Reviews - Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

3

73 High Street, Oxfordshire, OXFORD, OX1 4BE

Price From 284.29 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (22)

73% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Elaine O'Connell

  • January 2016

Terrible Experience

Given a single room for two people, tiny and could hardly get into the bed as slopped ceiling.

Only one bath towel and one water glass, along with only enough toiletries for one. Booked a meal in the restaurant which was terrible. Complained and this meal was refunded, but went to bed hungry having had no dinner. To top everything off we were woken at 5.50am by a lorry collecting empty bottles from the hotel, he must have loaded around seven very noisy loads of bottles into the lorry. Whole break ruined with no food and no sleep!

  • Diana R

  • December 2015

Oxford Minibreak

Comfortable room, friendly staff and great High Street location.

  • Michael M

  • June 2015

Too noisy to stay

My ground floor room overlooked the front entrance of a pub and enjoyed neither privacy nor quiet.

I tried to move room and was unsuccessful

  • Andrew R

  • March 2015

Good Hotel

Lovely room.

friendly staff.

  • J Goodier

  • January 2015

Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

Enjoyed the stay but thought the room looked a bit shabby compared with the last time we had stayed there .

Response from hotel

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry for the general décor of the bedroom you stayed in, we started our renovation programme of the bedrooms and restaurant 2 weeks ago and by the end of May all the bedrooms will be have been refurbished. The rooms would normally have been completely last year however due to the age and structure of the building, the designers have re-visited every bedroom looking at how we can enhance and create a more spacious and quality product in each room.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the future.

Kind regards,

Peter

  • Udo G

  • January 2015

Hilarious

220 GBP for a room that looks as it was renovated last in the 80s, in a building that is beautiful on the outside because it is several hundred years old.

Since my room was to the main street, and insulated windows are unknown in this house, the traffic was very loud. The shower featured a mixer tap, while the sink still uses the two tap system. The water went only to a medium temperature (because of some repair the day before, according to the staff). Breakfast selection is small, but sufficient. Service is friendly and helpful.

It's sad, but most of these issues are similar in other hotels in Oxford.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry that you had a disturbed nights' stay. We are looking at secondary glazing for a number of the bedrooms facing the High Street.

I have had the opportunity to speak with our maintenance manager, who informed me that unfortunately there was an issue with our water system as a result of a new boiler and pumps being installed to enhance the flow and supply of water to the bedroom. It knocked the whole system out for a short period of time, resulting in a number of problems throughout the hotel over the weekend, I am so sorry. In hindsight the engineers left the building, without properly handing the upgraded system over and I can assure you the issue has now been addressed although I do appreciate that this is of little consolation to you.

In closing, I thank you again for your feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Eastgate Townhouse and Oxford in the future.

Kind regards,

Peter

  • Dylan Thomas

  • January 2015

Well Located

The hotel is very well located for a visit into the City.

Generally very clean and tidy; the only gripe was the length of time waiting for the hot water to get up to temperature in the shower.

  • M Evans

  • January 2015

Birthday at the Eastgate

On arrival a few problems with the room (light bulbs missing Heating uncontrollable and curtain badly attached).

Complained nicely and all corrected nicely straightaway. Excellent service and food from then on, even had a birthday candle in my pudding.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that the staff looked after you on the occasion of your birthday.

I do apologise for the inconvenience of the missing light bulb, heating and the curtain, we are about to start a major refurbishment programme & a couple of the team started to concentrate too quickly on what was happening going forward and not on the immediate solution, I am sorry.

We trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

With best wishes,

Peter

  • Alice H

  • January 2015

Lovely hotel, enjoyed our stay

We enjoyed our stay at the Mercure Eastgate hotel in Oxford.

It was a very central location, right in the centre of Oxford, so very easy to get about to see the sights. The building itself was lovely, very historical looking, but modern facilities. Our room was great, good size and comfortable bed. Breakfast was lovely, the only trouble was the waiter questioned whether we had paid for this already, which I had in advance, so we were slightly concerned but it was easily sorted. The car park was a little small and difficult to get into, but useful.

  • J McCaffrey

  • January 2015

Mercure Oxford Eastgate Hotel

city break in oxford