No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Eastgate Townhouse

3AA Assessed Metro Hotel Ratings explained
73 High Street , Oxford, OX1 4BE
The Eastgate Hotel was originally a 17th Century Coaching Inn, but over recent years it has been renovated whilst remaining in keeping with the mellow architecture of the city. Being centrally located on the corner of High Street and Merton Street it is an ideal base to explore this historical city. Most colleges are within walking distance but Magdalen, Merton and Queen’s Colleges are all neighbours. The 62 en-suite bedrooms offer all the comforts you would expect with satellite television, modem access points, iron & ironing board and tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms. A proportion of bedrooms are suitable for families with sofa beds which pull down to create a comfortable third bed. Cots and baby facilities can be provided – please ask at the time of booking. Oxford students have quite taken to the hotel’s facilities. The lively Mertons Bar, is situated on the ground floor of the hotel serving coffee and tea. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Mercure Eastgate Townhouse, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My experience
Very nice better than expected, car park is a bonus in oxford city centre with reasonable charge
value for money, friendly and helpful staff, perfect for me what I was looking for after a busy day schedule

Reviewed by
M Alam

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as good as it has been. Location is great.
Have stayed on many occasions. This time the staff seemed inefficient and not really interested - there was no attempt to help find a safe place to lock a bicycle ( even budget chains have been more helpful providing secure rooms), it took 15 minutes in an empty bar to make 2 cocktails (for which we were initially overcharged) and pour 2 glasses of wine and the breakfast service was slow with tiny portions of cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
jonathan p

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine !
No any comment

Reviewed by
J Zhang

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just not good enough
I've stayed in this hotel about 4 times in the last couple of years - mostly because of location, car parking and convenience for my business in oxford. It's always been fine, but not much more than that. They never know I've stayed before and friendly service isn't a feature. My last stay, however, induces me tow write a review because the (presumably) Spanish receptionist was supercilious, verging on downright rude (though not so her lovelier Scandinavian colleague who stepped in with some warmth as weeaving) and because the room and especially bathroom were cold, and the shower somewhere between a trickle and bored flow. Why the quarter size shower door is anyone's guess, given it inevitably leads to a bathroom swamp. Bathrooms badly in need of modernisation. And scratched, worn bedroom furnishing needs an upgrade.

Reviewed by
Clare L

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
I really like this hotel. It is very central and well maintained. Staff at reception were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Alex A

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central Oxford
Excellent position. Good value for central Oxford and has a car park.

Reviewed by
DAVID M

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
Charming room, very clean, reasonable price, excellent reception staff.

Reviewed by
Clifford G

From Lymm, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room and breakfast
Cooked breakfast was cold

Reviewed by
valerie B

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mercure Oxford
Nice quiet hotel for city break or business trip. Room smallish but clean and well fitted out. Good broadband.

Reviewed by
Andrew H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel in a great position.

Reviewed by
wendy Milne

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next