Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne



Price From 109.16 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (98)

47% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Hewat

  • January 2014

Amazing for the location right in the centre of Newcastle beside the gate.

Basic but clean all you really need for an overnight stay in Newcastle.

  • shirley haigh

  • December 2013

en suite awful

The hotel is well placed, the staff very friendly, the beds warm ,clean and comfortable the only let down was the en suite, horrible!.

The bath stained with no enamel left on ,the tiles and bath surround mildewed, we used the toilet roll once and had to go to the desk for one .obviously not checked by room service. Shame really as it could have been a perfect overnight stay

  • S Brown

  • December 2013

Good location same about the place

Hotel is ideally placed for station and shops.

Hotel is very scruffy and run down , A cabby told me it is due to be demolished . This seems like a good idea. The room I had was next to old lift shaft and had a loud buzzing noise .

There was a night club thumping out loud music practically under the room.

  • Aalin L

  • December 2013

Ok for Stopover

Looking very tired, could do with a refurb.

Linen clean but shower curtain mouldy and windows filthy. Just about OK for a mother and daughter shopping trip, handy for the shops and private carpark very welcome. Staff very friendy. would never have paid the full price though

  • Joe D

  • December 2013

No problems with the hotel .

Ideally situated . Good car parking . Room was clean and comfortable . No complaints at all

  • D Henley

  • December 2013

Good location but sadly hotel has seen better days...

Fantastic location for making Fawlty Towers sequel...

Hotel built in 1969 and not been decorated since. Staff were friendly and there's free parking, that's about it.

  • L Anderson

  • December 2013

Canny to crash out in for a night out....

Decided it would be easier to book a hotel and crash over after a night out with work colleagues, saving the cost and hassle of a long taxi journey home.

This place is ideally situated in the City Centre, just at the top of the Bigg Market so it is central to wherever you may end up. Don't be expecting some 5 star Vegas hotel, it is what it says on the tin. The car park entrance is literally up the small gap/lane in-between the Hotel Indigo and Assembly Rooms, there is a small sign on the outer wall of the assembly rooms but is quite missable at night. I missed the entrance first time round and took me ages to get back round there due to the amount of traffic. Post Code and directions on the website are spot on for getting there though!!!

  • John Barr

  • December 2013

Lads weekend

3 boys in the room for the two nights, was ideal.

Was exactly what we needed for a very messy weekend. Beds were comfy with plenty space for clothes and a adequate bathroom. If your looking for a hotel just to crash between drinking sessions in Newcastle this place is ideal