No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
NEWGATE STREET , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX
With free parking right in the centre of Newcastle, The Newgate Hotel offers modern rooms with coffee makers. Newcastle’s central shopping and nightlife can all be reached within a 10-minute walk.

The Gate, with its bars, shops, and cinema, is just a 2-minute walk away, and Eldon Square shopping centre is 5 minutes away on foot. Newcastle Rail and Metro Station is a 5-minute walk, and the Metro Radio Arena is 15 minutes’ walk away.

Each room includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can relax with a TV in the room, along with a work desk and tea/coffee.

Full English breakfasts are served in The Rooftop Restaurant with panoramic views over Newcastle city centre. The Terrace Bar provides free Wi-Fi, Sky channels on a large-screen TV, and a wide range of drinks.

Please note that all bookings of 3 rooms or more will be required to pay
a cash security deposit upon arrival at the hotel. Further information
will be provided once a reservation has been confirmed
Picture of Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 135 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom was clean & comfortable. The hotel itself is rather tired, & in need of updating

Reviewed by
Graeme Fox

From York, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average Hotel
Very pleased with the central location of the hotel, as it is right in the city centre and can easily be reached by foot or public transport.
The room was OK - the radiator did not work, thank God it wasn't winter
The shower/bath connection was a bit tricky
Otherwise a very pleasant stay, the room was very clean

Reviewed by
d hunt

From birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Now realise this was a contractors hotel. Basic but generally clean room but bath discoloured, unpleasant bathroom décor, wallpaper coming off wall in room, television remote control stuck together with tape also front panel of display on television missing, lampshade broken. Although this was a non-smoking room it smelt strongly of smoke. Pedestrian entrance at street level very off putting - like walking into multi-storey car park, reception area accessed via two flights of stairs (no lift), across a deserted office space, through a door then down a corridor through a door to reception.
Telephone in room only worked if you wanted to speak to reception, not for external calls or to call another room.

Reviewed by
Carl C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As Central As You Can Be. Cheap and Central
Stayed for my 3rd stay at The Newgate.
Been in other Newcastle hotels but chose this one again this for this visit purely on location and free parking facilities as we was going to St James' Park which is a short walk away.
Hotel is desperate need of modernisation to make it look at least a little pleasing on the eye at least. Was like it was still in 1979!!
On the whole though for price and location you cant go wrong really. If you want nice interior and room then look elsewhere. For somewhere to get your head down and get up and leave then it may just do for you.

Reviewed by
D Jordan

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I regard this place as a bit of a find. I go to Newcastle every year and normally stay at a chain hotel but decided to try something different this time. As with some of the other reviews finding it the first time took a little doing but then once you know its easy. The checkin was very quick and efficient, the lifts are a bit odd but the room was very comfortable. The thing that made it all worthwhile was the breakfast which was excellent in terms of choice and delivery. The food was fresh and hot - this being one of my continuing gripes in other hotels that offer a 'buffet' style breakfast which seldom delivers what it promises. This will certainly be my first choice for my next visit to Newcastle.

Reviewed by
Malcolm G

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

location location location
Making a trip to Newcastle for the first time we found the hotel reasonabley easily.
The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful with directions to the car park. This is a bit of a job to find but extremely convenient. Being in the city centre and close to the University we were visiting the next day it was ideal.However the rooms are a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Good shower and nice breakfast. Staff very pleasant

Reviewed by
Gregory C

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dirty! Poor quality! Waste of money!
I had booked a night away for me and my partner who was home from the army for his birthday. When we got into our room we found what looked like a sick stain on the carpet as you walked in, damp all over the walls, the bed sheets were stained and dirty, the bath was thick with dirt and there was a horrible smell through out the room! I complained to the manager and eventually they put us into a different room. The second room wasn't much different! Apart from this room was right above a night club! Was that annoyed we just left the hotel and stayed out till late that night! Wasnt going to go for breakfast but as I'd payed for it thought we would go see what it was like, wish I hadn't bothered! Not worth £7! The bowls were dirty, I wouldn't feed my dog what they put on our plates! Over all the hotel was a dive! Looked like a brothel! Wasn't expecting much of the hotel but been clean should be at the top of any list! Will not be staying there again!

Reviewed by
lauren stephens

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great breakfast!!
The room was quite small but adequate, the parking was a nightmare to find but spacious. The breakfast and the dining room were however fabulous. We would definitely stay again, especially now we have found the carpark. Excellent city centre location!

Reviewed by
P Goddard

From Newtonmore, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely central
So the parking was hard to find but it was a good location,
However the room was nice and clean.
I was supirised with the lack of noise as it was situated above a night club.
To sum up, it's good value for money if you want a central location.

Reviewed by
E Hall

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whilst this was centrally located with free onside parking it is a budget hotel and is in keeping with that.
Whilst the room was clean and warm there is the need for refurbishment. That sai the breakfast was a pleasant surprise..ok for one night.

Reviewed by
Kevin P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next