No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Sydney Road , Bath, BA2 6JF
Once an elegant private house dating back to the 1830's, a long sweeping driveway and seven acres of landscaped gardens front the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel. Free wifi available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

The 129 non-smoking bedrooms are furnished with a subtle blend of colours and maintain the atmosphere and appearance of a private house. The Vellore Restaurant, once a ballroom and host to the season's sparkling debutantes, offers traditional English fare in an elegant setting. The Alfresco Restaurant is the bustling colonnade restaurant, with views out across the formal garden. The style is less formal, eclectic and an oasis of enjoyment. A Mediterranean style menu is served.

The Spa is a wonderful relaxing environment. The facilities include a Jacuzzi, Infra Red Heat Cabin, Rock Sauna, Experience Showers, Ice room, Aroma Steam and Salt Infusion rooms. There are 5 beauty treatment rooms and a relaxation room. In the fully equipped gymnasium, qualified instructors are on hand to offer lifestyle consultations. They then design an exercise programme that's just right for you, which means you will get into shape at a pace that feels comfortable. Outside during the summer months, you can challenge a partner to a game of croquet on the lawn.
[Policies - Beauty treatments should be booked prior to arrival to avoid disappointment. Children up to 14 years old are welcome to use the swimming pool between 8am to 5pm within the designated children's lanes and must be accompanied by an adult. Children do not have access to the Thermal Suite and Hydro Pool. If dining is the Vellore restaurant, guests are requested to wear smart casual dress.]
Picture of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 79 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Only wish I booked 2 nights. Spa facilities great. We had a lovely time pampering ourselves and visiting Bath Christmas market. Hotel not too far from centre.

Reviewed by
Deirdre T

From Gerrards Cross, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Had a garden room overlooking the city which was spacious and comfortable, especially the bed. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Reviewed by
Angela Fox

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Quality relax

Reviewed by
John W

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sauna not working and seemed to be overcrowded in spa pool
otherwise ok

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay in Bath
Very nice friendly hotel.

Reviewed by
Virginia Pitcher

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel and convenient location
Very convenient to centre of Bath, a pleasant 10 minute walk. Hotel excellent with very friendly and helpful staff. Spa facilities very good.

Reviewed by
Tony H

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful, special stay
From the moment we arrived it was bliss. The old fashioned service of luggage taken to our room. The friendly efficiency of checking in, lovely room, good value . Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was amazing
cant wait to go again

Reviewed by
davinder g

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
We got a good deal off late rooms, the room was very clean, modern, and exceeded my expectations. Breakfast was very nice. The spa was the second best spa I have ever visited.

Reviewed by
B James

From Shaftesbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous romantic break
We had a short weekend away from the kids and enjoyed every minute of the luxurious accommodations. A little chilly due most likely to the enormously high ceilings but otherwise heavenly.

Reviewed by
Katie Barnett

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 night stay
Fantastic old building with loads of character. Generally a very nice place to stay.
On the downside I thought the decor looked a little worn and dated. The only food I ate there was breakfast (went into the city during the day) and felt the buffet on offer was slightly limited for choice and of average quality. Also found the drinks very expensive at the hotel bar, though the service there was exceptional.
During my stay I used the Spa a couple of times and was made to feel very welcome there by the staff. The facilities at the spa were also very good. Really like the thermal stuff and the heated outdoor pool. I can't comment on the gym, I never got round to using it! My fault for being so lazy and not being able resist the outdoor pool instead.
I thought my room (a standard double) was very comfy and the bathroom was very nice and tastefully decorated. Only thing in the room at fault was the bottle opener, but to be fair I could have asked for another one.
My thoughts overall, wonderful place to stay and would certainly recommend it and go back there again.

Reviewed by
Steve P

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next