Reviews - Hare and Hounds Hotel


Westonbirt, Tetbury, GL8 8QL

Price From 177.58 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (20)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Peter S

  • November 2015

Hare 'n Hounds

We love this hotel because the staff are so welcoming and helpful.

The food is exceptionally good. The only slight criticism of our room was that the shower was a bit difficult and dated. We will want to stay again especially as it is so close to the wonderful National Arboretum.

  • S Starkie

  • August 2015

Good accommodation; astonishing food

The room was pleasant and serviceable.

The bath room was capacious and lovely. Because my room was on the road side of the hotel it was a bit noisy in the morning during what passes for rush hour in this part of the country. There are many lovely places to sit, drink, read and relax. The garden is lovely and so big that there's little chance if you feeling that someone is encroaching on earshot, never one personal space. The bar menu is decent and reasonably priced. The restaurant is mor expensive but absolutely sublime. Worth travelling for.

  • c doyle

  • March 2015

Hare and Hounds Hotel

Have stayed here three times previously, and always found the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Valerie A

  • February 2015

Excellent standard at the Hare and Hounds

A lovely hotel with excellent customer service, clean, lovely rooms and good food.

Lovely breakfast room with views over the garden. Very close to Westobirt Arboretum but not close to town so a car is a necessity for anyone wanting to pop out for a meal or stroll round town (Tetbury).

  • Alan Browning

  • January 2015

Enjoyed it so much I stayed another night.

The Hare and Hounds is a superb country hotel ideally placed for visitors to The Cotswolds.

It is situated right next door to the World famous Westonbirt Arboretum where I spent 3 hours walking the trails. The hotel was clean, the staff were very attentive and the food was superb. I enjoyed my time so much I decided to stay for another night.

  • A Browning

  • December 2014

Do your research.

This hotel is very popular with wedding parties, and as such you may be restricted to certain areas of the hotel during such times.

It is advisable to check with the hotel before you confirm your booking to see whether or not a wedding is taking place during your stay.

  • Richard W

  • October 2014

Our stay was a birthday treat for my wife.

Great room, great food (in the bar), very attentive and helpful staff. Made to feel very welcome.

  • E Woodhead

  • October 2014

Delightful stay

Perfect location for Highgrove.

Great value for money, beautiful room, gorgeous decor and so well maintained. Helpful and friendly staff. Will return and recommend. Love to know how to get hold of the room spray fragrance.

  • julie m

  • October 2014

anniversary celebration

we spent two wonderful nights at the hare and hounds hotel the food ,accommodation and staff were first class and look foreward to staying there again.

  • Nigel B

  • September 2014

Ideally located for Highgrove and Tetbury

We stayed just one night whilst visiting Highgrove the hotel is ideally located and easily accessible from both the M4 and M5.

We stayed in one of the superior courtyard suites and were very pleased overall with the room and it's facilities especially the turn down bed service which included the hospitality tray being re-stocked. The only slight disappointment given the overall size of the suite was that the shower cubicle was very tiny in comparison and the water from both sink and shower was extremely hot as soon as the tap was turned on so much so my husband burnt his hands. Quality of the breakfast was exceptional. We would chose to stay here again if visiting the area as the hotel was a nice size and a lovely graded building full of luxurious personal touches.