs]; and (2) had I not looked my bill carefully on check-out I would have been charged for two evening meals instead of one and the full rate for breakfast rather than LateRoom's discount at time of booking. The receptionist, however, quickly rectified this and did not make me feel awkward about discussing it.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey C

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and over priced
Not at all gd value for money, service and food in the restaurant very substandard and expensive, rooms tired and too hot. Wouldn't rush back.

Reviewed by
Jo B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommend
Great service and very Pleased with Hotel from Reception Check in, to a really nice room and comfy bed with great sea views and finished off with a great Breakfast! Would definitely stay again..

Reviewed by
Stephen R

From Gillingham, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Good
I booked a room through late rooms for two adults at a cost of £157. When I arrived I was met by my friends who were also booked into the hotel, they had just checked in. On my turn I was told very bluntly by the only lady manning the desk "your name is not on our reservations, there is nothing I can do". Well at least it was to the point. I had to phone Laterooms who had my details and payment. They contacted the hotel and told them to find me a room which they did in the Royal Bath Hotel. On arrival at the hotel the room I was given was dark, cramped and had a duel aspect view of an indoor carpark and a brick wall with a down pipe.

Reviewed by
Mark C

From SUTTON, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely staff!
Perfect for an overnight stay - I came down with my husband and 2 children for the Bournemouth Marathon. We didn't get the seaview room we'd booked on LateRooms but were given a £20 discount when we pointed it out. The staff were very accommodating and friendly - they let us keep our car in the carpark even after check out and also let me come back to use the shower in the pool area after the marathon. Kids enjoyed the pool. We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was lovely. Decor in need of a refurb but overall we would definitely stay here again. Perfect if anyone's taking part in the Bournemouth Marathon festival as race Finish and the race village is just a short walk from the hotel.

Reviewed by
G PARKER

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next