No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Nottingham City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. James'S Street , Nottingham, NG1 6BN
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel is a purpose built hotel in a superb City Centre location.
Nottingham Castle, Victoria Shopping Centre and Trent Bridge Cricket Ground are all adjacent to the hotel proving an ideal base for both Business and Leisure. Historic Sherwood Forest, home to the legend of Robin Hood, is only a 30-minute journey buy car.
All 166 en-suite bedrooms are decorated in a contemporary style, boast comfortable beds and guests can enjoy Tea & Coffee making facilities, TV, Telephone and Trouser Press.

Fine Cuisine is served in Jenny’s restaurant with Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Bar rogue is a bright, spacious area to relax and unwind serving a wide selection of drinks.

The hotel features 8 conference rooms available for any occasion, catering for up to 400 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Britannia Nottingham City Centre, Nottingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 385 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean hotel and good value for money
The hotel was clean and tidy and the room was good value for money for an overnight stay.

Reviewed by
S Hind

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing weekend
friendly greeting at reception ,room with panoramic view of the city,varied choice of breakfast

Reviewed by
David R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did it's job
Recently went on a last minute night out with a friend, we chose Nottingham and the Britannia was the better option for us as we wanted city centre for the best price, we paid the Late Rooms discounted price but was surprised to hear someone in front of us was checking into the same room type for much more, Overall, it's a very bog standard hotel, I wasn't expecting much but maybe a little more quality would've been nice, It did it's job and would stay again if price was reasonable.

Reviewed by
C Crowson

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed with the room. Felt unclean and neglected. Bath had hairs in it. Very crampt for a twin room. Customer service was dire. Waited 20 mins to be checked in and even then we had no apology or even a smile or hello. Room service doesnt exist.
Asked if we could have two glasses and was told to go to the bar. Apart from the use of a bed toilet and shower cant see what i paid £40 for. Would have been pretty much the same experience in a hostel... And for cheaper!

Reviewed by
f young

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay in August
Poor customer service. Receptionist wasn't friendly and when it came to telling me my room number she left all my details on the side for anybody to see and didn't offer me a receipt for my card payment. No hospitality at all.
The hotel is very tired, wallpaper ripped and holes in the carpet. A grand total of 6 channels on the tv too.

Reviewed by
H W

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money and central location.
Good central hotel near to good pubs and excellent value for money. Brilliant screening at the windows meant you could still feel the benefit of open windows when they were closed for the night.

Reviewed by
DOUGLAS K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No wifi in room.
Poor breakfast.

Reviewed by
S Vukusic

From Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better Than Before:
Previously when we stayed at this hotel on a night out, the room was small, cramped and dirty. This time it was rather spacious and clean, even had a fridge! Was a little confused when I paid on check in and didn't receive a receipt or anything, didn't even check out property, was just told to leave our key cards on the desk. If you're thinking of going out and bringing someone back with you, think again, a rather grumpy man will block the lift doors, ask what room you're in, tick you off on a list, and ask what room your 'companions' in, and then proceed to tell her she's not permitted on the premises.

Reviewed by
Sam H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will not be staying again
In summary,
No Air Conditioning in room.
No Air Conditioning in Hotel (out of service)
Old dirty Sock was left on the smoke detector
Dated Decor
Uncomfortable bed
Hotel restaurant opened late and closed earlier than advertized
Had to purchase refreshments from reception

Reviewed by
JOHN G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't Bother
Door between our room and next room was left unlocked, and woman staying in next room came into our room at 1:30am thinking it was the bathroom! Totally unacceptable!! Called reception who sent someone to lock it at the time. Raised it again at checkout, and all we got was "Housekeeping have apologised for forgetting to lock door". I think we deserve much more than an apology. Totally irresponsible!!

Reviewed by
Kishor N

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next