No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Palace Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Oxford Street , Manchester, M60 7HA
Situated right in the heart of vibrant Manchester on Oxford St, sits the iconic four-star Palace Hotel with its distinctive clock tower soaring over the Manchester skyline. For business, you are at the very centre of the commercial and business district, opposite Oxford Rd train station and just a 10 minute walk from Piccadilly station both of which are served frequently from Manchester International Airport. The hotel has the North of England's largest event space our spectacular Grand Room which can comfortably cater for up to 1000 guests, we also have a fully equipped business centre and a further 18 Conference and Event rooms perfect for a meeting, private dinner or celebration. For short break guests, you’re in an extremely convenient location to uncover everything that Manchester has to offer. The Palace Theatre is across the road, Harvey Nichols and the main shopping district is close-by as is the Opera House, Manchester Central, the MEN Arena for world-famous concerts and Bridgewater Hall, home to the amazing Halle Orchestra. For football fanatics, Manchester is home to United and City and both stadiums can be reached easily from The Palace Hotel. When there is so much to see and do, after a day exploring the city, our Tempus Bar and Restaurant is a haven to relax and unwind with its wide range of cocktails, coffees and mouth watering menu with food to suit your every mood.
Picture of The Palace Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 472 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

far to exspecive for the quality

Reviewed by
P Platt

From St helens, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb service and accommodation in the heart of Manchester
I visited the Palace Hotel recently with my partner for a four night stay. All aspects of our stay were excellent, in particular the customer service from Yasmin at Reception. Nothing was too much trouble and for a very modest fee we received an upgraded room, chilled prossecco, decorated fruit plate with chocolate dipped strawberries which were a fitting welcome to the hotel and to celebrate my partners birthday.
I have no hesitation in recommending this excellent hotel and look forward to returning in the near future.

Reviewed by
Gary S

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little disappointing but very cheap...
I was surprised to find a stay at the Palace for such a cheap price having heard excellent things about the hotel and the quality of its service. When we arrived the receptionist was disinterested, unsmiling and cold - I recognise we probably don't fit the 'usual' style of clientele at the Palace - given its focus on international tourists and business travellers - but nonetheless I'm still a paying guest and I would have liked to have been greeted in a warmer fashion. I rang down later to ask for a taxi and, though I can't be sure I spoke to the same individual, was treated in exactly the same way - disappointingly.
Our room was very large and split level - there was ample space and a small seating area had been included as well as the usual furnishings. For some reason, although I had booked for a double room, we were put in a twin room - that is there were two beds which, although large, neither of which seemed to be a full double bed. My last comment about our room is that there was a lot of small jobs which needed to be done within it to bring it to perfect condition. For example, there were broken or missing handles on furniture, there were marks on the wall, the bath had not been cleaned properly... all of which detracted from the quality of our staff and our view of the hotel.
I can't say much about the food as we only ate here for breakfast which was of good quality but not as good as other hotels I have stayed at.
I would stay here again for business or if the price remained the same (£80 inc breakfast) as its a good deal for such a central location in Manchester. That being said, however, we had stayed here for a special occasion and I will not be doing so again as the hotel just did not live up to standard to make our celebration a completely memorable day.

Reviewed by
Rachael B

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, Comfortable & Reasonably Quiet
I stayed here from 15th to 18th August 2014. We were allocated a deluxe twin room on the 2nd floor facing the street. Apart from the bath leaking drainage water on to the bathroom floor, The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel building is an excellent example of Victorian architecture and the current owners have excelled in preserving the architectural features.There was no noise or disturbance throughout our stay other than housekeeping staff congregating outside our bedroom door (room 207) for their "early morning catch up" revealing the exploits of the previous evening, Quite entertaining for the 30 minutes or so that it lasted. The staff throughout were polite and professional. If I have one really negative comment about this four star hotel it is the poor quality of the toilet paper. One doesn't expect to have to use three or four sheets to maintain its integrity, come on management, standards please! All-in all an excellent pit-stop for the weekend.

Reviewed by
George B

From Coatbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Staff were very pleasant and helpful, hotel was clean and overall a pleasant stay

Reviewed by
catherine n

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Customer service and the hotel, facilities and food were excellent.

Reviewed by
E Russell

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Air conditioning by argos
The rooms both I and my colleague had were on the mezzanine level, had windows that couldn't be opened, no air conditioning and 2 cheap and noisy manual table top fans to circulate the air. Even at the discounted price this was particularly poor.

Reviewed by
S Exton

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Service
We were greeted warmly on our arrival, and this carried on throughout our stay, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and also the hotel was both beautiful and spotlessly clean, would recommend this to family and friends.

Reviewed by
l spencer

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Alan C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly functional, for 60£ we got upgraded

Reviewed by
M Lewis

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next