Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3

NEWGATE STREET, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX

Price From 101.49 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (119)

50% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • D Henley

  • December 2013

Good location but sadly hotel has seen better days...

Fantastic location for making Fawlty Towers sequel...

Hotel built in 1969 and not been decorated since. Staff were friendly and there's free parking, that's about it.

  • L Anderson

  • December 2013

Canny to crash out in for a night out....

Decided it would be easier to book a hotel and crash over after a night out with work colleagues, saving the cost and hassle of a long taxi journey home.

This place is ideally situated in the City Centre, just at the top of the Bigg Market so it is central to wherever you may end up. Don't be expecting some 5 star Vegas hotel, it is what it says on the tin. The car park entrance is literally up the small gap/lane in-between the Hotel Indigo and Assembly Rooms, there is a small sign on the outer wall of the assembly rooms but is quite missable at night. I missed the entrance first time round and took me ages to get back round there due to the amount of traffic. Post Code and directions on the website are spot on for getting there though!!!

  • John Barr

  • December 2013

Lads weekend

3 boys in the room for the two nights, was ideal.

Was exactly what we needed for a very messy weekend. Beds were comfy with plenty space for clothes and a adequate bathroom. If your looking for a hotel just to crash between drinking sessions in Newcastle this place is ideal

  • Karen D

  • November 2013

Repeat visit

Stayed here before.

Good value for money. Hotel needs updating but this is reflected in price.

  • Julie V

  • November 2013

This is a very adequate hotel for an overnight stay.

The availability of car parking with dedicated bays close to reception for women drivers is very thoughtful.If staying at weekends ask for a quiet room away from stag/hen parties!The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Hannah G

  • November 2013

Nice enough hotel... but not for everyone.

The hotel has a 'youth club' feel when you enter, and could do with a spruce up in the main areas.

Our room was nice, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Very useful having a car park. I was worried it was going to be really noisy, and there were several groups of young men around who were obviously out for a big night on the town... but it was fine, and we had no trouble. I can imagine that this hotel can get rather rowdy depending on the clientele - the bar stays open until 4 - so its probably not ideal for those seeking peace and quiet. But its in a great location, and if you're just looking for a comfortable bed after a big night out in Newcastle then this is ideal.

  • Ray C

  • November 2013

Stayed at better BandB's

Looks better in the advert.entrance is awful and looks dirty.

Car park difficult to find. Staff pleasant but hotels looks in need of good clean and update. Stayed at better b and b's for less money. Not for me sadly

  • Geoff S

  • November 2013

Y

Very very basic.

Frequented mainly by Eastern Europeans and groups of young people out for a good time in the Toon. Noisy due to central location. The bar, the most basic and unwelcoming I've ever seen. Can't fault cleanliness of room and comfy bed. Friendly chap on reception.

  • d martin

  • November 2013

The newgate

Very handy for all the shops restraunts, and pubs.

Helpful staff TV and shower didn't work when we arrived but was sorted within five minutes of reporting it to reception. Post code for car park could be put on website as the one we were given took you to the front of the hotel. Otherwise a pleasant two days stay. Bathroom and room were kept clean.

  • Fiona D

  • November 2013

Utterly Appalling.

It has been decades since I stayed somewhere as badly maintained and scruffy as this place.

It was grubby, stuff was damaged and the heating never came on all night. The curtains were hanging off and the carpet in the entrance and lobby was worn and dirty. Stay somewhere else people.