No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Nottingham City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. James'S Street , Nottingham, NG1 6BN
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel is a purpose built hotel in a superb City Centre location.
Nottingham Castle, Victoria Shopping Centre and Trent Bridge Cricket Ground are all adjacent to the hotel proving an ideal base for both Business and Leisure. Historic Sherwood Forest, home to the legend of Robin Hood, is only a 30-minute journey buy car.
All 166 en-suite bedrooms are decorated in a contemporary style, boast comfortable beds and guests can enjoy Tea & Coffee making facilities, TV, Telephone and Trouser Press.

Fine Cuisine is served in Jenny’s restaurant with Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Bar rogue is a bright, spacious area to relax and unwind serving a wide selection of drinks.

The hotel features 8 conference rooms available for any occasion, catering for up to 400 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Britannia Nottingham City Centre, Nottingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 359 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for the price
Easier to list the bad points first: the bed was rock solid and too hard to sleep on, the wifi did not work whatsoever, fairly certain one of the lifts is still broken, and apparently if you get some water on the floor of the bathroom it leaks into the room below (if you stayed in the room below 811 on 24th January, I am sorry about that).
However: the staff were all perfectly friendly and helpful, the room was clean, everything in it worked fine, pretty good value for the money. Not a bad stay overall but the hard mattress really did make it difficult to sleep.

Reviewed by
B Mays

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value.
Stayed one night after a trip to the theatre. No problems with check in.
Room was clean and bed comfortable.
I never experienced problems with the lift but did hear a couple of guests complaining that they'd had to wait awhile.
Majority of the breakfast was good but found the bacon very hard.
After the theatre, we went for a night cap, only to find that the bar was closed at 11.30pm.
Overall great location and for the price of £40 for a room, we would stop again.

Reviewed by
R Ball

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and clean
No two ways about it, the hotel is cheap and functional. It was fine to stay over-night and had all I needed; comfy bed, TV, tea/coffee, hot shower and clean. Receptionist was helpful and friendly. Good value at £35 for the night.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth H

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay with friend
Given a double bed, but on request it was changed for a twin. Reception staff only just polite. We were concerned about a man hanging around the reception listening to conversations and using the lifts when reported to desk, they just said they knew. Room and beds were clean and comfortable, and water hot. Good location and easy to find and value for money.

Reviewed by
h lee

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
Ideal for a good value basic city break

Reviewed by
C Collins

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room
My original room was freezing. Had to tell the receptionist who got the manager tofind me an alternative room that was much better..
Breakfast was good value for money.

Reviewed by
Howard B

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap accommodation
The cost of the room was cheap but that sort of reflected the quality. It was very tired. A cushion was missing from the sofa and the room was rather small.

Reviewed by
C Jones

From Rhyl, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disorganised staff, Never a good nights sleep
The rooms are always shabby and dirty, way to over priced hotel. If you ask the hotel staff for anything they take 2 hours to do it. We also got woke up 2 hours before check out by room service who actually walked into our room. I don't understand how they would think that is an ok thing to do.

Reviewed by
m gillott

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were nice but constantly talking to each other when being served. room was dirty & old fashioned

Reviewed by
Sara S

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would not return here
The hotel was over priced for what it was. There was never anyone at reception and the room was freezing. When asked about the heating we were told it came on at 6.30pm. We checked in at 2pm so were left in a very cold room bearing in mind it was December. The room was ok apart from that but the bathroom was unpleasant. Very old looking and lots of cracked tiles. Would not come to this hotel again.

Reviewed by
D green

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next