No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Two Bridges Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Yelverton Two Bridges, Dartmoor, PL20 6SW
Highly reccommended Country House Hotel set in a stunning riverside location within its own 60 acres of private grounds, watch out for the geese ! Beautiful bedrooms with views across Dartmoor , many with four poster beds and double spa baths. Enjoy the wonderful cuisine served in The Tors AA Red Rosette Restaurant, the emphasis is on using seasonal local fresh produce. Relax in the cosy lounges infront of the blazing log fires. Enjoy being pampered at this oasis at the heart of Dartmoor just 20 minutes from Plymouth and 45 from Exeter..
Picture of The Two Bridges Hotel, Dartmoor at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Aaaah!
We just needed some peace after a frantic day getting married on the way to our ultimate destination. We also stopped here again on the way home and we are so glad we did as the other hotel shredded our nerves a bit! I feel so at home in this place; I can just relax. What was also so brilliant was that I left my gold wedding ring behind (not used to wearing it yet!): the cleaner found it and handed it in! Wow!!! Honesty!
Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff. We requested and got a bottle of our favourite of sparkling wine in an ice bucket to await us in our room on arrival.
Great food and plenty of time to eat it with well-spaced tables and no recorded background music. However, there was a grand piano in the restaurant but no pianist (but this is not a serious complaint).
Great beer (Jail Ale) which was well-kept and served by a very pleasant barmaid.
If ever we are stressed out we shall buzz over just to unwind (it's only 2 hours' drive!) . Aaaaaah!

Reviewed by
Peter Luing

From Hayle, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Graduation Day
We stayed at this hotel prior to my Son's Graduation from Plymouth Uni. The hotel is set in a beautiful part of Devon and although our stay was only short we found the Two Bridges to be an excellent place to stay. The staff are polite and attentive and the rooms clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was first class and varied. All in all a great place that we'll definitely return to.

Reviewed by
Daniel Jeffreys

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night break
Very nice stay..lovely location..good service

Reviewed by
P Rogers

From PENZANCE, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay
pleasant, stunning views..very helpful staff

Reviewed by
Teresa E

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heavenly place to stay
We stayed for 1 night and I have to say it was our most pleasurable stay out of any of the places we have ever stayed, and we travel a lot. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds, the service is the best service we have ever received, all the staff are very friendly and cannot do enough to make your stay a pleasant one, from Tim on reception to Sarah the waitress the service was superb, every member of staff there should be praised for the service they provided.The food in the restaurant was without doubt some of the best food we have ever eaten and great value for money. The ambience is wonderful in the restaurant with lovely touches of a lady playing the harp. Room was excellent to lots of character and very clean. So many lovely touches that make this hotel stand out. Will definitely be back. Can not recommend this hotel enough. Excellent value as well.

Reviewed by
K White

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice & cosy
Good for a romantic break relaxing & quiet. Stayed before & would again.

Reviewed by
l cox

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two bridges review
Another pleasant stay at this hotel. Weare always made to feel welcome and the food, standards and ethos remains consistently high

Reviewed by
Jan G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the most welcoming of Hotels
When we arrived there was nobody at the Reception, we had to wait for quite some time until somebody appeared. They gave us a room on the ground floor which was rather dark and dimly lit, but worst, there was a door slamming contest going on next door. They kept slamming the door at least 100 times [not an exaggeration] from early evening to well past midnight. We were then given an other room on the first floor, for the following two nights, and that room, quality and all was much better, until a dog started barking all evening long. We then realised that somebody in the room next door had a dog with them. The Hotel should not allow large dogs on the first floor, where they are disturbing other guests.

Reviewed by
V Winkler

From Ascot, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two Bridges in May
A comfortable hotel which needs a little attention to its overall appearance, paintwork in particular, and customer service, for example I was very surprised for example that staff could not give information about local walks. The food is very good indeed. Prices are slightly high.

Reviewed by
Geoff M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel crowded and room pokey
Our trip was salvaged by the manager who was very concerned by our issues and did everything to accommodate our transfer to their sister hotel (The Bedford) in Tavistock where we had a fabulous stay with great food.
As for the Two bridges they were catering for a wedding when we arrived and I get the impression that they are keen to do as many weddings as they can. I had taken my wife as a surprise trip for a big birthday celebration. In fairness we were warned about the wedding when I checked a few days before to see if they were expecting us. To minimise the disruption they gave us a room 'tucked away'. It was small, clean with windows that rattled in the wind and overlooked the wedding reception where the thud of the music could be heard. The lock did not work very well, the double bed was small and just sitting on it caused the headboard rattle against the wall .
We arrived late in the afternoon having had a great day and thought we'd spend the early evening planning our next day's walk which we intended to have lunch in a pub and maybe take in an ancient stone circle using the maps that were 'available on reception'. However, the male receptionist told us the maps were not available we should just get out and walk! Maybe it's me but the advice was potentially dangerous and certainly given with air of hostility. With the mood rapidly plunging we set out to find some information (too late) but came across the relaxed Bedford Hotel in Tavistock. When we returned to the Two Bridges, now quite crowded with wedding guests the contrast between the hotel's was so vast we did not want to stay any longer and were helped to relocate as I mentioned by the manager at no extra cost.
I suspect most rooms at the Two Bridges are comfortable and if the food is the same as what was served at the Bedford then I imagine everything would be good. I suggest you avoid the back rooms and the make sure your trip does not coincide with a wedding - oh and if you are planning on walking on Dartmoor take your own maps!.

Reviewed by
Nick M

From Camborne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next