No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Atholl Arms Hotel

3Visit Scotland Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
Bridgehead Atholl Street, Dunkeld, PH8 0AQ
The Atholl Arms Hotel, built in 1833, imposes itself on the head of the fine five arched bridge, built by Thomas Telford. Situated in the Historical Cathedral City of Dunkeld and just over a 10 mile drive from Perth and Pitlochry, our location is ideal for touring all parts of Scotland (Perth, Pitlochry, Braemar, House of Bruar, Blair Atholl Castle, Aberfeldy, Loch Tay and GLen Lyon). There is many more beautiful and interesting places to visit and not to forget Dunkeld and Birnam with its little shops and gallaries and antique centre for guests to vists and enjoy. The Atholl Arms Hotel offer you timeless ambience. The informal and friendly atmosphere will welcome you immediately. Enjoy stylish comfort, open log fire in the bar, excellent food and traditional highland hospitality as appreciated by Princess Royal (Vicky) on 11th September 1844. All rooms are en-suite and tastefully decorated in keeping with the character of this fine Georgian building. Please note that this hotel does not have a lift and all rooms are located on either the first or second floor.
Picture of Atholl Arms Hotel, Dunkeld at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do with a face lift!
This hotel is getting a bit tired, the down stairs is quite modern however. The guest rooms are very dated which is not surprising as this is a very old building. The shower was and over the bath trickle. The staff were very efficient and friendly and the Scottish breakfast was excellent. We were disappointed in the quality of the finish in the room due to the price we paid, although everything was spotlessly clean.

Reviewed by
M Wright

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best place ever
Well what can I say, from the moment we arrived we were made so welcome and the daft dog was treated like royalty too, the rooms are spotless and the beds are very comfortable, we were kindly given a table in the lounge area of the hotel so the dog could stay with us while we ate and even she got water and biscuits. Staff are really friendly and happy to chat even when they are busy. Cant fault this place at all, will definitely stay here again, great food, great people. Great stay. Many thanks from us and EBS

Reviewed by
jean dowson

From Helmsdale, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel
We have stayed at the Atholl several times now - and will keep going back; it is in a superb location, the staff are always friendly and helpful, the food is excellent and really I find it hard to fault.

Reviewed by
Julie W

From Earlston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

on arrival at this hotel it was downhill all the way, booked a twin room, was given a twin room with single beds, but they where still joined? was asked 30 minutes via phone call from hotel if we needed them split, said yes but a camp bed was put in room, 2nd, was asked to pay £215 instead of £193 as per my booking, 3rd, was taken to 1st floor landing and told "your rooms up top throught the door to left? was not offered help with baggage,, room was a health n safety Hazzard for a family room, toilet was needing bleached/scrubbed (brown stains) windows had "NO" Saftey catches at all, 4 inch water pipe runs in front of windows ( trip hazzard), bathrooms got a shelf next to the W.C great height to bump your head on? no idea why its there? only good thing about this hotel was the Fish n Chip shop next door, 10/10 for fish suppers, Not a hotel i will be staying at again,

Reviewed by
jim b

From Campbeltown, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travelling Home
What a wonderful surprise to find a such a great hotel. The room was spacious and the en-suite was bigger than some single rooms I have been asked to sleep in. Great to find a hotel that accepts dogs. Dinner was excellent and breakfast was one the best I have in a hotel for a long time. The garden was perfect for the dog and pre dinner drinks. Parking was limited. My husband is staying there again this week.

Reviewed by
j harper

From Isle of Lewis, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good stay
Enjoyed our two night stay. Staff excellent,good food and lovely view of river from room. Very relaxed stay.

Reviewed by
j henry

From Troon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Hotel
The hotel is pretty old and feels it. The facilities in this "superior room" was anything but superior. The shower was almost impossible to set. When I went to have a shower, a gentleman in a Jacobite uniform was trying to set the temperature. He had been there since 1745 (joke) but in reality, it was not acceptable in today's terms. The views were spectacular but you can in all seriousness only look at the river for so long! nice people but get the plumbers in please

Reviewed by
Peter R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Folk music friday
We stayed here for one night only and were lucky enough to experience the local musicians playing and singing trad music, apparently this happens every Friday. We had eaten before we reached the hotel, but having seen the menu would not hesitate to eat there in future. the staff were all friendly, relaxed and helpful. The room, although a little tired, had new good quality beds and clean bathroom. This being a very old building it has single glazed windows which let the cold and noise through rather too much, and as it was Friday night the locals were rather noisy in the street outside till quite late. This is obviously beyond the control of the hotel but worth bearing in mind if you are easily disturbed. The breakfast was nicely prepared and presented, a personal problem is due to a health problem I have to be gluten free and there was no provision for this. The only negative I would comment on is the price of the drinks from the bar, a bit steep!

Reviewed by
E Freeman

From Beauly, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff every time make for a very enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
S Armour

From Forres, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic & Friendly
All in all a great little hotel. Room was clean, spacious & well equipped. Staff were very polite & helpful. Food was outstanding. Beautiful location.

Reviewed by
n kelly

From Lossiemouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next