Wroxall Abbey Estate

4

Birmingham Road,Wroxall, Warwick, CV35 7NB

Price From 136.38 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (54)

81% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Ian P

  • April 2015

The only thing that lets this hotel down is the breakfast.

There was enough for only 1 person to have fresh fruit. The orange juice ran out and the cooked food was just warm and had been in warming trays for a long time. The evening meal was fantastic, pity they don't cook breakfast to order.

  • ~Dawn Holmes

  • April 2015

Friendly and comfortable

Stayed one night in April.

A lovely homely, extremely friendly hotel. The staff were superb. Friendly and helpful . Food was excellent and standard of bedrooms very good. Beautiful grounds and spa. Only complaint was we would have stayed longer in the bar/lounge area after dinner had the fire

been lit.

  • Antony H

  • March 2015

Beautiful grounds and building, just don't eat here if you're in a hurry

The building and surrounding grounds are beautiful and the staff were very pleasant and helpful upon arrival.

My room, in particular the bathroom, was a bit on the compact side, so was a struggle at times. Perfectly nice and clean, though, and this would have been a small price to pay to stay somewhere so idyllic. However, the whole experience was very badly let down by the service in the restaurant. I placed my order and was told that it was a busy time and there would be a 15 minute wait on food, which seemed fine. I was told I'd have to sit in the bar and wait for a table in the restaurant. After a total of 40 minutes waiting, and watching some couples get led through immediately upon placing their order, I told them to cancel the table, grudgingly paid for the drink I didn't particularly want in the first place and drove to another restaurant. If there's going to be such a long wait for a table, tell the customer!. And, especially, don't allow people to jump the queue without explanation. This destroyed the experience for me, as I ended up eating much later than I would have liked and it's a bit of a trek to other restaurants in the area. I'm afraid I won't be staying again, which is a shame.

  • G Jones

  • March 2015

Room

The food was excellent, the room was not what I expected, the bedside cabinet was dirty had disbarred used tissues inside and had not been cleaned for a very very long time, the sofa looked comfortable but when you sat down you went through it.this was just a large room not a suite

  • John H

  • February 2015

Relaxing Stay

We were looking for a relaxing night away and got it at Wroxall Abbey.

Great room, beautiful grounds, spa facilities and fantastic food. Couldn't ask for anything more.

  • David K

  • December 2014

Post-Christmas Getaway

An excellent place with lots of grounds for fine walks.

Very friendly staff and delicious food.

  • R Rainsley

  • November 2014

Birthday Treat for Partner

We both enjoyed the stay in what was an impressive building.

The only thing that let it down was that the breakfast was slightly cold and had been cooked earlier

  • Lyndon Mottram

  • November 2014

First Stay at Wroxhall

Our stay at Wroxhall was for a romantic break and spa weekend.

My wife is a Downton Abbey fan and we were trying to find somewhere similar to stay. Wroxhall certainly lived up to our expectations. Beautiful building and grounds and very traditional. Staff were very helpful and professional. The room we stayed in was as expected, nice comfy bed, good facilities, sofa and good en suite and decorated in keeping with the style and period of the house. We ate in the Sonnets restaurant which I've got to say we found a little disappointing. For the price paid it fell below our expectations. The staff were excellent and the restaurant room itself was fantastic, but the quality of food was really disappointing. We both had the pate to start which had very little taste, very bland and was simply too cold, almost icy. We then had ham and black pudding mash for main. Again this was disappointing for such a classy hotel. There was simply too much meat (trust me that is possible) and even I couldn't eat it all and I never leave food!.

Because of this we decided not to bother with a desert. Our only other disappointment was the spa facilities. On our visit the jacuzzi was only luke warm and neither the steam room or sauna were working, both being out of order which we had not been told about, either during the booking process or on check in.

However, we both would recommend the spa treatments which were very relaxing. Just to conclude we have contacted Wroxhall Abbey to inform them of our experience and to their credit they have apologised and made a complimentary offer to us which we will be taking up.

  • Gillian Chapman

  • November 2014

Fantastic all round.

Warm friendly reception, fabulous setting. Room was clean and beautifully furnished. Would definitely stay again. Many thanks to the staff at Wroxall.

  • Judith T

  • October 2014

Pretty dissapointing...

I was travelling with work and deliberately booked somewhere with spa facilities like a pool, sauna etc..

Also, I didn't have a meeting until 2.30pm the following day so needed to set myself up with wifi in order to be able to work.

I was able to access the free bar wifi from my room which is just as well since only dial up (yes - DIAL UP) was available in the rooms. Are we suddenly back in 1992?. The following morning when I actually needed it, the internet in the entire hotel was down. Unfortunate I admit and no ones particular fault, but from what I could gather from staff it was generally very temperamental, and it really was massively inconvenient for me work wise. I went down to the spa at 7.15am for a morning swim. The whole set up was clean and there were fresh towels etc, but it was very cold indeed. Admittedly it was early, but if you tell your guests its available for use from 7am, it should be ready to go, and it was uncomfortably cold in there. The sauna was out of order and had a sign on it that implied it had been so for sometime. The steam room also didn't work, but had no sign, which I told them about when I checked out. To their credit, when I said I was disappointed with my stay, they gave me a 20% discount on my bill, but overall it was pretty disappointing.