No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Palace Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Street , Manchester, M60 7HA
Situated right in the heart of vibrant Manchester on Oxford St, sits the iconic four-star Palace Hotel with its distinctive clock tower soaring over the Manchester skyline. For business, you are at the very centre of the commercial and business district, opposite Oxford Rd train station and just a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station both of which are served frequently from Manchester International Airport. The hotel has the North of England's largest event space our spectacular Grand Room which can comfortably cater for up to 1000 guests, we also have a fully equipped business centre and a further 18 Conference and Event rooms perfect for a meeting, private dinner or celebration. For short break guests, you’re in an extremely convenient location to uncover everything that Manchester has to offer. The Palace Theatre is across the road, Harvey Nichols and the main shopping district is close-by as is the Opera House, Manchester Central, the MEN Arena for world-famous concerts and Bridgewater Hall, home to the amazing Halle Orchestra. For football fanatics, Manchester is home to United and City and both stadiums can be reached easily from The Palace Hotel. When there is so much to see and do, after a day exploring the city, our Tempus Bar and Restaurant is a haven to relax and unwind with its wide range of cocktails, coffees and mouth watering menu with food to suit your every mood.
Picture of The Palace Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 462 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mouldy smelling room
The room smelled of mould with no ventilation and unable to open windows.
The breakfast can only be described as a shambles.
Cold food and plates with long delays between the food being replenished.

Reviewed by
Jeff O

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine accommodation
Good quality room with extremely high ceilings. Hotel is like an old banking hall/Victorian railway station - interesting architecture inside with loads of tiles.
Didn't use services.
Hotel was more expensive than I would normally use - other accommodation was full up due to football. Happy to visit again (if the price is right).

Reviewed by
David N

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sas noise that night and provided with adaptation room

Reviewed by
SATOMI Y

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night at the opera
The reception staff were very efficient and helpful, and the booking in process was speedy. My room on the mezzanine floor was spacious and comfortable but was ready for a makeover. Pillows needed replacing and were lumpy.how about replacing with goose down?

Reviewed by
L Peck

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was a little tired and very noisy with the trains

Reviewed by
J G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Iconic building, beautiful interior
It was a very last minute decision to stay so unfortunately we didn't get the best rate. However the place is absolutely breathtaking inside & out. There is nothing bland about this place, it's very individual & puts you in mind of a bygone era. Staff lovely too but I personally thought that breakfast wasn't worth the money,

Reviewed by
Debra S

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Surprise
Beautiful hotel inside and out. Stuff were polite and glad to help. Had read some bad reviews but everything was fantastic.

Reviewed by
Matt R

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very grand but shabby round the edges.
We stayed here for one night only (Sunday 15/09/14). Apart from drinks in the bar we didn't use any of the facililties except the room. This is a very grand city centre hotel but it's obvious it's core business is conferences/business seminars. All the 'front of house' areas are very grand and impressive but once you step out of the lift onto the accommodation floor things get a bit shabby with paintwork knocked about etc. The room was very impressive with period features and extremely high ceiling but like another reviewer states there were small jobs needed like old water stains and plaster missing on the ceiling and tile grout and bath sealant that had seen better days. However the shower (in bath) was one of the best I have had with extremely high water pressure. Don't leave the bath running without paying attention!!! A bargain at the price we paid through laterooms, a quarter of the full price and less than half the day before could be had, but not worth the £300+ claimed to be full price (unless the high rollers have a better maintained part of the hotel). Would recommend at anything less than £150 primarily due to the location and grandeur (and the shower!!).

Reviewed by
John M

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel. We were a bit disappointed in our room though. We had booked a deluxe double room but the room was on the 4th floor , almost in the attic and quite small. The bathroom was small too. I was expecting something a bit more luxurious for something that was called 'deluxe'. The breakfasts were good and served in the restaurant/ bar area which has stunning architecture.

Reviewed by
rachael r

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic double room
This hotel looks impressive from outside but it's nothing special inside. Or at least if you are not staying in the deluxe room or suite.
I booked a double room, got a twin room. There was no water there, no tissues, and although it was for two people it was only one small shower gel and shampoo. No problem to get another but you'll have to call the reception and ask which felt a bit embarrassed if I'm honest.
The breakfast is very basic as well and cold (even if suppose to be hot, a bacon for example).
The waitress asked for we want for a drink, which was a tea, and she didn't appear for next 10 mins.
We needed to ask again....after all our food was very cold as it isn't warm restaurant.
And finally it says on-line it should be a continental breakfast. Well, I didn't notice that except for a cereal if you want call it continental.
So, if you stay there do not expect the best service ever.

Reviewed by
Anna C

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next