No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Eastgate Townhouse

3AA Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
73 High Street , Oxford, OX1 4BE
The Eastgate Hotel was originally a 17th Century Coaching Inn, but over recent years it has been renovated whilst remaining in keeping with the mellow architecture of the city. Being centrally located on the corner of High Street and Merton Street it is an ideal base to explore this historical city. Most colleges are within walking distance but Magdalen, Merton and Queen’s Colleges are all neighbours. The 62 en-suite bedrooms offer all the comforts you would expect with satellite television, modem access points, iron & ironing board and tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms. A proportion of bedrooms are suitable for families with sofa beds which pull down to create a comfortable third bed. Cots and baby facilities can be provided – please ask at the time of booking. Oxford students have quite taken to the hotel’s facilities. The lively Mertons Bar, is situated on the ground floor of the hotel serving coffee and tea. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Eastgate Townhouse, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Position of the hotel was excellent for sight seeing. All staff were friendly and helpful. My partner was disturbed slightly by the air conditioning unit right outside the window but it wouldn't put me off staying there again.

Reviewed by
Robin M

From Ellesmere, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very friendly.

Reviewed by
Rita R

From Galway, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a good find
A great find so central and with parking. Will stay again.

Reviewed by
W Eustace

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

60th Birthday treat
The hotel up-graded our room as it was a busy weekend. My husband and I stayed on the top floor in a lovely room which was very quiet and extremely comfortable. All the staff we had dealings with were very pleasant and professional and all had genuine smiles. The central location of the hotel was ideal to access restaurants and bars and celebrate my husband's birthday. I would recommend!

ManagementResponse

Thank you very much for your kind feedback, the hotel team are very appreciative and we look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Townhouse. Kind Regards, Peter Watt, General Manager

Reviewed by
D Wilson

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Location
I wanted a hotel in a central location for myself and my 80 year old mother. I requested a room that had a lift for access and they accommodated this, not all the rooms are accessible this way as it is an old building. The room was comfortable with soft beds and cotton linen, and great air conditioning, a drinks tray coffee tea etc and bottled water included. The car park has a small entrance that was probably built to allow coach and horses through not the modern day car, and is parked for you in the grid system, We didn't take breakfast here as we had decided to meet family out for that meal. This is a comfortable, functional Hotel in the center of Oxford, its a little impersonal but it met our needs for one night.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for completed your guest feedback following your recent stay at the Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel. I am please that you enjoyed your stay and yes, the hotel is over 200 years old and I am afraid some of the areas of the hotel are not too large including the entrance to the hotel car park. Kind regards, Peter Watt, General Manager

Reviewed by
Simone W

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Excellent hotel. Perfect for our stay.

Reviewed by
M Taylor

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My experience
Very nice better than expected, car park is a bonus in oxford city centre with reasonable charge
value for money, friendly and helpful staff, perfect for me what I was looking for after a busy day schedule

Reviewed by
M Alam

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as good as it has been. Location is great.
Have stayed on many occasions. This time the staff seemed inefficient and not really interested - there was no attempt to help find a safe place to lock a bicycle ( even budget chains have been more helpful providing secure rooms), it took 15 minutes in an empty bar to make 2 cocktails (for which we were initially overcharged) and pour 2 glasses of wine and the breakfast service was slow with tiny portions of cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
jonathan p

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine !
No any comment

Reviewed by
J Zhang

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just not good enough
I've stayed in this hotel about 4 times in the last couple of years - mostly because of location, car parking and convenience for my business in oxford. It's always been fine, but not much more than that. They never know I've stayed before and friendly service isn't a feature. My last stay, however, induces me tow write a review because the (presumably) Spanish receptionist was supercilious, verging on downright rude (though not so her lovelier Scandinavian colleague who stepped in with some warmth as weeaving) and because the room and especially bathroom were cold, and the shower somewhere between a trickle and bored flow. Why the quarter size shower door is anyone's guess, given it inevitably leads to a bathroom swamp. Bathrooms badly in need of modernisation. And scratched, worn bedroom furnishing needs an upgrade.

Reviewed by
Clare L

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next