Reviews - Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

5

Sydney Road, Bath, BA2 6JF

Price From 299.03 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (73)

90% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Mark B

  • January 2016

Birthday Treat

Wonderful hotel, perfect for that little bit of a treat, location excellent for exploring Bath.

  • Matthew B

  • January 2016

MacDonald bath Spa Hotel

Lovely hotel stay.

  • Jane Holloway

  • November 2015

We had a fabulous short stay in this hotel.

The accommodation was excellent, luxurious even.The staff were excellent- very polite, friendly and helpful. A great place to stay whilst visiting the beautiful city of Bath.

Response from hotel

Dear Jane Holloway,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

It was lovely to hear that you had a fabulous short stay, felt the accommodation was excellent, the staff polite friendly and helpful and that the Hotel was a great place to stay when visiting Bath.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes and kind regards,

Mohamed,

Senior Guest Services Manager

  • Charlotte C

  • November 2015

Wonderful, pampering experience

We stayed at the hotel for only one night but wished we could have stayed for longer.

The setting is gorgeous, the rooms we were given were large, comfortable and had fab views. We had a large room with a separate room for our 9 year old daughter which adjoined ours. She had her own tv and bathroom goodies (including slippers and dressing gown, which she loved). The staff were very professional, kind and responsive - we felt that they couldn't do enough for us. The in-room evening meal was delicious and plenty of vegetarian options for me. Huge breakfast set us up for a lovely day site seeing in Bath. We will be back!

  • kevin s

  • October 2015

Great location but tired around the edges!

With the exception of a member of the breakfast staff , we found the staff on the whole very helpful and accommodating.

The Spa is lovely but not as clean as in the past when we have stayed here.

Response from hotel

Dear Kevin S,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit a review following your stay at the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel.

It was really encouraging to hear that you felt our staff were on the whole very helpful and accommodating, however please accept my apologies if the Spa was not up to its usual high standards. I will discuss your comments with our Leisure Manager who I know will wish to offer their apologies for this shortcoming.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for your third visit very soon.

Best wishes and kind regards,

Mohamed,

Senior Guest Services Manager

  • A Hallam

  • August 2015

Our visit

Excellent hotel, stayed here quite a few times.

Room high standard. Reception could have been improved this time, really nice new girl on desk, very willing and eager to learn but colleague didn't appear to want to be that helpful. Outside spa pool, salt infusion room out of order this time - which was very disappointing as this is one of the main reasons we visit this lovely hotel. Hopefully it will be fixed for our next visit.

  • Guy Cornelius

  • July 2015

Fantastic stay, wonderful hotel

Booked a night into this hotel to split up a long journey.

The room was gorgeous, the hotel staff were all extremely helpful and the food was lovely. I even had a chance to get a massage in the spa, which was divine. All in all, a wondeful night.

  • Florentia B

  • July 2015

Big hotel chain feel and 3* service that pretends to be fancy

These are all small things but when in a 4* place one expects little details to be sorted eg.

a) the in room alarms to be checked from the previous resident, so they don't wake you early in the morning on your holiday b) if they have the nerve to charge £4.85 for a cup of coffee they should know what a flat white is, (not bring a capuccino with an inch of froth instead) c) once the waiter has acknowledged a mistake, they could've easily not charged for it or some other acknowledgement gesture.. d) there should not be a single hair in the bath from previous residents e) there should not be 4 diff people serving one table for breakfast with no continuity of what you asked for in the first place e) scrambled egg and mushrooms was 1 of each, rest of the plate very empty because they normally do full english and that needs room for 3 other items. All very stupid little insignificant things but there's 4*'s and 4*'s and £240 is £240 for a night!...

  • S Guppey

  • May 2015

Enjoying stay

Enjoyed a few days here for my girlfriends birthday and would definitely come again

  • akiva k

  • May 2015

Disappointed

Thought the room was very overpriced at £245 for one night, parking at the hotel was charged extra and no breakfast was provided which was outrageous considering the cost of the room.

Tried to phone through to reception from room got no response, staff only seemed intent on selling extra value services to me. Parking invoice was delivered to room at 6am on bank holiday morning !. I would not recommend this hotel or the macdonald group!!