No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Crown & Mitre Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
4 English Street , Carlisle, CA3 8HZ
The Crown and Mitre Hotel, Carlisle offers the perfect mix of Edwardian grandeur, beautiful original features including a real log fire and elegant sweeping stair case plus all the modern comforts of home to create a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere. Ideally situated for both business and pleasure, with a thriving shopping center, varied night life and popular historical attractions including Hadrian’s wall, Carlisle Castle and Cathedral and the delights of the Lake District are just a stone’s throw from the hotel.

At the end of the day, whether you've been hard at work or busy sight-seeing, why not enjoy a relaxing drink in our Tavern Bar or book a table in the Peace and Plenty Restaurant where we offer a tempting, mouth watering menu of both English and Continental cuisine, We also have a room service menu offering light snacks and hearty main meals. sandwiches available 24 hours a day.

Our other facilities include our recently refurbished swimming pool and Jacuzzi and an onsite secure car park to the rear of the hotel, both of which are free to use for all guests of the hotel.
Picture of Crown & Mitre Hotel, Carlisle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extraordinary quality of architecture and a wonderful location
Hard to find, so take the directions with you... but well worth the effort. This hotel really does have Victorian splendour - Breakfast in an enormous "ball room" with three glorious fireplaces - very friendly staff. Leaving in the morning across the cloisters past a tree lined green and passing a delightful old pub (which I had, sadly, missed the night before.

Reviewed by
Peter Venner

From Ryde, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable ..
Quiet clean and comfortable room around the back of the hotel, close to the car park which made loading in the morning easy. Didn't eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was great, plenty of it and self service. Potential for disruption from neighbours, particularly from TVs that vibrate on the wall but luckily my neighbours were to bed at a similar time to myself. Will be coming back.

Reviewed by
David C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for my needs
Love the character of this hotel. I booked a standard single which had everything I needed, although the deluxe singles are worth paying extra for as the beds are much bigger. The view of the cathedral in the corridor outside the room was fabulous. A full length mirror in the room would have made it even better. Staff very helpful, ringing my room to tell me when the pool was quieter etc

Reviewed by
L Scott

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had an great time in Carilsle and the hotel was very nice comfortable and clean the staff were very welcoming and helpful my ony crititism would be the car park is quite difficult to find other than that excellent

Reviewed by
Dianne R

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality hotel
The hotel was fabulous with it's sweeping staircase and wonderful character. Staff were pleasant and helpful, and the hotel was convenient for shops and visitor attractions.

Reviewed by
L Scott

From Hexham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edwardian hospitality
My wife and I choose to stay overnight at the Crown and Mitre on our way to Aberdeen, partly because of the old world atmosphere of the hotel, and the friendly service.
When the refurbishment is complete it will be one of the best stopovers in the north of England.

Reviewed by
David Lawrie

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good service
excellent service from the cleaner, the rooms was very clean and kept clean during our stay

Reviewed by
c bryson

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel was fine but I was not warned of the building works to the outside of the building. It was very noisy from 7am and there were workmen walking past the bedroom window on scaffolding platforms from early which meant all curtains and windows were shut on one of the hottest days of the year.

Reviewed by
tony wallace

From Bexley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Carlisle
Friendly and helpful Staff, Ideal location

Reviewed by
Andrew E

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Centrally located, old-town hotel; decor a little faded in places, but clean and tidy . Comfortable bedroom, though a trifle airless. Efficient, friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast choice - buffet plus a choice of other items from the menu.

Reviewed by
A Davison

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next