No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
73 High Street, Oxfordshire, OXFORD, OX1 4BE
Book into a 3-star Oxford hotel located on the high street & opposite Magdalen College. The Mercure Eastgate Hotel is a townhouse in central Oxford. A converted coaching inn, the hotel retains its original atmosphere, complemented by contemporary décor, air conditioning and internet access. All 64 guest rooms are distinctive and individual, and have an elegance in keeping with the beautiful city. Of all the rooms, the Ruskin Suite is the signature, refurbished in the style of a Don's bedroom.
Picture of Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel, OXFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

highly disappointing
when we arrived we had to request another room as the one which we were shown was like student digs, the bathroom was tidy, every where needed a paint and some TLC - very tired and poor. We were moved to another room 4 doors down, it was better but still inadequate for the money paid for the room which was in excess of £200. Ripped curtains, leaky taps, silicone everywhere in the bathroom to repair broken toilet rolls holders, ill fitting bath, broken tiles and a shower that you have to hold in the bath as no fixed holder. the breakfast in the morning was appalling, everything obviously from heated trays out back, bacon all stuck together, hard poached eggs. Avoid this place!!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback, I am afraid the hotel is old and full of history and we were due to refurbish the bedrooms at the latter end of this year however due to a review of all rooms, guest feedback and the structure of the building, this has been delayed till the beginning of next year. We have now re-designed a number of the bedrooms so we can create more space were possible and also ensure a superior product. With reference to the breakfast I am very embarrassed, as we have spent some time improving the cold buffet and the selection we offer to our guest. The cooked breakfast is prepared in the kitchen to order and I am very sorry if this was not the case, I have spoken in detail with the head chef and he has spoken with his team and taken the appropriate action and re-training. I thank you for your constructive feedback, and I wish you a Merry Christmas. Kind regards, Peter Watt, Manager

Reviewed by
Laura B

From Haslemere, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It is a hotel city but not value the money
The hotel is near from the high street shops and old city center, but the room very small, can't move around it if you are two persons or couple, the hotel doesn't has elevator nor helpers to carry your bags and staffs at high levels. The room service is low quality and not so clean. It's not a four or even not three stars hotel, I can give it no more than two stars. It is not worth the money I spent. Surely I ll not back to this hotel again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and its easy access to the city centre. I am afraid the hotel is old and full of history, however we are refurbishing the hotel in the beginning of next year having re-visited every hotel bedroom for a re-design of each room to ensure more space and an enhanced product. I have also spoken in detail with the head housekeeper and she has asked to be associated with my apologies for the general standard within the room, she is holding a training meeting on her return from holiday, next week. I am afraid due to the age of the building and the limited space in Oxford, we do not have a lift to all areas of the hotel. I am very sorry that you were not offered help with your luggage as there is always a member of staff on duty to assist with luggage. I thank you for your constructive feedback, and I wish you a Merry Christmas. Kind regards, Peter Watt, Manager

Reviewed by
Hamid A

From Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great centre location
We stayed for a night. Hotel having it's own secure car park a real bonus. The staff were friendly and attentive. The room was very clean and well presented. The hotel was quiet at night. The cooked breakfast was delicious, and we were waited on, rather than a buffet style cooked breakfast. Great location, we will definitely be staying there again!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Townhouse and that the team looked after you well. We have made a huge effort to improve our welcome and breakfast and we were pleased to read that you had enjoyed your time in Oxford, The hotel and breakfast, thank you We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Peter

Reviewed by
carys a

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Position of the hotel was excellent for sight seeing. All staff were friendly and helpful. My partner was disturbed slightly by the air conditioning unit right outside the window but it wouldn't put me off staying there again.

Reviewed by
Robin M

From Ellesmere, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very friendly.

Reviewed by
Rita R

From Galway, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a good find
A great find so central and with parking. Will stay again.

Reviewed by
W Eustace

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

60th Birthday treat
The hotel up-graded our room as it was a busy weekend. My husband and I stayed on the top floor in a lovely room which was very quiet and extremely comfortable. All the staff we had dealings with were very pleasant and professional and all had genuine smiles. The central location of the hotel was ideal to access restaurants and bars and celebrate my husband's birthday. I would recommend!

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, the hotel team are very appreciative and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Townhouse. Kind Regards, Peter Watt, General Manager

Reviewed by
D Wilson

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Location
I wanted a hotel in a central location for myself and my 80 year old mother. I requested a room that had a lift for access and they accommodated this, not all the rooms are accessible this way as it is an old building. The room was comfortable with soft beds and cotton linen, and great air conditioning, a drinks tray coffee tea etc and bottled water included. The car park has a small entrance that was probably built to allow coach and horses through not the modern day car, and is parked for you in the grid system, We didn't take breakfast here as we had decided to meet family out for that meal. This is a comfortable, functional Hotel in the center of Oxford, its a little impersonal but it met our needs for one night.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for completed your guest feedback following your recent stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. I am please that you enjoyed your stay and yes, the hotel is over 200 years old and I am afraid some of the areas of the hotel are not too large including the entrance to the hotel car park. Kind regards, Peter Watt, General Manager

Reviewed by
Simone W

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Excellent hotel. Perfect for our stay.

Reviewed by
M Taylor

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My experience
Very nice better than expected, car park is a bonus in oxford city centre with reasonable charge
value for money, friendly and helpful staff, perfect for me what I was looking for after a busy day schedule

Reviewed by
M Alam

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next