The Palace Hotel

4

Oxford Street, Manchester, M60 7HA

Price From 136.29 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (359)

74% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • David B

  • May 2015

Lovely building with large rooms would definitely stay again

  • Kat L

  • May 2015

Room upgrade given at checkin but unfortunately right above building works so woken at 8am both days by incessant hammering.

Bathroom clean but with some signs of wear & tear and items needing replacement.

  • Danny F

  • May 2015

Staying in room 256 Palace Hotel Manchester

Check in took around 10 mins because even though there was a long queue there was only one member of staff on duty.

The keys to my room didn't work initially and had to be let by one of the cleaners, then I had to go back down to reception to get them done right. I ordered a newspaper for the morning which never arrived. The room itself was very spacious and generally clean and tidy however, when I picked up a cup to make a drink there was a hair stuck to it and a chip out of the rim. The air conditioning didn't work and in fact blew out warm air on the cold setting. There are two prominent iron burn marks on the carpet. The were cracked tiles all around the room. In the bathroom there was black mold around the edge of the bath and loose tiling alongside the basin pedestal and the basin had a massive spider-like crack in it which was about the size of a saucer. With the breakfast the selection was reasonable although I couldn't find any red or brown sauce and the bacon, eggs and fried bread were overcooked. Although I say I would stay there again I would demand a better room.

  • Jack P

  • May 2015

Wonderful stay

No issues at all.

First time I've been into the Palace, despite walking past it regularly. Incredible building with an awesome lobby. Check in was painless and the staff were polite. I was given a room on the Mezzanine floor (30). Descending into the labyrinth of corridors, I was initially apprehensive. Apprehension was swiftly replaced by disbelief and amazement. For £59 the room was a bargain. Massive size with 3 large windows which let loads of light in. Two double beds to choose from. A spacious bathroom. Clean. Oh, and full of character. An awful lot of wood panelling. I was amazed at the value for money. I enjoyed a good night's sleep and a painless check out. The only slight issue was the cold water tap dispensed lukewarm water to start with when I first tried it. It soon cleared up. And that was it.

  • N Reeves

  • May 2015

The Palace Hotel

Friendly, helpful staff.

Accidentally left some valuables and all were put away securely and returned to me.

  • Sheron A

  • May 2015

Excellent weekend in comfort

When we arrived early we were able to check in straight away and then was told that we were being upgraded.

Superior room massive and clean bed comfortable. Could have stayed longer.

  • Shirley Gray

  • May 2015

Lovely room deluxe double room 116

Only down side I think the hotel staff need to be slightly quieter we did not have any other rooms beside us, we did get wakened by towel trolleys during the night & staff chatting

  • Maxine D

  • April 2015

Comfortable stay amongst architectural splendour

This is our second stay at the Palace - last time we had a bigger, more modern room, but I prefer the one we had this time, with high ceiling, original Victorian wall tiles and pillars, and high windows.

The bathroom was on the small size, but spotless, and I think the bed was a standard double, so smaller than we have at home, but very comfy. My only gripe with the room was that the hairdryer looked nearly as old as the hotel, and was decidedly grubby, so I didn't bother.

Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, with a wide range of food on offer and good coffee. Make sure to book it in advance or when you arrive, as it's cheaper than on the day.

Considering the Palace's location on busy Oxford Road, it was quiet at night, apart from the odd train rumbling past. The building is the real star - it's a spectacular monument to Victorian Manchester, with original features everywhere.

  • C Reilly

  • April 2015

An Outstanding Treat

  • jo-anne w

  • April 2015

Experience of Manchester's Grandeur

:Fabulous sense of history created by staying in a place which has retained so many original features.

COmfortable king sized bed, amazing proportions in a magical room which made me feel a bit like Alice in Wonderland. Loved it.