No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Sydney Road , Bath, BA2 6JF
Once an elegant private house dating back to the 1830's, a long sweeping driveway and seven acres of landscaped gardens front the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel. Free wifi available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

The 129 non-smoking bedrooms are furnished with a subtle blend of colours and maintain the atmosphere and appearance of a private house. The Vellore Restaurant, once a ballroom and host to the season's sparkling debutantes, offers traditional English fare in an elegant setting. The Alfresco Restaurant is the bustling colonnade restaurant, with views out across the formal garden. The style is less formal, eclectic and an oasis of enjoyment. A Mediterranean style menu is served.

The Spa is a wonderful relaxing environment. The facilities include a Jacuzzi, Infra Red Heat Cabin, Rock Sauna, Experience Showers, Ice room, Aroma Steam and Salt Infusion rooms. There are 5 beauty treatment rooms and a relaxation room. In the fully equipped gymnasium, qualified instructors are on hand to offer lifestyle consultations. They then design an exercise programme that's just right for you, which means you will get into shape at a pace that feels comfortable. Outside during the summer months, you can challenge a partner to a game of croquet on the lawn.
[Policies - Beauty treatments should be booked prior to arrival to avoid disappointment. Children up to 14 years old are welcome to use the swimming pool between 8am to 5pm within the designated children's lanes and must be accompanied by an adult. Children do not have access to the Thermal Suite and Hydro Pool. If dining is the Vellore restaurant, guests are requested to wear smart casual dress.]
Picture of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 80 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality hotel
Would highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Nicki Mccarthy

From Tonypandy, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is fantastic great food and a short walk into bath.

Reviewed by
L Stratford

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tried hard
Great public rooms - very comfortable but too dark to read papers provided
Porridge served not hot, accompanying nuts stale,cooked breakfast rubbery scrambled eggs.
Service at dinner amateurish.

Reviewed by
`Peter M

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel
I'm so glad I booked this hotel for my boyfriends birthday. The grounds are beautiful and it's so easy to walk from there, through a park and into the town.
The hotel was gorgeous. Very clean, friendly staff. Breakfast was good, not an amazing choice of pastries in the buffet part, but I was still happy.
We did not eat in the restaurant other than breakfast, but we did have a drink in the bar one night. I wish I had booked one extra night just so we could eat in the restaurant and relax a bit more in the bar and use the hotel facilities a bit more.
Would highly recommend this hotel, the only let down was being charged £5 a day to park our car in the hotel car park!! I have never paid for this in any other hotel I've ever stayed in!! Thought that was a bit cheeky considering how much I had paid to stay there.

Reviewed by
Helena K

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Only wish I booked 2 nights. Spa facilities great. We had a lovely time pampering ourselves and visiting Bath Christmas market. Hotel not too far from centre.

Reviewed by
Deirdre T

From Gerrards Cross, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
Had a garden room overlooking the city which was spacious and comfortable, especially the bed. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Reviewed by
Angela Fox

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Quality relax

Reviewed by
John W

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sauna not working and seemed to be overcrowded in spa pool
otherwise ok

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay in Bath
Very nice friendly hotel.

Reviewed by
Virginia Pitcher

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel and convenient location
Very convenient to centre of Bath, a pleasant 10 minute walk. Hotel excellent with very friendly and helpful staff. Spa facilities very good.

Reviewed by
Tony H

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next