No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown & Mitre Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
4 English Street , Carlisle, CA3 8HZ
The Crown and Mitre Hotel, Carlisle offers the perfect mix of Edwardian grandeur, beautiful original features including a real log fire and elegant sweeping stair case plus all the modern comforts of home to create a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Ideally situated for both business and pleasure, with a thriving shopping center, varied night life and popular historical attractions including Hadrian’s wall, Carlisle Castle and Cathedral and the delights of the Lake District are just a stone’s throw from the hotel.

At the end of the day, whether you've been hard at work or busy sight-seeing, why not enjoy a relaxing drink in our Tavern Bar or book a table in the Peace and Plenty Restaurant where we offer a tempting, mouth watering menu of both English and Continental cuisine, We also have a room service menu offering light snacks and hearty main meals. sandwiches available 24 hours a day.

Our other facilities include our recently refurbished swimming pool and Jacuzzi and an onsite secure car park to the rear of the hotel, both of which are free to use for all guests of the hotel.
Picture of Crown & Mitre Hotel, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

paper walls
Walls were that thin that next door room kept me awake all night with their snoring, also rowdy guests until 4.30am. Car park nightmare to find. Not worth the money

Reviewed by
M Williams

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight
The hotel staff were good but after a long journey we wanted to eat meal in the hotel but was
Told there was no room which meant we had to go out on a freezing night.

Reviewed by
P B

From England
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over priced tired hotel
I perhaps expected too much for the price paid. But threadbare carpets on entry to the hotel do not fill you with hope. This unfortunately was continued throughout the hotel.
on arrival I was then informed I would have to pay an extra £7.50 for breakfast on top of what I consider to be a high rate. I stay in hotels every week and feel this was overpriced for the standard. Upon checkout I explained my discontent with the additional charge for breakfast whilst the couple next to me were complaining of the standard of their re-furbished room! Not a good sign for the refurbishment! The Manager did call me and asked me to search laterooms to see that hotels do not say anything if breakfast isn't included which I feel is devious and misrepresentation of charges.

Reviewed by
D Clegg

From York, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel car park was a little tricky to find and we drove around the town, seeing the side of the hotel or part of the hotel, for some time! When we made it to the car park, we were told that there are 2 postcodes for the hotel. We arrived later than expected and in snowy conditions. Once we had rung the bell the night porter promptly let us into the car park and we were then met by another member of staff armed with an umbrella and willing to help with our cases.
That evening we decided to have a couple of drinks in the bar rather than head out, as mentioned it was late and snowing. The young man behind the bar, the same person who met us with the umbrella, was friendly and chatty and talked to us about our stay and reasons for our visit. He made suggestions about the drinks on offer and what was popular.
The duty was then passed onto the night porter who arrived promptly when we needed service and provided us with sandwiches at the bar.
We found the directions to the room a little confusing as we had to go up in the lift to then come down some stairs! Also, the large fob on our room key said 407 (this room does not exist!) But we had not noticed the small silver ring that stated our actual room number!
This is an Edwardian building and I can imagine that in its day it will have been quite spectacular. I feel now that it does maybe need a lift and a fair amount of love and attention in order to live up to its former glory. Renovations were apparent during out stay as there were notices apologising for and explaining current work.
Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious enough for our needs. It was apparent that efforts had been made to renovate and rejuvenate the room, but as previously mentioned. It did feel this was a hotel that would take some work to truly ‘bring to life’.
The hotel is in a prime position to enjoy a day shopping, enjoying a bit of lunch, a coffee and a few drinks in a pub/bar, which is how we spent our day. It is close, but not too close, to a more lively nightlife and we felt we’d picked a good position being unfamiliar with Carlisle.
The staff we encountered, with particular mention to the young man on the bar both Friday and Saturday evening, were attentive and friendly and had no issues fulfilling our requests. On the whole, we were happy with our stay.
(Friday March 21st to Sunday March 23rd)

Reviewed by
S Herbert

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, fabulous staff
Hotel undergoing serious refurbishment but that didn't affect the stay. To be honest, arrived, dropped bags off, went off to meeting, got back, slept, had breakfast and left! Not much therefore to review but breakfast was excellent and the staff from front desk to those you pass in the corridor couldn't be friendlier. Great car park too. WiFi a bit iffy but didn't affect my trip.

Reviewed by
Marc Auty

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

handy for town centre, secur ecar parking.

Reviewed by
D S

From Pudsey, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, average hotel
This is a splendid building in a great location in the very center of historic Carlisle. The exec. double that we had was comfortable and spacious with high ceilings and heavy, quality drapes. However, the room was very cold on arrival, though oil-filled radiators were provided; there appeared to be no central heating control from within the room. This seemed a strange set-up for a hotel of this history and past quality. The reception staff seemed a little distracted and not focused on the 'customer' over other activities they were engaged in. The Tavern bar was cold and lacked any atmosphere. The barman was friendly and professional but had to be sought through an inquiry via reception. The bed was very comfortable and plenty of bottled water was available in the room. Free car parking was a pleasant change for a city center hotel.

Reviewed by
P Duncan

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation very friendly and peaceful albeit a city centre location. Finding the car park is a bit challenging (!) but safe at night as locked behind a big gate. The décor is a bit tired looking but not really a problem as my room was clean enough. Staff throughout the hotel were friendly and couldn't be more helpful. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to those undertaking business in the area too.

Reviewed by
S Williams

From Bewdley, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great central location - good quality hotel

Reviewed by
Christine M

From Deal, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

November visit
A return visit to the Crown & Mitre as we have been pleased with previous stays. This time was very much the same, with good staff and pleasant room. Having booked room only, it was nice to be offered breakfast vouchers on checking in, and at £7.50 each for what turned out to be a good buffet breakfast, it was money well spent. We were informed of the availability of the refurbished swimming pool also. The only criticism would be the request from the receptionist for our car keys to be left with them in case the car needed to be moved in the car park. We were not happy to do this, so kept the keys. All in all though a good stay and we will use the hotel again I'm sure.

Reviewed by
Russell E

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next