Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.
65% would recommend it to a friend
Really impressed by the hotel.
We had great rooms and the service was excellent. I would recommend it.
Response from hotel
Thank you very much for your kind review, greatly appreciated and a huge morale boost for the team.
I was pleased to note that you liked the hotel, the renovation was completed last year and the feedback has been excellent.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, please do look on the hotel website for all our special offers.
Refurbished Eastgate is very swish and luxurious, super service, fab bathroom, comfortable beds, interesting updated quirky decor and of course a marvellous location in central Oxford.
Car parking is tight but the reception staff help out and manage this well.
Nice hotel; pity about the toilet paper
When I pay £200 a night for a hotel room, I do not expect to have to use thin, small squares of toilet paper of a quality that would struggle to qualify for a supermarket's cheap range of products.
Penny-pinching of this sort spoils the whole experience, which is marketed as luxurious.
Given a single room for two people, tiny and could hardly get into the bed as slopped ceiling.
Only one bath towel and one water glass, along with only enough toiletries for one. Booked a meal in the restaurant which was terrible. Complained and this meal was refunded, but went to bed hungry having had no dinner. To top everything off we were woken at 5.50am by a lorry collecting empty bottles from the hotel, he must have loaded around seven very noisy loads of bottles into the lorry. Whole break ruined with no food and no sleep!
Comfortable room, friendly staff and great High Street location.
Too noisy to stay
My ground floor room overlooked the front entrance of a pub and enjoyed neither privacy nor quiet.
I tried to move room and was unsuccessful
Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel
Enjoyed the stay but thought the room looked a bit shabby compared with the last time we had stayed there .
Response from hotel
Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry for the general décor of the bedroom you stayed in, we started our renovation programme of the bedrooms and restaurant 2 weeks ago and by the end of May all the bedrooms will be have been refurbished. The rooms would normally have been completely last year however due to the age and structure of the building, the designers have re-visited every bedroom looking at how we can enhance and create a more spacious and quality product in each room.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the future.
220 GBP for a room that looks as it was renovated last in the 80s, in a building that is beautiful on the outside because it is several hundred years old.
Since my room was to the main street, and insulated windows are unknown in this house, the traffic was very loud. The shower featured a mixer tap, while the sink still uses the two tap system. The water went only to a medium temperature (because of some repair the day before, according to the staff). Breakfast selection is small, but sufficient. Service is friendly and helpful.
It's sad, but most of these issues are similar in other hotels in Oxford.
Response from hotel
Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry that you had a disturbed nights' stay. We are looking at secondary glazing for a number of the bedrooms facing the High Street.
I have had the opportunity to speak with our maintenance manager, who informed me that unfortunately there was an issue with our water system as a result of a new boiler and pumps being installed to enhance the flow and supply of water to the bedroom. It knocked the whole system out for a short period of time, resulting in a number of problems throughout the hotel over the weekend, I am so sorry. In hindsight the engineers left the building, without properly handing the upgraded system over and I can assure you the issue has now been addressed although I do appreciate that this is of little consolation to you.
In closing, I thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Eastgate Townhouse and Oxford in the future.
The hotel is very well located for a visit into the City.
Generally very clean and tidy; the only gripe was the length of time waiting for the hot water to get up to temperature in the shower.