No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hare and Hounds Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Westonbirt , Tetbury, GL8 8QL
Winner of The Cotswold Tourism Hotel of the Year Silver Award

The Hare & Hounds Hotel at Westonbirt near Tetbury is the perfect choice for anyone seeking Cotswold accommodation in a traditional English country hotel. It is set in acres of well-tended gardens and woodland, adjacent to the renowned Westonbirt National Arboretum.

Situated amidst the beautiful countryside of the Southern Cotswolds, the Hare and Hounds Hotel is a fine English country house hotel within easy reach of the region's numerous stately homes, gardens, bustling Cotswold market towns, pretty Cotswold villages and visitor attractions. The Hare and Hounds Hotel is easily accessible from the M4, which is 10 miles away, and the M5, which is within 15 minutes drive. The World Heritage Site of Bath is 20 miles from the Hare and Hounds Hotel and London is 2 hours away by car.

The accommodation at The Hare and Hounds Hotel consists of 42 bedrooms. All bedrooms are en suite and feature televisions, direct dial telephone, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, tea/coffee making facilities and iron/ironing board. There is also ample free parking and croquet lawn. Golf, polo and excellent walks nearby

Jack Hare's is a lively English country pub with a friendly atmosphere and welcoming log fires during the cooler seasons. It is popular with locals and guests alike and offers a great selection of food. The bar menu is available throughout the day and meals range from freshly prepared baguettes to more substantial dishes such as Gloucester Old Spot Pork Sausages, grilled salmon, roasted cod, steak and Cotswold Ploughman's. A selection of real ales and wines are available in Jack Hare's Bar.

The Beaufort Restaurant, recently awarded 2 AA rosettes, is an elegant setting serving fine English and Continental-style cuisine cooked using local Cotswold ingredients wherever possible. Its original period architectural features include an impressive hammer-beamed ceiling, wooden floors and grand bay windows that overlook the beautiful country gardens.

Picture of Hare and Hounds Hotel, Tetbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do your research.
This hotel is very popular with wedding parties, and as such you may be restricted to certain areas of the hotel during such times. It is advisable to check with the hotel before you confirm your booking to see whether or not a wedding is taking place during your stay.

Reviewed by
A Browning

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay was a birthday treat for my wife. Great room, great food (in the bar), very attentive and helpful staff. Made to feel very welcome.

Reviewed by
Richard W

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful stay
Perfect location for Highgrove. Great value for money, beautiful room, gorgeous decor and so well maintained. Helpful and friendly staff. Will return and recommend. Love to know how to get hold of the room spray fragrance!

Reviewed by
E Woodhead

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

anniversary celebration
we spent two wonderful nights at the hare and hounds hotel the food ,accommodation and staff were first class and look foreward to staying there again.

Reviewed by
julie m

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideally located for Highgrove and Tetbury
We stayed just one night whilst visiting Highgrove the hotel is ideally located and easily accessible from both the M4 and M5.
We stayed in one of the superior courtyard suites and were very pleased overall with the room and it's facilities especially the turn down bed service which included the hospitality tray being re-stocked. The only slight disappointment given the overall size of the suite was that the shower cubicle was very tiny in comparison and the water from both sink and shower was extremely hot as soon as the tap was turned on so much so my husband burnt his hands.
Quality of the breakfast was exceptional. We would chose to stay here again if visiting the area as the hotel was a nice size and a lovely graded building full of luxurious personal touches.

Reviewed by
Nigel B

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic overnight stay.
Booked as a Birthday treat for my husband and made the mistake of focusing on some of the negative comments when I read the reviews after booking. I went with mixed feelings but on arrival my concerns were completely unnecessary, we were greeted by efficient welcoming staff and shown to a fantastic room (lilac) with a kingsize bed which was in Silkwood court; a small complex of rooms situated behind the main Hotel. Despite backing onto the car park it was very quiet and peaceful.
The bed was very comfortable, the room was spotless and all the little extras were very much appreciated; especially the lovely toiletries. Having saved £100 on the deal it made the B&B rate extremely good value for money and the Breakfast was excellent.; my husband has a healthy apetite and he was unable to clear his plate.
Couldn't eat in the Restaurant as they were fully booked so had a meal in the Bar which was ok but quite pricey for what we had which was basically sausage and mash and chicken in gravy.(coq au vin).
I would definitely stay here again and hope the weather is better so that we can visit the arboretum which sadly we didn't get to do on this visit as it never stopped raining.

Reviewed by
J Weller

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved this place so much!
My friend and I were on a road trip around the Cotswolds. We picked hotels for each stop and The Hare and Hounds turned out to be the best. We had a twin room which ended up being one of the cottages on the hotel grounds. We loved it. We had our own patio area to sit outside and our room was wonderful. The hotel itself is quiet and secluded and we loved it. The bar in the hotel did a good selection of food, and we only used the main restaurant for breakfast in the morning. We were able to really relax before we moved on to our next location. I can thoroughly recommend this place.

Reviewed by
J Gibson

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed every minute of our stay. Staff were brilliant, and always happy to help.

Reviewed by
CHRISTOPHER & SAMMY BACON

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Stayed at the Hare and Hounds, as my friend and I went to a concert at the arboretum, hotel was brilliant, spotless room, attentive staff, the breakfast was lovely.
And a short walk to the arboretum, we where pre advised that there was going to be a wedding there that day and there may be some noise, but we heard nothing, the room we had, had a lovely little court yard garden.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
N Fairclough

From Trowbridge, England
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dodo21
fab stay. staff great. food very good. can't wait to go back next year.

Reviewed by
D PITT

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next