No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Palace Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Street , Manchester, M60 7HA
Situated right in the heart of vibrant Manchester on Oxford St, sits the iconic four-star Palace Hotel with its distinctive clock tower soaring over the Manchester skyline. For business, you are at the very centre of the commercial and business district, opposite Oxford Rd train station and just a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station both of which are served frequently from Manchester International Airport. The hotel has the North of England's largest event space our spectacular Grand Room which can comfortably cater for up to 1000 guests, we also have a fully equipped business centre and a further 18 Conference and Event rooms perfect for a meeting, private dinner or celebration. For short break guests, you’re in an extremely convenient location to uncover everything that Manchester has to offer. The Palace Theatre is across the road, Harvey Nichols and the main shopping district is close-by as is the Opera House, Manchester Central, the MEN Arena for world-famous concerts and Bridgewater Hall, home to the amazing Halle Orchestra. For football fanatics, Manchester is home to United and City and both stadiums can be reached easily from The Palace Hotel. When there is so much to see and do, after a day exploring the city, our Tempus Bar and Restaurant is a haven to relax and unwind with its wide range of cocktails, coffees and mouth watering menu with food to suit your every mood.
Picture of The Palace Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 447 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed Bag
The public rooms are very impressive. The bedrooms are pretty good. The place itself is a maze though, it felt like we were walking around the block to get to our room which was in the belly of this impressive hotel. The room itself was perfectly pleasant, double glazed and had blackout curtains.
The problem however was that they had a charity event on the night we were staying which was playing music until well past 1am. Then at 5:30am the clattering of the hotel gearing up for the day started to kick in. Probably mostly to do with where room 5016 is, seemingly a floor lower than all the rest.
If only they'd warned us about the late night event and possibly not used that particular room.

Reviewed by
C Edwards

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An expensive and dissapointing stay
Poor service at check in and check out, deluxe room far from deluxe, dark and tired looking. Slow service and poor organisation at breakfast.

Reviewed by
J Burke

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Palace Hotel, Manchester
I stayed for one night whilst with work in Manchester. The hotel is slightly bizarre - it is incredibly grand and very impressive. Not sure what I was expecting but it wasn't what it ended up being. However, I had a nice comfortable room, big bed and clean bathroom. The breakfast in the morning was very good. Overall, I would happily stay again.

Reviewed by
J Bailey

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dissapointed.
I have stayed at this hotel many times over many years. I travel to Manchester a few times a year from London to meet with a specific client who's head office is within walking distance of the hotel - it suits me to stay there. Every room in this place is different, although described the same. I booked and paid for an Executive double room - I got that, but it was small. The worst thing about it was that the room (Room 0111) over looked the staff entrance and hotel rubbish area. I was disturbed throughout the night and woke up tied. When I mentioned this to the hotel receptionist on check out I was told to ask for a quiet room next time I book - 'A quiet Room' - surely it is not unreasonable to expect every hotel room to be quiet enough to sleep!. I did however receive a 20% discount for my inconvenience. I would have preferred to pay the full amount and have slept well. At breakfast, I was asked if I minded sitting and having my breakfast in the bar area (outside the restaurant and a away from the buffet), I did mind and told them so...I waited for a table. It gets worse.....upon returning from the buffet someone else was sitting at my table!. Check in took for ever. Huge line. I think t5hey had an NHS Conference going on. Only three out of a p[possible 5 check in desks manned.

Reviewed by
A Gilmore

From Borehamwood, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a good refurbishment!
Room was rather shabby and tired looking. The state of the kettle was pretty disgusting with dust and stains all over it. Plus the bath towel had a large stain on it which should have been thrown away. There was also black mold around the tiles of the bath. Although the room was satisfactory, it was far from ok. I was staying here on a business conference and wouldn't do so again. It certainly wasn't a Palace!

Reviewed by
Samuel T

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice .very friendly. and near to all the places i was visting. great hotel.i will stay there again. loved it...

Reviewed by
l bellerby

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazed it was so poor
After walking for 5 minutes from reception through a store room (the corridor was full of boxes and cleaning product) we found our room which was dilapidated and missing furniture! The bed collapsed and was hot enough to grow tomatoes in. The window had no view but that was because we were in a basement!
The customer service in the morning was really not interested in my comments, brushing it off as "I will advise housekeeping!", no sorry whatsoever.
If honest, if I was to stay again, I would request a room on floor 2; I have stayed previously and the rooms are amazing up there but the accommodation I stayed in this time can be bettered in a local travel tavern.

Reviewed by
Lewis Johnston

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning Hotel - Inside and Out
What a wonderful hotel! The staff were ever so friendly and highly reccommend this hotel to anyone thinking about staying in Manchester. Our room was delightful and very clean, the lobby/bar area was exquisite, ever so beautiful.

Reviewed by
Isabel F

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Almost an enjoyable stay
Stayed just for the Saturday night in a large double room which was really nice and quiet with a comfortable bed and all the usual amenities you would expect. My only complaint was about the receptionist when I checked in. I pointed out that I had accidentally ordered two breakfasts when booking online but she was quite churlish and insisted on charging me for two although I was clearly travelling alone. That kind of thing is likely to have me looking for an alternative hotel next time.

Reviewed by
gary thompson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great!
The Palace is a beautiful building and the room we were given was very large and clean. I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Luke R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next