No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hawkstone Park

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Weston Under Redcastle , Shrewsbury, Shropshire, SY4 5UY
Nestled in the heart of the beautiful Shropshire countryside, 20 miles from historic Shrewsbury, Hawkstone Park is easily accessible from the motorways and is situated just off the A49 and one hour from Manchester and Birmingham International Airports. Hawkstone Park is surrounded by 400 acres of beautiful scenery including the unique eighteenth century Follies. With all this mind, you could be forgiven for simply sinking back and enjoying the surroundings, however with, two golf courses, the Follies. Two restaurants, cozy bars, and a croquet lawn there are plenty of excuses to stay on your feet. Our traditionally styled bedrooms are comfortable and well equipped, with flat screen television and WIFI.

Hawkstone Park is a natural choice with its breathtaking setting and acres of space, for family breaks, golf breaks and weekends away. With the Follies on the doorstep you can journey on a magical walk through majestic woodlands discovering tunnels, cross bridges and explore caves set high on Grotto Hill or visit local attractions including Shrewsbury Castle and Ironbridge, it’s a great base to explore Shropshire. We do advise you check the opening times of the Follies before you arrive as they are seasonal.
Picture of Hawkstone Park, Shrewsbury, Shropshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room had a filthy kettle, lime scale in bathroom, dead bugs splattered on the walls and seemed to be infested with them outside our door. Outdated decor and television. Small room for the amount of money. Bar was nice and staff in the bar were very friendly and helpful. At breakfast, the system was illogical and not explained well at all. If I had paid full price, I would have asked for a cleaner room.

Reviewed by
Danielle B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting experience - I should have stayed longer

Reviewed by
R Hill

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place in lovely surroundings
Nice hotel breakfast was a little slow spent the day in the follies which was awesome, a must see place.

Reviewed by
Steven G

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday visit
Our stay was to celebrate my husbands birthday. We have a live of the hotel as we got married there.
I feel a bit mean marking customer care so low as all of the reception staff were first class. Friendly and really helpful.
Our room was quite small, but spotless and very comfy. Also very quiet. A long walk from reception but an interesting one down a lot of corridors.
The grounds of the hotel are second to none. Such a beautiful spot.
Now for the down side. We had dinner on Wednesday evening. The food was gorgeous. Couldn't fault it. But!! I ordered Champagne as a birthday treat. It cost £45. Quite expensive to just have it bought to the table in an ice bucket and left there. No opening of the bottle and no champagne glasses? I had to ask for the glasses and didn't have a very helpful reaction when I did. No apology infact just a rolling if the eyes. As if I were making a fuss. Good job we were having a lovely evening and didn't want to make a scene. So disappointed !
Breakfast the next morning was gorgeous and the staff couldn't have been more different. Friendly and helpful.
We will visit the hotel again because of our love of the place. It seems a shame that bad staff, or could it just be bad training?, has spoilt this visit for us.

Reviewed by
A Thomas

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A cracking hotel in Shropshire.

Reviewed by
R Barker

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

warm and friendly welcome by staff. nice room with view of manicured lawns. delightful surroundings, with a gorgeous golf course.
hawkstone folly nearby.

Reviewed by
steven timson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great golf courses
Great golf courses, a little disappointed with the restaurant, lovely setting

Reviewed by
Lynne T

From Holywell, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service in restuarant for breakfast was very poor. We were not approached
by staff to ask if we required beverages, it took two requests before we received our drinks.

Reviewed by
Linda W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not to bad
The hotel is very clean and tidy. If we stayed again we would have our evening meal else where. The staff where forgetful and lazy. All but the restaurant manager. But the food was lovely.

Reviewed by
Adele C

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The setting of the hotel and golf complex was very good however the exterior of the building was tired and in need of decoration and refurbishment. The rooms were clean and adequate given the room rate. Dinner in the restaurant was good, as was breakfast. However diluted juices at breakfast rather than fresh orange, grapefruit and apple did disappoint.

Reviewed by
Mike H

From North Ferriby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next