No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Nottingham City Centre

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
St. James'S Street , Nottingham, NG1 6BN
The Britannia Nottingham Hotel is a purpose built hotel in a superb City Centre location.
Nottingham Castle, Victoria Shopping Centre and Trent Bridge Cricket Ground are all adjacent to the hotel proving an ideal base for both Business and Leisure. Historic Sherwood Forest, home to the legend of Robin Hood, is only a 30-minute journey buy car.
All 166 en-suite bedrooms are decorated in a contemporary style, boast comfortable beds and guests can enjoy Tea & Coffee making facilities, TV, Telephone and Trouser Press.

Fine Cuisine is served in Jenny’s restaurant with Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Bar rogue is a bright, spacious area to relax and unwind serving a wide selection of drinks.

The hotel features 8 conference rooms available for any occasion, catering for up to 400 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Britannia Nottingham City Centre, Nottingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 371 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful, cheap and handy
After changing rooms as the heating in my first room didn't work, everything was ok, staff were very helpful, nothing a drama.

Reviewed by
N Marr

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid at all cost
In line with the bad reviews and its title of worst chain of hotel in the UK, my experience with Britannia hotel has been dismal. Firstly, on arrival, my sister and I were greeted by receptionists who would do well to take a course on customer service. While we were being served, the receptionist kept being interrupted by her colleague for comments which were not work related. As a result of this lack of focus, she misprocessed our payment and charged our card twice. Thankfully, I noticed in time to insist on an immediate refund. Upon reaching our room, we were slightly surprised by how old the building was. The decor was unimpressive, the bathroom bassin had separate hot and cold water taps, the toilet flush was some bizarre knob, dust was settled behind the bathroom mirror, the curtains were thick and looked unclean, the bed sheets looked worn out and there was no pillowcase. The heater in the room was not working and this was a pain since it was one of the coldest nights of the year in Nottingham. The extractor/heater maintained a hissing sound throughout our stay and there was no way to stop it. The walls were so thin that we could clearly hear conversations being held next door. The only plus point I can think of is the store room service for luggage since we had to check out by 1200 but our train was scheduled for 4 pm. I am never going to stay in Britannia again. Early bookings at Travelodge prove cheaper and are slightly better. Premier Inn's quality has also improved. Next time, I will prioritise comfort over budget. Lesson well learnt!

Reviewed by
Natasha B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location but a bit tired
Booked the hotel for a Xmas weekend away with my partner. Excellent location for everything we wanted and we knew to expect basic accommodation with price we were paying. Quite tired looking inside and in need of some maintenance, but can't be value. More a budget lads weekend away hotel.

Reviewed by
Cy T

From Ashby De La Zouch, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room larger than expected, fairly quiet on 9th floor, only fault was TV remote did'nt work.
Plug serving kettle also did'nt work so had to relocate tea making equipment.
Room was comfortable. We booked a twin bedded room for two people and got two double beds and two bathrooms so no complaints there.

Reviewed by
John I

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay = adequate
There was a long queue at reception when we arrived. One of the lifts was broken. The key cards never worked and we had to return to reception (still a queue). It took 40 minuets in total to get into our room. Room was quite large and roomy, clean but very tired. We were quite late to breakfast (9.45) and there was very little food left and even when asked by guests arriving after us no further food was provided. The bacon had run out so had the eggs, bread, juice and coffee. The bread and juice were replenished but nothing else. We had to set our own table! The staff started to help themselves to what little food was left whilst guests were still eating. Would stay again but probably not pay for breakfast or make sure we went down earlier.

Reviewed by
Gary F

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
Great hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay, had a problem with the kettle, but got resolved quickly as I took the kettle down to reception, got a new one in 10 mins

Reviewed by
Ashley Whitehead

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room for money. Just general stains on the carpets and sofa but all else was fine!

Reviewed by
jemma a

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location - kinda Tired ?
Loved the central location, but my room had a damaged, slightly dangerous (had I returned inebriated!) chair. Having said that, as soon as I reported it, I was given a different (and higher value) room. Some furniture was a little "tired", but at the price, quite adequate. Staff very helpful when I wanted to leave luggage at reception during/after breakfast.

Reviewed by
W Mayling

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great night out!
Booked the room so u could have a night out. I was expecting a bit of a horrid stay for the price I paid but it was clean and tidy and I slept like a log! Nice bath but no shower and tv wasn't very good which is why quality of room got a 4.

Reviewed by
Daniel L

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money! !
Me and my husband stayed here for 1 night, parking was very convenient right next door to hotel. Reception staff were friendly and quick. Our room was very spacious and very simple. Everthing worked tv, hairdryer, kettle, good pressure in shower. Room looked clean and was mostly only on close inspection did I notice how dirty the toilet was. For £39 a night for me and the husband it was brilliant value for money. If you want special or luxury go somewhere else but if you want a good nights sleep in a good room then this hotel is fine xxx

Reviewed by
sarah D

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next