No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
NEWGATE STREET , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE1 5SX
With free parking right in the centre of Newcastle, The Newgate Hotel offers modern rooms with coffee makers. Newcastle’s central shopping and nightlife can all be reached within a 10-minute walk.

The Gate, with its bars, shops, and cinema, is just a 2-minute walk away, and Eldon Square shopping centre is 5 minutes away on foot. Newcastle Rail and Metro Station is a 5-minute walk, and the Metro Radio Arena is 15 minutes’ walk away.

Each room includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Guests can relax with a TV in the room, along with a work desk and tea/coffee.

Full English breakfasts are served in The Rooftop Restaurant with panoramic views over Newcastle city centre. The Terrace Bar provides free Wi-Fi, Sky channels on a large-screen TV, and a wide range of drinks.

Please note that all bookings of 3 rooms or more will be required to pay
a cash security deposit upon arrival at the hotel. Further information
will be provided once a reservation has been confirmed
Picture of Newgate Hotel - Newcastle Upon Tyne, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 139 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 54% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated buget hotel that doesnt do evening meals ?
Dated rooms and appliances, weird layout... Staff were very helpful.

Reviewed by
Chris S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The rooms were awful and the bathroom even worse would not stay here again. The staff were very good

Reviewed by
Carly T

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faulty Towers
This hotel is in a great location but resembled a back packers lodge rather than a hotel. the whole place is in a poor state of repair, the door to my room did not cloe properly the furnitur was dated to say the least, the heating didnt work. The button for the lift was on the other side of reception where the old lift shaft used to be which incidentally had just been wallpapered over.

Reviewed by
M Jenner

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i expected better
Room was big but wasn't very comfortable with dirty walls.
As our room was right beside the lift we had noise of people screaming and running around past the room at all hours.
Most of the other people staying there were young and drunk/on drugs, i even got asked if i had drugs off one of the other people staying there.
Didn't feel comfortable or relaxed there.
Hotel staff were nice and friendly but unfortunately that is not enough to make me stay there again.

Reviewed by
elizabeth r

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loveeee
Great location, central to everything would stay again although hotel was a little outdated and could use a deep clean! You get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
Nicola M

From Prestwick, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, but pretty basic!
The location of this hotel was perfect for what I needed, as attending a function just around the corner, but it wasn't the best accommodation I have stayed in whilst travelling on business and not somewhere I would consider again as it was pretty basic and looking pretty tired and in need of upgrading

Reviewed by
Gary M

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable
Room was clean, comfortable and reasonable prices for the hotel rooms. Was central to shops, bars, restraints and train station. Receptionists were helpful, polite and well mannered. Would stay again if ever in this area again.

Reviewed by
Suzanne W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel was shabby to say the least, My colleague and I checked, and then checked out five minutes later. We eventually stayed at the nearby Ramada, and what a world of difference. I would point out that the staff at the Newgate were extremely helpful. Its a Shame their place of work did not match up to them.

Reviewed by
Chris O'Brien

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quiet comfortable stay

Reviewed by
i amin

From north tyneside, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wierd
the hotel whilst central to newcastle was architecturally challenged and the public rooms unwelcoming and cold especially the restaurant for breakfast. no lift from the street not explained, poor bar, narrow range of drinks.
Noisy people on my first night woken at 4.00 am with people screaming
Bedroom radiator cold

Reviewed by
Ken Bartlett

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next