No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Running Horses

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
RUNNING HORSES, OLD LONDON ROAD , DORKING, RH5 6DU
Located on the outskirts of Dorking, The Running Horses is within easy reach of Heathrow (29 miles) and Gatwick Airports (17 miles). The M25 is less than 4 miles away and its only 78 miles to the Channel Tunnel. Reputedly built in the 16th Century, The Running Horses Hotel was once a coach house servicing the main route from London to the South and has been a traditional English hostelry for some 400 years. Running Horses has a superb restaurant recently recommended by Good pub guide.situated at the centre of the beautiful little village of Mickleham between Dorking and Leatherhead.. The hotel offers Bed & Breakfast accommodation and has six delightful en-suite rooms; comfortable furnished and classically decorated.

Z Beds are available for children up to 12, at a cost of £25 per night.

Please note Food is only available from 12-6pm on Sundays
Picture of Running Horses, DORKING at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food not so good accommodation
The pub is situated in a very peaceful position and is a lovely old building. It looks very inviting from the outside. We didn't know where to go when we went to check in as the office (no "reception" as such) is tucked away round the back and not signposted. The bar area is OK and the staff are friendly. The restaurant is lovely if a little sniffy (we were offered a table close to others, asked if we could sit somewhere else and were grudingly given a nicer table and told that we got it because the people who had booked it had cancelled - the restaurant remained half empty for the rest of the evening). Anyway - the food was very good, modern menu, not sure my lobster bisque was home made though nicely presented. The room was a disappointment - very tired. Although the bathroom smelled of bleach the grouting in the shower is turning black, the shower tray is worn, paint is peeling on the ceiling and there was a nice collection of flies in between the window and the double glazing. Wardrobes are MDF, yellowing and slightly warped. Bed was very comfortable and bed linen/quilt very good. The public areas are slightly shabby although I understand carpet is expensive to replace. Carpet near the restaurant was still full of last night's crumbs when we went down to breakfast. All in all an OK overnight stop but not great value for £110, I can see the restaurant would be popular for a nice meal out, although it says something that it remained half empty on a Saturday night. Perhaps it's renowned for Sunday lunch. Wouldn't go out of our way to go back.

Reviewed by
Sonia S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We understand Running Horses is to be closed down for refurbishment. I hope its charm is retained!

Reviewed by
decca w

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent!
Stayed here on business for one night. The hotel rooms are beautifully presented, large and equipped with everything you'd need. The bar area and dining rooms were clean and what you'd expect of a lovely country pub.
The location is fantastic near to leather head and dorking and I would definately stay here again. Next time I stay I'll be taking my bike to make the most of the area and box hill on the 2012 Olympic road race circuit only 1 mile away. A definate recommend!

Reviewed by
D Linge

From Deeside, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
The food was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
MARY O'CONNOR

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were great. But the quality of the bedroom needs looking at: tired and jaded and in need of a makeover. Dissapointingly (for a pub that was awarded Dining Pub of the Year in Surrey) the food menu was not the set menus shown on the pub's website. The fish and chip meal that we had was very good. But choice was a bit limited. The new owners will need to make improvements throughout the pub re decorations and furnishings. We offered some of this feedback to the staff.

Reviewed by
Nicholas C

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Picture Paints A Thousand Words
That is why I have uploaded a few photos. Overall I had a decent stay, however for nearly £70 I would have expected a lot less mold and grime.

Reviewed by
Gary R

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just the place to switch off and relax by the blazing fire
I often stay in chain hotels. Not this time. What a lovely old place this is. The food is amazing and if you don't mind somewhere a little quirky to stay then this could be for you. I'll definitely come back. Such a quiet sleep as not by a main road.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint village Inn with fantastic food
Great quiet spot in centre of tiny village. Great welcome from the staff and friendly service. Decor is tired and although bedding was clean the bathroom could do with a makeover. There was a big damp patch in the ceiling and some of the plaster was pealing off. The tv buzzed so loudly it was hard to hear the audio.... But still the general ambience and feel of the old fashioned and traditional Inn won me over and if there hadn't been some inconsiderate guest banging on their door in the early hours would have been a great nights sleep. The food and beer in the bar or restaurant was very special though and worth staying here just for that. I had roast duck that was cooked perfectly and sat by the open fireplace was a great way to spend a winter evening
So in all I would say even with its faults it was worth the price I paid

Reviewed by
Greg C

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A country inn with sensational food and travel links
The Running Horses is a charming country inn minutes away form Jn 9 of the M25 and with easy access to main town in Surrey and the South East. Helpful young staff, open fires in the bar where delicious food is served makes the stay in the traditional rooms a delight.

Reviewed by
Linda L

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming and friendly
I stayed for one night at The Running Horses. My room was prettily decorated and had an ensuite shower room. The bed was very comfortable and the linen crisp. The Running Horses is an ancient traditional English pub frequented by local characters. After I had put my case in the room I headed downstairs for a glass of wine. The bar staff were all young and enthusiastic and as a single woman I felt able to sit at the bar and chat with both the customers and the staff, which I did over several more glasses.
I found the whole experience relaxing and I would be more than happy to stay there again.

Reviewed by
E Fry

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next