No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hatherley Manor Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Down Hatherley Lane,Down Hatherley , Gloucester, GL2 9QA
Hatherley Manor is just 3 miles from Gloucester city centre and 8 miles from the Regency town of Cheltenham Spa on the very edge of the Cotswolds. It is rumoured that Hatherley Manor was built for the illegitimate son of Oliver Cromwell. However, the history of the site stretches back over a thousand years and has direct links to Edward the Confessor. Extensive mature gardens, a spacious walled garden and an orchard make up the hotels 37 acre private estate.

Hatherley Manor is a contemporary, modern country house where historic heritage and charm blends perfectly with modern comfort and luxury. En-suite rooms have a modern country house feel and feature a good-sized working area, internet access and Freeview TV. Many offer views of the surrounding gardens and countryside. The Executive and Feature rooms offer historical charm coupled with sophisticated luxury, many with original features such as oak panelled walls and period feature fireplaces.

A member of Classic British Hotels.

Picture of Hatherley Manor Hotel, Gloucester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room
room very small

Reviewed by
June Graham

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Lovely big room to fit all 5 of us in, albeit one of the camp beds was on its last legs! Food was expensive but was very good quality. Staff helpful.

Reviewed by
J Marston

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but pricey
We were very impressed with the architecture and decor of the building, the food at breakfast and the helpfulness of the staff. Our room was very large and the bathroom was luxurious. We were very lucky to have good weather and enjoyed a drink on the lawn in the afternoon, with a game of giant chess. There was a party in the function room both nights but the sound was kept well away from our room and we had a good night's sleep. It was a bit pricey but we knew that when we booked.

Reviewed by
Natalie W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good value for money
The room was nothing like advertised, it was small, dark and the view was a member of staff's moped parked right near the window. (room 117) There was a problem with the guttering and water was pouring down the outside walls. Under the window there were buckets with various bits of rubbish. I asked for a change of room and was told they were fully booked-I was not asked what the problem was. I asked for a menu to the restaurant there was none available. There was no price list for the restaurant anywhere. When I did find one it was for a 7 course meal for £75 a head. The weekend was supposed to be a bit special and it was like a very low standard travel lodge. I paid £122 for one night including breakfast. The breakfast was the only positive thing about the stay, the staff were very attentive and well mannered. If there are no prices I will not use the facilities. In the end we found a wonderful pub and had a fantastic meal. However, we were not planning on driving and this was booked so we would not need to go out in the car.
The only guests that seemed to get any attention were the wedding guests and to be quite honest the other hotel guests were treated as if we had no right to be there. it was a very disappointing stay and not worth the money.

Reviewed by
J Palmer

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Charming staff, I was upgraded to a superior room, which was very nice. Dinner was nice, apart from the dried up smear of (I think) puréed butter nut squash across my plate: smears are a bit passé, and dried up ones very unappealing. That was the only flaw in an other wise perfect experience, so it certainly would not prevent me from returning.

Reviewed by
Patricia Dearnaley

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

slumberlicious
We had a lovely room , clean and bright tasteful decor ..... we found the bed incredibky comfortable with lovely soft pillows !! I thought the way thd tea and coffee were stored was a special touch

Reviewed by
julie marsh

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 nights stay in lovely surroundings.
Old manor house in lovely surroundings. Staff friendly and helpful but request to oil severe squeak on bathroom door was not granted despite the usual "no problem".
The corridors and rooms in the newer wing are rather dark and cheerless.
Food good but rather expensive for size of portion.
Weddings and other functions each day of our stay made the hotel a noisy place in all public rooms but this did not affect the bedroom.

Reviewed by
john P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
Room smart and good quality but room view sadly of a back yard . Quiet though even though a wedding going on that night. Breakfast pricey on top of room fee.

Reviewed by
nicola a

From Pen-y-ffordd, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly & helpful staff, lovely location & a very comfy bed - Excellent

Reviewed by
L Rimmer

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel , perfect for a romantic getaway.9/10
Enjoyable stay , very friendly and helpful staff. Room was very clean and very comfortable , perfect for a romantic getaway . Hatherley Manor has lovely grounds and equally lovely accomodation. Overall a fantastic place to stay ,wheather it be buisiness or leisure.9/10

Reviewed by
Craig C

From sandbach, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next