No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
NEWGATE STREET , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX
With free parking right in the centre of Newcastle, The Newgate Hotel offers modern rooms with coffee makers. Newcastle’s central shopping and nightlife can all be reached within a 10-minute walk.

The Gate, with its bars, shops, and cinema, is just a 2-minute walk away, and Eldon Square shopping centre is 5 minutes away on foot. Newcastle Rail and Metro Station is a 5-minute walk, and the Metro Radio Arena is 15 minutes’ walk away.

Each room includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can relax with a TV in the room, along with a work desk and tea/coffee.

Full English breakfasts are served in The Rooftop Restaurant with panoramic views over Newcastle city centre. The Terrace Bar provides free Wi-Fi, Sky channels on a large-screen TV, and a wide range of drinks.

Please note that all bookings of 3 rooms or more will be required to pay
a cash security deposit upon arrival at the hotel. Further information
will be provided once a reservation has been confirmed
Picture of Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 131 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service from most of the staff was absolutely fine. Just the first morning we had to explain that our toilet wasn't flushing, and there was a foreign lady on the front reception desk who couldn't understand us. She proceeded to phone her manager who I guess didn't want to come and talk to us so the issue wasn't sorted.

Reviewed by
L Law

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 205
The tom was decent for the money we paid but it could have been a lot more cleaner like the toilet had a horrible black rim round and the bath was blocked the cleaners never changed out sheets the second night which was very unheigenic there was also a horrible smell in the room and it was always cold!

Reviewed by
L Ritchie

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked a one night stay with my partner as we were going to watch a concert at the o2 academy (which was only a 5 minute walk away), hotel is in the central of Newcastle which was very handy. Check in was easy no pre-authorization, it was very difficult to find the car park it has a different postcode to the hotel, and I was driving round Newcastle city centre for around 1 hour until I rang reception and then the reception told me about the second postcode. The decor and reception is has seen better days the hotel needs a good refurbishment, the windows are single glazed there was a gale blowing through the closed windows, the sink in the bathroom didn't work. They was a television which was ok, wifi options and tea/coffee. I couldn't fault the parking when we found the right location, and the close-ness of everything the gate is within 2 minutes walking distance. Quite a noisey hotel on a Tuesday night not somewhere for couples really.

Reviewed by
L Dobson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dirty and unwelcoming corridors
The entry to this hotel is terrible - dirty empty rooms and corridors with dirty carpets and wallpaper - It is most unwelcoming and a bit scary. The room was passable - the linen was clean but the bathroom had seen better days. It was noisy outside and I would not recommend this to anyone I am afraid.

Reviewed by
Marcus R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

adequate for short stay
Friendly staff, good food, excellent car parking. The whole hotel requires refurbishing.

Reviewed by
F Smith

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel in a brilliant location
Car park wasn't easy to find but well signed when we got nearer

Reviewed by
Charlotte L

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good night's sleep but...
Comfy bed and slept well. Staff exceedingly helpful with directions to latenight local shop so could purchase items of toiletries we'd forgotten.Iron and small ironing board and hairdryer useful.Fabulous central location just 5mins uphill from station and 5 mins to Monument metro.
However hotel is in definite need of some tlc. Our bathroom had a cracked basin, there were a couple of long black hairs on the rubber bath mat, had a flaky ceiling and in need of application of Detox mould remover on some of the grouting. But towels big and there was a bathmat and hand towel.Net curtain in bedroom had holes( cigarette burn marks shaped) Did mention most of these things to Receptionperson when asked in morning how our room was.

Reviewed by
jennie h

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay with free car park
We only stayed for one night, and we think its very good value, considering its an Sunday, right at the heart of city, only 200 hundred metres from our relatives. The breakfast was so nice and services five star. A little noisy and entrance from street level not very easy. The one thing we both agree: free car park.
,

Reviewed by
S Tang

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is tired and needs updating. It is a very noisy location and many guests had no consideration for others when returning to the hotel very late after a night out - many were obviously very drunk. The bar was 24hrs and on Sat morning people were still in there drinking - obviously all night and the noise was very loud. A group came into breakfast and were using very bad language and no staff asked them to refrain. There was also another group there in their pyjamas. The breakfasts were of a good quality.

Reviewed by
J J

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Reception Setup
Location, room, free parking all good but no WiFi reception in room, only in lounge. Arrived by car looking for car park. Had to leave car on double yellow lines then couldn't find reception which was on 1st floor. Needs better signs. Very stark walls need improving. Then had to drive round city to reach car park at rear which I couldn't have done without satnav.

Reviewed by
david j

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next