No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
73 High Street, Oxfordshire, OXFORD, OX1 4BE
Book into a 3-star Oxford hotel located on the high street & opposite Magdalen College. The Mercure Eastgate Hotel is a townhouse in central Oxford. A converted coaching inn, the hotel retains its original atmosphere, complemented by contemporary décor, air conditioning and internet access. All 64 guest rooms are distinctive and individual, and have an elegance in keeping with the beautiful city. Of all the rooms, the Ruskin Suite is the signature, refurbished in the style of a Don's bedroom.
Picture of Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel, OXFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hilarious
220 GBP for a room that looks as it was renovated last in the 80s, in a building that is beautiful on the outside because it is several hundred years old. Since my room was to the main street, and insulated windows are unknown in this house, the traffic was very loud. The shower featured a mixer tap, while the sink still uses the two tap system. The water went only to a medium temperature (because of some repair the day before, according to the staff). Breakfast selection is small, but sufficient. Service is friendly and helpful.
It's sad, but most of these issues are similar in other hotels in Oxford.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry that you had a disturbed nights' stay. We are looking at secondary glazing for a number of the bedrooms facing the High Street. I have had the opportunity to speak with our maintenance manager, who informed me that unfortunately there was an issue with our water system as a result of a new boiler and pumps being installed to enhance the flow and supply of water to the bedroom. It knocked the whole system out for a short period of time, resulting in a number of problems throughout the hotel over the weekend, I am so sorry. In hindsight the engineers left the building, without properly handing the upgraded system over and I can assure you the issue has now been addressed although I do appreciate that this is of little consolation to you. In closing, I thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Eastgate Townhouse and Oxford in the future. Kind regards, Peter

Reviewed by
Udo G

From Reutlingen, Germany
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday at the Eastgate
On arrival a few problems with the room (light bulbs missing Heating uncontrollable and curtain badly attached). Complained nicely and all corrected nicely straightaway. Excellent service and food from then on, even had a birthday candle in my pudding.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that the staff looked after you on the occasion of your birthday. I do apologise for the inconvenience of the missing light bulb, heating and the curtain, we are about to start a major refurbishment programme & a couple of the team started to concentrate too quickly on what was happening going forward and not on the immediate solution, I am sorry. We trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. With best wishes, Peter

Reviewed by
M Evans

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
city break in oxford

Reviewed by
J McCaffrey

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, enjoyed our stay
We enjoyed our stay at the Mercure Eastgate hotel in Oxford. It was a very central location, right in the centre of Oxford, so very easy to get about to see the sights. The building itself was lovely, very historical looking, but modern facilities. Our room was great, good size and comfortable bed. Breakfast was lovely, the only trouble was the waiter questioned whether we had paid for this already, which I had in advance, so we were slightly concerned but it was easily sorted. The car park was a little small and difficult to get into, but useful.

Reviewed by
Alice H

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well Located
The hotel is very well located for a visit into the City.
Generally very clean and tidy; the only gripe was the length of time waiting for the hot water to get up to temperature in the shower.

Reviewed by
Dylan Thomas

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

highly disappointing
when we arrived we had to request another room as the one which we were shown was like student digs, the bathroom was tidy, every where needed a paint and some TLC - very tired and poor. We were moved to another room 4 doors down, it was better but still inadequate for the money paid for the room which was in excess of £200. Ripped curtains, leaky taps, silicone everywhere in the bathroom to repair broken toilet rolls holders, ill fitting bath, broken tiles and a shower that you have to hold in the bath as no fixed holder. the breakfast in the morning was appalling, everything obviously from heated trays out back, bacon all stuck together, hard poached eggs. Avoid this place!!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback, I am afraid the hotel is old and full of history and we were due to refurbish the bedrooms at the latter end of this year however due to a review of all rooms, guest feedback and the structure of the building, this has been delayed till the beginning of next year. We have now re-designed a number of the bedrooms so we can create more space were possible and also ensure a superior product. With reference to the breakfast I am very embarrassed, as we have spent some time improving the cold buffet and the selection we offer to our guest. The cooked breakfast is prepared in the kitchen to order and I am very sorry if this was not the case, I have spoken in detail with the head chef and he has spoken with his team and taken the appropriate action and re-training. I thank you for your constructive feedback, and I wish you a Merry Christmas. Kind regards, Peter Watt, Manager

Reviewed by
Laura B

From Haslemere, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It is a hotel city but not value the money
The hotel is near from the high street shops and old city center, but the room very small, can't move around it if you are two persons or couple, the hotel doesn't has elevator nor helpers to carry your bags and staffs at high levels. The room service is low quality and not so clean. It's not a four or even not three stars hotel, I can give it no more than two stars. It is not worth the money I spent. Surely I ll not back to this hotel again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and its easy access to the city centre. I am afraid the hotel is old and full of history, however we are refurbishing the hotel in the beginning of next year having re-visited every hotel bedroom for a re-design of each room to ensure more space and an enhanced product. I have also spoken in detail with the head housekeeper and she has asked to be associated with my apologies for the general standard within the room, she is holding a training meeting on her return from holiday, next week. I am afraid due to the age of the building and the limited space in Oxford, we do not have a lift to all areas of the hotel. I am very sorry that you were not offered help with your luggage as there is always a member of staff on duty to assist with luggage. I thank you for your constructive feedback, and I wish you a Merry Christmas. Kind regards, Peter Watt, Manager

Reviewed by
Hamid A

From Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great centre location
We stayed for a night. Hotel having it's own secure car park a real bonus. The staff were friendly and attentive. The room was very clean and well presented. The hotel was quiet at night. The cooked breakfast was delicious, and we were waited on, rather than a buffet style cooked breakfast. Great location, we will definitely be staying there again!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Townhouse and that the team looked after you well. We have made a huge effort to improve our welcome and breakfast and we were pleased to read that you had enjoyed your time in Oxford, The hotel and breakfast, thank you We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Peter

Reviewed by
carys a

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Position of the hotel was excellent for sight seeing. All staff were friendly and helpful. My partner was disturbed slightly by the air conditioning unit right outside the window but it wouldn't put me off staying there again.

Reviewed by
Robin M

From Ellesmere, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very friendly.

Reviewed by
Rita R

From Galway, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next