Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3

NEWGATE STREET, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX

Price From 92.54 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (126)

53% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Hannah G

  • November 2013

Nice enough hotel... but not for everyone.

The hotel has a 'youth club' feel when you enter, and could do with a spruce up in the main areas.

Our room was nice, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Very useful having a car park. I was worried it was going to be really noisy, and there were several groups of young men around who were obviously out for a big night on the town... but it was fine, and we had no trouble. I can imagine that this hotel can get rather rowdy depending on the clientele - the bar stays open until 4 - so its probably not ideal for those seeking peace and quiet. But its in a great location, and if you're just looking for a comfortable bed after a big night out in Newcastle then this is ideal.

  • Ray C

  • November 2013

Stayed at better BandB's

Looks better in the advert.entrance is awful and looks dirty.

Car park difficult to find. Staff pleasant but hotels looks in need of good clean and update. Stayed at better b and b's for less money. Not for me sadly

  • Geoff S

  • November 2013

Y

Very very basic.

Frequented mainly by Eastern Europeans and groups of young people out for a good time in the Toon. Noisy due to central location. The bar, the most basic and unwelcoming I've ever seen. Can't fault cleanliness of room and comfy bed. Friendly chap on reception.

  • d martin

  • November 2013

The newgate

Very handy for all the shops restraunts, and pubs.

Helpful staff TV and shower didn't work when we arrived but was sorted within five minutes of reporting it to reception. Post code for car park could be put on website as the one we were given took you to the front of the hotel. Otherwise a pleasant two days stay. Bathroom and room were kept clean.

  • Fiona D

  • November 2013

Utterly Appalling.

It has been decades since I stayed somewhere as badly maintained and scruffy as this place.

It was grubby, stuff was damaged and the heating never came on all night. The curtains were hanging off and the carpet in the entrance and lobby was worn and dirty. Stay somewhere else people.

  • R Papworth

  • November 2013

Very basic but comfortable.

Room was a little tatty and could do with a revamp.

  • j elliott

  • October 2013

Basic but clean -- but handy for city centre

  • Charles T

  • October 2013

The 2 rooms we had are desparately in need of refurbishment - certainly not currently up to 3 * rating.

Bottom of the bath was stained, water drained very slowly from basin, hot tap dripped constantly & cracked, leaky cups. Also bed was a bit too soft for our liking

  • s michie

  • October 2013

Really enjoyed my stay.

staff friendly

  • Mark B

  • October 2013

Shabby not chic

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and put up with the general dilapidated state of the place purely because of its great location, car parking and freindly staff however accomodation standards have hit rock bottom and I will not return.

I paid £52.25 for my room this was £52.00 too much .