No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
NEWGATE STREET , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX
With free parking right in the centre of Newcastle, The Newgate Hotel offers modern rooms with coffee makers. Newcastle’s central shopping and nightlife can all be reached within a 10-minute walk.

The Gate, with its bars, shops, and cinema, is just a 2-minute walk away, and Eldon Square shopping centre is 5 minutes away on foot. Newcastle Rail and Metro Station is a 5-minute walk, and the Metro Radio Arena is 15 minutes’ walk away.

Each room includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can relax with a TV in the room, along with a work desk and tea/coffee.

Full English breakfasts are served in The Rooftop Restaurant with panoramic views over Newcastle city centre. The Terrace Bar provides free Wi-Fi, Sky channels on a large-screen TV, and a wide range of drinks.

Please note that all bookings of 3 rooms or more will be required to pay
a cash security deposit upon arrival at the hotel. Further information
will be provided once a reservation has been confirmed
Picture of Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 119 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not cheap but noisy!
The hotel is in the center of Newcastle, handy location but very noisy as it is to close to the night spots. And a lack of any double glazing meant you could hear everything going on outside. I asked for a quiet room with a high floor when I booked but this was ignored. Basic but clean.

Reviewed by
David G

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
The room was okay, old fashioned but clean. The only issues we had were the car park and the none existent cleaners. Our room was left dirty all day and when we complained the reception staff said theyd bring us towels. they did not. I myself went down again and complained and another member of staff eventually brought them. the car park is just a joke

Reviewed by
Jennifer T

From , UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

been to better
It was Ok. For 1 night the experience of getting to the room was unpleasant due to a drunk in the doorway.

Reviewed by
Stu D

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne
Very quiet even though in heart of city centre comfy room comfy beds

Reviewed by
p rimmer

From newcastle upon tyne, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great budget hotel
The night we stayed was great, staff were happy and helpful and didn't bother us with anything, we rocked up at 5 in the morning after a night out and everyone was helpful and sleep was great! Even slept in past check out time and they dealt with it at no extra cost. If you need a hotel for a few nights come here! Great value, great staff and a great fry up in the morning to help the hangover!

Reviewed by
Steven J

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay in budget hotel
Travelodge style hotel e.g. 'no frills', however, a comfortable bed, working TV, hot shower and tea making facilities were all we needed and these all worked fine. Good value considering the cost of other hotels nearby. Very central for all amenities. Might want to consider replacing some of the furniture to freshen the place up a bit as the chair in our bedroom was badly stained. We would stay here again on a budget.

Reviewed by
Clare R

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good cheap very central hotel!
Arrived here with a mixed group for nye not expecting too much.
The hotel has fairly tired decor but is clean and really cheap.
Best thing is its location!!! Mega central!!!

Reviewed by
hugh r

From Glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Centrally located.
Basic accomodation but very good location.

Reviewed by
D MILLER

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Excuses
When you opt for a budget hotel you should be able to expect a simple room that is clean. I stayed in a room on the 3rd floor. From the windows and net curtains to the carpet and the bathroom the cleanliness was appalling. Rotten and paint flaking bath panel. Mouldy shower curtain, old towels, tired and damaged furnishings throughout. Lack of adequate lighting and light switches that didnt even work. There are budget hotels both independent and larger chains that do this far far better. Sorry to say but stay away.

Reviewed by
Mark R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location!
Brilliant location very central so great for young people or anyone looking to be central and going for a night out! If looking for somewhere luxurious and posh to stay then this is definitely not the place. However, has everything you need, just a little outdated and rooms could be more modern. Saying this, for the money which I paid £47 a night. I thought this was reasonable as this included breakfast which I couldn't really fault! So if your young, looking for a night out and central location, this hotel is great!

Reviewed by
chloe b

From Colne, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next