The Star Alfriston

3

High Street, Alfriston, BN26 5TA

Price From 154.03 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

89% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Sheila Y

  • September 2014

Great wedding poor accommodation

I attended a wedding at the venue which I couldn't fault, everything went very smoothly and the wedding food was excellent.

If I had just been using the hotel for overnight accommodation I would have been very disappointed. I realise the hotel is situated in a picturesque village but feel the service they provide doesn't justify the nightly cost. Breakfast was from a self service buffet and fairly basic. There were no towels in my room and the receptionist insisted on checking the room before providing any.

  • D Lane

  • September 2014

Short break

Alfriston is delightful and the Star is a great place to stay situated right in the middle of the village.

The main part of the building is extremely old which is lovely, There are some rooms in a newer wing which are good but not as quaint. Service is good however there can be a language barrier with staff due to their etnic origin - a small issue. Food is generally good but, avoid busy times!!

  • anne B

  • June 2014

In need of refurbishment

Have been staying there over 20 years.

Sadly it is now run down but I understand at last a refurb programme is due to start. The breakfast has become below average with sliced bread no fresh fruit disgusting coffee ( the same as so many hotels make: Boiled cona style coffee.)

What can't be taken away is the wonderful setting of alfriston and a beautiful historic building. Let's hope the refurb breathes new life and we will certainly stay there again.

  • J McLean

  • May 2014

A Glyndebourne Star

We always use the Star when we go to Glyndebourne.

The staff and facilities are excellent although the size of the room is fairly small. We arrive for a late lunch (the beef sandwiches are superb - rare or well cooked) After the opera we return for a nightcap but are moved from the bar to a lounge to allow the bedrooms above the bar some quiet.. The Star has its own carpark which is very useful as other hotels send you to park outside the village. All in all a great findat a reasonable price. With the smallish bedroom not really suitable if you want to spend time here apart from sleeping.

  • Christine Jennings

  • May 2014

Though brief, our stay was thoroughly enjoyable.

No complaints at all.

We have stayed at Alfriston many times before (for Glyndebourne opera), but never before at The Star. We may well come again.

  • Karen R

  • March 2014

Lovely place to stay

Very easy going and pleasant place to stay - for me and my dog

  • David L

  • March 2014

Comfortable, clean and good location

We stayed here for one night whilst walking a section of the South Downs way (Alfriston to Lewes).

The room was comfortable, clean and quiet and the breakfast filling for a day's walking. The location is good: only a couple of minutes to the South Downs Way path. It's also opposite the George Inn which is a good spot for beer and food if you don't fancy eating in the restaurant. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Ian T

  • August 2013

Everything was fine, room, en-suite, food all excellent.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the position superb. Also very quiet. We were well away from the road and had a comfortable night.

  • Robert H

  • July 2013

Weekend stay

The hotel is in the centre of the lovely village of Alfriston.

All of the staff who I dealt with before arrival and during our stay were fantastic. We had breakfast, which was fine, but did not have any other meals in the hotel. The bedroom looked very dated and definitely is in need of redecoration.