No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Parkgate Road,Mollington , Chester, CH1 6NN
This 4-star country-house hotel is set in nice grounds, 2 miles from Chester city centre. It has an indoor swimming pool, a sauna, gym, hot tub, squash courts and spa.

Mollington Banastre has free parking, Free WIFI and a Spa. The Garden Room Restaurant looks out over the gardens and offers modern cuisine. The lounge bar and the informal Brasserie in the Health Club serve afternoon tea, light snacks and drinks. The hotel is 5 minutes from Chester Racecourse.

Rooms at Mollington are elegantly decorated and offer work desks, some with garden views. All rooms have an en suite bathroom, flat-screen TV with Freeview, free WIFI and tea and coffee facilities.

Well located for the M56, Chester, Mollington Banastre Hotel is also 5 minutes’ drive from Cheshire Oaks Shopping Outlet where guests receive an additional 10% discount. Ellesmere Port and Chester Zoo are both under 10 minutes drive.
Picture of Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 138 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Reception staff extremely helpful & friendly, room spacious, bathroom looked recenctly refitted and shower was excellent, general decor of hotel perhaps a little dated but overall still excellent value for money , breakfast v good value at £7.50, location is less than £10 in a taxi to Chester centre and apparently hotel offers 10% discount at Cheshire oaks although we didn't find that it'd until we checked in post shopping, pool area & jacuzzi also very clean/ helpful staff

Reviewed by
louise p

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

potential to be excellent
Hotel stuated close to Chester and easy to find. Receptionist very helpful and friendly. The whole place needs a refurbishment. Decor and furnishings were tatty and dated. The lounge bar was understaffed. There was a wedding reception and this caused a lack of available clean glasses. A trolley full of used glasses stood for the 2 hours we spent in the lounge and more glasses continued to be stacked up on the bar, with no-one available to deal with them. The excellent piano player had to work with a piano that was in desperate need of tuning. Our room was comfortable and clean. Both the bedroom and the breakfast room were plagued by wasps. We were unable to close the small window in our room due to the ivy invading the window.

Reviewed by
W King

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice room but public areas a bit tired
Booked via late rooms at last minute. Room was clean and good value. Garden and terrace very nice, though tables had dirty ashtrays. Corridors on approach to room were tired and a bit shabby. Bar was dirty and menu on show was dirty. Restaurant service was ok but let down by bar service. Standard of drink presentation was poor and bar tender carried glass of wine by the top, not at stem. Basic service standards not delivered and at hotel prices!!

Reviewed by
T Mitchell

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff very friendly and helpful x

Reviewed by
Y Swann

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big hotel but looking its age, could do with upgrading. Nothing special for the price.
our room bulbs gone in table light, and the soft soap a pain.

Reviewed by
Steve Blake

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shabby without the chic
This was a last minute stay, having decided to extend our trip to Cheshire following a day at RHS Tatton flower show. I had hoped to be able to use the spa on the Sunday as an extra treat.
The original building is hidden by unsympathetic extensions, which look like they were undertaken in the 1970s. Very little appears to have been done, to either the exterior or interior since.
The room and the rest of the hotel were in desperate need of decoration, a good clean and an up-date.
We received a warm welcome from the receptionist, unfortunately the customer service ended there. We decided to eat at the hotel as the menu looked reasonable and varied. We were greeted very abruptly at the restaurant and when we asked for a table were asked what time it was (it was 8.20, the restaurant served until 9.00).
The food was very average, I had smoked mackeral fish cakes - they were on a par with Asda's Extra Special, so ok, but nothing to write home about. We asked a question about one of the desserts and were given wrong information.
We decided to have a swim before breakfast - the pool was a reasonable size and an enjoyable part of our stay. The changing rooms were terrible. Signs asking guests to ensure personal belongings were placed in the secured lockers, but only two were lockable. Of the 6 showers, 2 didn't work and only 2 had a shower curtain. After this experience we decided not to enquire about any treatments in the spa.
Breakfast was another disappointment - self service hot buffet - soggy bacon, sausages that looked like they didn't contain much meat and eggs that I would have thought twice about feeding the dog.
Having pointed out to a waiter that he had been rude, he responded by telling me that he was very busy and attempting to ensure that there was enough food for me. As a guest I felt it was not appropriate to justify his rudeness.
We got the room half price which is probably a good job, because even at that rate, I don't feel I got value for money.
There is nothing I could recommend about Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel and Spa.

Reviewed by
Susan Brady

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

so nice to have such help in every way, made the stay even better.

Reviewed by
Marion Walters

From Avon, USA
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay in Chester!
The quality of the hotel was overall excellent, the only disappointment was the cost and quality of food/ drink available.

Reviewed by
s mallett

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel
It was a good hotel, the spa was good an the food was good too, also the rooms and hotel were clean

Reviewed by
t godwin

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although the rooms were clean, the rest of the decor needs to be invested in.
The place needs a good overall as every where looked tired and needed decorating.
Wouldn't stay again until this was done, and would not recommend as a wedding venue.

Reviewed by
David L

From Sidmouth , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next