Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
91% would recommend it to a friend
Very pleasant stay and good accommodation for the weekend.
The owner was really helpful and informative. Our stay with the dog was one that we would do again. I would recommend this hotel to other friends in the future.
We would definitely book again in this hotel
Great for a short stay
Comfortable bed, great breakfast, spacious bathroom with nice toiletries.
Another excellent stay
EVERYTHING was just right.
I had booked two separate consecutive nights, by mistake, rather than as one two night booking. All was taken care of extremely well. We had a great stay. And the golf experience for our son terrific.
Everything was excellent from the pre arrival phone call, the welcome, the rooms, the facilities, the little details, the breakfast, the tasteful decor.
I could go on...
Exactly what you want in a bed and breakfast, delightful.
First impressions are so important, and the Sutherland did not disappoint.
A very friendly warm welcome awaited us, which after many hours of travelling was very welcome. Immediately upon entering it was apparent that they take pride in running the Sutherland, not only visibly but the atmosphere was very warming. They have kept all the qualities of the age of the property and have quality furnishings, throughout, and with the relaxed atmosphere we knew we would definitely enjoy our stay. We will definitely return there on our next visit, and have recommended it to our relations in Deal for them to recommend on. We run a bed and breakfast ourselves so are particularly fussy.
Response from hotel
Thank you for your kind comments doubly welcomed from the pen of two of my peers.
The place is nice and the staff were great but the meal was over priced at £29 per head for what it was.
Even more so when we did not get any options as to what we had. I sat down to dinner and was served salmon which was no good as I dont eat fish and then to be told you should have told us. At no point were we asked about any personal dislikes or allergys. Also a bottle of house chardonnay at £17 pounds is disgusting. You expect to pay over the odds but that was to much. The full English breakfastwas ok in the morning although I cant remember where I last stayed and only got one sausage and one slice of bacon. My advice if you stay here is eat and drink out. Hope this does not put you off staying here as it was a nice place.
Response from hotel
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall.
Your comments about your evening meal, we accept, however we operate a dining room not a restaurant offering set meals, which suits the style of our small establishment
You misinterpreted our comments, had you not started your trio of smoked salmon we would and could have offered alternatives.
The cost of 29.00 gbp is for 3 courses and reflects the high quality local ingredients we offer.
The 17.00 GBP for our house wine represents good value for the quality offered and LOCAL average prices. You seemed to enjoy the wine as you ordered TWO bottles.
Finally, our breakfast menu clearly says 'if your tempted please ask for larger portions'. Indeed one customer asked for( and got) FOUR poached eggs with his kippers!!!!
Myself and my girlfriend just stayed at Sutherland house for the night on Saturday and we had a great experience.
The house has a very quaint feel to it, very homely. The room was spacious with tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom was carpeted too which is always a bonus to me. The hosts Gary and Gerry were very accommodating. Very helpful with what to do in the area, recommending a trip to Dover castle which I highly recommend you do if visiting.
This hotel is alright, but not very welcoming and the bathroom wasn't very clean.
The breakfast was poor as well.
Very warm room and comfortable bed.