No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel

5AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Sydney Road , Bath, BA2 6JF
Once an elegant private house dating back to the 1830's, a long sweeping driveway and seven acres of landscaped gardens front the Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel. Free wifi available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

The 129 non-smoking bedrooms are furnished with a subtle blend of colours and maintain the atmosphere and appearance of a private house. The Vellore Restaurant, once a ballroom and host to the season's sparkling debutantes, offers traditional English fare in an elegant setting. The Alfresco Restaurant is the bustling colonnade restaurant, with views out across the formal garden. The style is less formal, eclectic and an oasis of enjoyment. A Mediterranean style menu is served.

The Spa is a wonderful relaxing environment. The facilities include a Jacuzzi, Infra Red Heat Cabin, Rock Sauna, Experience Showers, Ice room, Aroma Steam and Salt Infusion rooms. There are 5 beauty treatment rooms and a relaxation room. In the fully equipped gymnasium, qualified instructors are on hand to offer lifestyle consultations. They then design an exercise programme that's just right for you, which means you will get into shape at a pace that feels comfortable. Outside during the summer months, you can challenge a partner to a game of croquet on the lawn.
[Policies - Beauty treatments should be booked prior to arrival to avoid disappointment. Children up to 14 years old are welcome to use the swimming pool between 8am to 5pm within the designated children's lanes and must be accompanied by an adult. Children do not have access to the Thermal Suite and Hydro Pool. If dining is the Vellore restaurant, guests are requested to wear smart casual dress.]
Picture of Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms not value for the money
We paid £354 for a room for one night I've stayed in a bigger B&B room it was a surprise for my wife and boy did she get a surprise it was not the room that was shown on the Web Site but she put up with it for one night will never book there again

Reviewed by
John Moore

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a fantastic hotel with fantastic gardens

Reviewed by
B Luck

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
A great hotel, the staff were so friendly and so helpful. I would 100% recommend this and will definately be going back in the future

Reviewed by
S Cummings

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a fantastic spa break
We attended our friends wedding reception at the Roman Baths and booked into this hotel for one night, we advised at the time of booking that we would require a late check in which was not a problem. The hotel is beautiful with fabulous grounds and just a 15-20 mins walk to the town centre, prepare for the uphill journey back though!! The only disappointing things were when we checked in we asked reception to book us a taxi which was not done, the doorman soon rectified the problem when we enquired if our taxi had arrived, also we were advised at check in that there is a £5 parking charge. The next morning we used the spa facilities which were out of this world, they have a heated indoor pool, an outdoor heated salt water spa pool, sauna, infra red sauna, ice room, salt room and steam room. if you stay at the hotel you must use the spa facilities. The breakfast was very good providing a veggie option with lots of continental items.We are planning on returning to this hotel, highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Stephanie H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting, friendly helpful staff, scrumptious breakfast, shame that the bedroom carpet had stains and torn curtains. I expected better for this price and calibre of hotel.

Reviewed by
Jane J

From Currie, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great escape
Excellent service and great peaceful location. Went as a surprise wedding anniversary present. Hotel staff service was excellent.

Reviewed by
simon widdicombe

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Out of this world

Reviewed by
Natalie C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but not as good as other 5 start hotels
The building itself was impressive and the grounds were attractive. The spa was small but well equip. I enjoyed my stay in the spa hotel however I though that some areas could be improved/ were slightly shabby such as-
- Tiles missing on side of swimming pool
- Jacuzzi cold
- Very old phone in room
- Reception staff not overly friendly on arrival and I did not like having to swipe my card for a large deposit which was then refunded onto card after check out.
- Room was not ready until after 3.30, would be good to check in slightly earlier as at some other hotels.
- Drinks in bar very expensive.

Reviewed by
Bethan Y

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Wonderful Stay
We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were very attentive and helpful without coming across as false. The breakfasts were very tasty (we did not eat other meals in the hotel). Our room was slightly tired, the wardrobe doors didn't close properly and the bathroom although spacious needed the sealant and grouting renewed. I think they can get away with it as character and old fashioned charm for now however I don't think they can do this for much longer. The room had everything expected and needed, the Molton Brown toiletries were very much appreciated! All in all, a lovely relaxing stay (once the business meeting was out of the way, that is!) and we will definitely return.

Reviewed by
David C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolute Luxury
The best hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff were really welcoming from the beginning and I felt like a valued customer from walking in the door. The room was perfect and the spa was very relaxing. You can tell that the owners just want to make a great impression by employing the best people to take care of you, nothing was too much trouble. If I had to think of a negative, then the only thing I didn't like was having to pay £5 per night parking, with this quality of hotel I would have expected it to be complimentary if you are a guest. Thank you for giving me some great memories.

Reviewed by
Darren B

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next