Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne



Price From 109.79 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (99)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • hugh r

  • January 2015

Good cheap very central hotel!

Arrived here with a mixed group for nye not expecting too much.

The hotel has fairly tired decor but is clean and really cheap. Best thing is its location!!. Mega central!!.


  • December 2014

Centrally located.

Basic accomodation but very good location.

  • Mark R

  • December 2014

No Excuses

When you opt for a budget hotel you should be able to expect a simple room that is clean.

I stayed in a room on the 3rd floor. From the windows and net curtains to the carpet and the bathroom the cleanliness was appalling. Rotten and paint flaking bath panel. Mouldy shower curtain, old towels, tired and damaged furnishings throughout. Lack of adequate lighting and light switches that didnt even work. There are budget hotels both independent and larger chains that do this far far better. Sorry to say but stay away.

  • chloe b

  • December 2014

Good location!

Brilliant location very central so great for young people or anyone looking to be central and going for a night out.

If looking for somewhere luxurious and posh to stay then this is definitely not the place. However, has everything you need, just a little outdated and rooms could be more modern. Saying this, for the money which I paid £47 a night. I thought this was reasonable as this included breakfast which I couldn't really fault. So if your young, looking for a night out and central location, this hotel is great.

  • michael p

  • December 2014


very good experience of my stay,ideal location in town and minutes away from train station.rooms bit dated but clean and everything u need from iron to hairdryer,most important comfy bed and good shower

  • Nichola L

  • December 2014

Its an ex-office block

An interesting building that looks like it has not been cleaned in the public areas and lift since it stopped being an office ten or more years ago.

Beds were clean and OK, bathroom had old mould stains and a few silverfish running around but the water pressure was good and water hot. The curtains had some stains on them. You did not want to touch any part of the lift. Staff were cheerful, bless 'em.

  • Cheryl B

  • December 2014

Not the best hotel, but perfect location!!

I stayed in the Newgate Hotel for two nights for my mums birthday trip to Newcastle.

The hotel is not very nice from the outside but the location is perfect, 2 minute walk from the gate, 5 mins from ther station ans so close to the shops. Although the rooms are quite poor I would definitely stay there again as it is based exactly where you want to be if you want to be close to the shops and nightlife!


  • November 2014

Great staff - Grotty rooms

I needed to find a room at short notice when my daughter gave birth nearby.

Staff extremely friendly & helpful, especially in middle of the night. The hotel is right in the centre of town for shopping and nightlife. The good points end there. Very noisy from the bars,

Filthy net curtains,

Stained toilet and bath,

Beds old and lumpy,

Everything tired, grubby and needs updating.

  • paula g

  • November 2014

mixed review!

On first entering the hotel from the front street it looks extremely grubby..really dirty front doors,dirty carpets.

An odd setup to get to reception. All the staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. we were on the 1st floor but when walking to the room the corridor stank of stale beer. Our room looked clean on first view but on closer inspection the bath and toilet looked like they needed a good bleech. Bath had been cleaned out but still had a lot of soapscum marks which normal cleaning would not get rid of. One glass still had toothpaste on it. Bed was clean but past its best. Positives are ..Great location, cheap and is ok if you arent too picky but the bath and communal areas really bothered me. Maybe the staff dont have enough cleaning hours or equipment. It is obviously used by stag and hen parties but thats no excuse for the neglect of some areas. Because of the above i felt i couldnt eat there.

  • D Moses

  • November 2014

The hotel was well situate for what we needed.

The down side was the windows were single glazed and the window would not close to block some of the noise out. We did not expect it to be silent where the hotel was situated but being able to shut the window may have helped a little. We will though most likely stay at the hotel again as it was ideal for what we needed it for.