Reviews - Crown & Mitre Hotel


4 English Street, Carlisle, CA3 8AG

Price From 103.40 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (40)

85% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • P Jones

  • September 2015

Good quality if slightly faded hotel

The Crown and Mitre is a beautiful hotel which was clearly once rather grand.

It is now rather tired looking but the service provided was excellent and, for the price, it is excellent value. It is ideally located for those who want to explore beautiful Carlisle.

  • Hazel C

  • August 2015

Noisiest room I've ever stayed in

The hotel car park was really difficult to find so I was a bit hassled by the time I arrived.

the check-in desk in reception is tucked away in a corner and seems to only ever be manned by one person causing queues to build up and considerable waiting time - even just to ask a question. The stair carpet is getting pretty threadbare in places so the hotel has a bit of a shabby air to it. Our room seemed ok but with no air con we had to leave a window open and the noise was incredible. At first I thought the bin lorry had arrive but it went on and on so I can only assume it was normal kitchen/glass disposal/bar noise. Staff communication walkie-talkie radios could be heard blaring in the corridor outside our room from early on so little chance of a peaceful lie-in. Checking out took a while because of a queue and we were asked if we needed to get our car out of the car park, which we did. We were told someone would be straight out to unlock the gate and let us out. I had to go back in twice to remind them we were still waiting and 20 minutes into the wait, following my second return, the Duty Manager agreed to let us out. There was no proper apology for the ridiculous wait, just an explanation of how the system 'should' work (which it obviously wasn't). Customer service in this hotel is sadly lacking and there's a worn down, uncaring vibe from the staff so something has gone wrong and needs looking at.

  • G Scott

  • August 2015


Just expected more of a stylish modern room for the money I paid, the swimming area was amazing and faultless, customer service again was great, overall lovely experience

  • P Ferguson

  • July 2015

Staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Mark W

  • July 2015

Character, location, and a quiet night's sleep

This hotel has bags of character, with some lovely architectural features.

The pool isn't big, but its lovely character makes up for the small changing area. Other hotels might offer a more extensive breakfast buffet, but there's nothing wrong with what's on offer here. Others might have 'cooler' rooms with bigger TVs, but mine was restful and well-appointed with all I needed. And where else could you sleep in a city centre with the window open and be undisturbed by noise. (The front is on a pedestrian street and my room faced a side alley.) I was woken at the civilised hour of 8 a.m. on the Sunday by the Cathedral bells. Friendly staff, and a great location. I'd certainly go back.

  • Alison ferguson

  • June 2015

Lovely stay in beautiful hotel situated in heart of town highly reccomend this hotel

Very clean hotel ,staff friendly and helpful loved our stay and would deffo reccomend it ,enjoyed our stay and hope to return for a further visit ,ideal for shopping local pubs etc ,our room was very clean and had everything we required 😀😀😀😀

  • Jane Parton

  • June 2015

One Night Stay In Carlisle

In general very nice, clearly going through a refurbishment plan and our room had been partly refurbed.

We booked an Executive Room to get this. Staff were very friendly and efficient at Reception and later in the bar. We didn't book breakfast when we booked as wanted to go to a Starbucks or the like but were offered breakfast when we checked in and thought we might as well. We paid £17 for two breakfasts and to be honest it was a waste of money and we should have stuck with our original plan. Again, we couldn't fault the staff but the food was very basic. Overall though a lovely stay and would stay again.

  • kevin o

  • June 2015

Kev's Trip

I go to Carlisle quite often, this time I booked this Hotel against the normal cheaper one due it been our Anniversary and I thought the wife would like it.

We parked our Motorbike up, booked in, the staff where friendly enough. We where on the first floor room 144. I was dissappointed at the size of the room, been a lot smaller than the usual room I get at the cheaper hotel. Carpets where also slightly threadbare in some area's, which isn't a good look. Overall, would I stay again, i doubt it unless the price was really low.

  • K Leslie

  • March 2015

Crown & Mitre Hotel

Nice hotel, good breakfast, very helpfull staff.

  • S Richmond

  • March 2015

Romantic Break

We had a lovely break at the Crown and Mitre on Valentine's Night.

We arrived early so our room wasn't quite ready but the staff agreed to keep our bag for us, which was a great help. The hotel is ideally situated in the city centre for easy walking to shops, restaurants and bars and also to and from the train station. The room was comfortable and adequate for our requirements. It wasn't overly lavish but was clean enough and tidy with tea/coffee making facilities and 2 bottles of water. There was also toiletries for use in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and we both slept well. We had opted to pay extra for breakfast which was delicious and hot with a good choice on offer.

I would definitely return and have already recommended this hotel to a friend.