No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Star Alfriston

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
High Street , Alfriston, BN26 5TA
This famous 13th Century inn was once a renowned meeting place for smugglers in times gone by. Oak beams and open fires offer mellow reminders of the past and create an intimate atmosphere in the bar. The Star Alfriston has 37 bedrooms, including 2 Feature Rooms, located in the original 13th century part of the hotel and a spacious Mini-Suite with a half-tester bed and additional sofa bed. Extra beds and travel cots are available for families in selected rooms (supplements apply for children 3-12 years). All rooms are en-suite and include a hospitality tray, free Wi-Fi and flat screen TV with DVD player. Some guest rooms are located in a more modern wing at the rear of the hotel.

The Capella restaurant serves modern cuisine using fresh, produce sourced from local businesses in East Sussex. The Bar offers a selection of tasty hot and cold meals. Our public rooms have great character offering a traditional and relaxing environment. The Star is set in the heart of the South Downs, where there are many fine walks, with the South Downs Way passing right by the door of the hotel. There is also easy access to both Eastbourne (approx 4 miles) and Brighton (approx 18 miles).

Please note that the hotel operates a full non-smoking policy.

Dog charge - £10 per dog per night
Cots - £5 per cot per night - Bedding will be supplied. Dog biscuit, water dish, towel and blanket are provided. Please advise the hotel via the special requests field or by contacting the hotel directly before your arrival.’
Picture of The Star Alfriston, Alfriston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Alfriston is delightful and the Star is a great place to stay situated right in the middle of the village. The main part of the building is extremely old which is lovely, There are some rooms in a newer wing which are good but not as quaint.
Service is good however there can be a language barrier with staff due to their etnic origin - a small issue.
Food is generally good but, avoid busy times!!

Reviewed by
D Lane

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great wedding poor accommodation
I attended a wedding at the venue which I couldn't fault, everything went very smoothly and the wedding food was excellent. If I had just been using the hotel for overnight accommodation I would have been very disappointed. I realise the hotel is situated in a picturesque village but feel the service they provide doesn't justify the nightly cost. Breakfast was from a self service buffet and fairly basic. There were no towels in my room and the receptionist insisted on checking the room before providing any.

Reviewed by
Sheila Y

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of refurbishment
Have been staying there over 20 years. Sadly it is now run down but I understand at last a refurb programme is due to start.
The breakfast has become below average with sliced bread no fresh fruit disgusting coffee ( the same as so many hotels make: Boiled cona style coffee.)
What can't be taken away is the wonderful setting of alfriston and a beautiful historic building. Let's hope the refurb breathes new life and we will certainly stay there again.

Reviewed by
anne B

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Glyndebourne Star
We always use the Star when we go to Glyndebourne. The staff and facilities are excellent although the size of the room is fairly small. We arrive for a late lunch (the beef sandwiches are superb - rare or well cooked) After the opera we return for a nightcap but are moved from the bar to a lounge to allow the bedrooms above the bar some quiet..
The Star has its own carpark which is very useful as other hotels send you to park outside the village. All in all a great findat a reasonable price. With the smallish bedroom not really suitable if you want to spend time here apart from sleeping.

Reviewed by
J McLean

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Though brief, our stay was thoroughly enjoyable.
No complaints at all. We have stayed at Alfriston many times before (for Glyndebourne opera), but never before at The Star. We may well come again.

Reviewed by
Christine Jennings

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Very easy going and pleasant place to stay - for me and my dog

Reviewed by
Karen R

From Hailsham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, clean and good location
We stayed here for one night whilst walking a section of the South Downs way (Alfriston to Lewes). The room was comfortable, clean and quiet and the breakfast filling for a day's walking. The location is good: only a couple of minutes to the South Downs Way path. It's also opposite the George Inn which is a good spot for beer and food if you don't fancy eating in the restaurant. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
David L

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything was fine, room, en-suite, food all excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful and the position superb. Also very quiet. We were well away from the road and had a comfortable night.

Reviewed by
Ian T

From Lechlade, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
The hotel is in the centre of the lovely village of Alfriston. All of the staff who I dealt with before arrival and during our stay were fantastic. We had breakfast, which was fine, but did not have any other meals in the hotel. The bedroom looked very dated and definitely is in need of redecoration.

Reviewed by
Robert H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.